We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect from start to finish :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barton-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
10 Barton Lane | Barton-on-Sea, Barton-on-Sea, New Milton BH25 7PL, England (Formerly Summerhouse by Sea Bed & Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect from start to finish :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm almost reluctant to write a review, I'd like to keep this place a secret!

Sue was friendly and efficient from the moment I contacted her to organise a booking. It took barely any time at all to find out that the B&B was available and have the room all booked up.

I let Sue know our estimated arrival time, and her and Rod were there to welcome us warmly. We were shown our room, given a quick tour of where breakfast etc would be served, and given the keys. We were made to feel totally at home, and were encouraged to feel as though the Summerhouse was our home for the weekend.

Our room (the Green room) was beautiful, light and airy (but warm), and incredibly peaceful. Not to mention clean. As well as this, we were provided with towels, toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, and even biscuits to have with our cuppas! Perfect. The bed is comfortable, and as the surrounding area is so quiet, a restful night's sleep was had.

We put in our requests for breakfast the night beforehand, full Englishes for the both of us! Everything was cooked to perfection - the bacon is brilliant! Nothing was too much for Sue and Rod, and the choice of breakfast was amazing, there is no chance of you going hungry here! Both of them are so easy to chat to, and we found out a few things about the local area and potential places to visit on our travels.

Luckily, we were blessed with amazing weather for the entirety of our weekend.The surrounding area is stunning. Just a short walk down the road is the cliff top, and if you follow the road down towards Pebble Beach restaurant, there are some paths leading down to the beach. We ended up going walking for about 4 hours, although the walk isn't for the faint hearted! The pebbles aren't the easiest surface for walking on...the views, however, were stunning - how lucky are Sue and Rod that they get to live here full time?!

That evening, we headed to Boscombe for dinner, and upon our return had a very chilled out Saturday night watching TV in our room. We were left to our own devices, but with the knowledge that Sue and Rod were there if there was anything we needed.

On our final morning we headed downstairs for breakfast, and again, it was wonderful. Sue endeavoured to ensure that neither of us would go without anything we wanted or needed.

Upon leaving, I felt as though I was saying goodbye to some good friends. Our stay was wonderful, and I didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back! Sue and Rod are the perfect hosts, with a beautiful house in an excellent, unspoilt location. Thank you so very much, both of you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I had a single over night stay with Sue and Rod on a Saturday night in Feb 2013 on the wettest weekend known to man!

We were met at the door by both our hosts with big smiles and handshakes like we were long lost friends. Sue showed us to our room which was just an amazing home from home. Large room, very tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean ( and I mean spotlessly ), an amazing bathroom very well thought out and fitted. A warm comforting environment from the horrible weather outside.

Barton on Sea is a great position to explore the New Forest from. Everywhere is easy to get to which is why we like the 'Forest' so much. Still lots to explore even though we have been there a few times already.

Breakfast was amazing. Plentiful and expertly cooked. I had the full English with all the trimmings and my wife wisely opted for a scrambled egg and smoked salmon dish that was equally full and expertly cooked. Choice of fresh fruit juice, tea, coffee, cereal, yoghurt etc. Too much to sample on just one trip! We also got introduced to Max!

We got chatting to both Sue and Ron at breakfast and didn't move for over two hours....so much for checking out at 10.30! We were looking to remodel our own bathroom shortly, so were picking their brains about their experience and the fact that Ron has been trained and worked as a bathroom salesman helped with our barrage of questions.

Can't recommend the Summerhouse highly enough. Everything a B&B should be and customer service out of the very top drawer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at Summerhouse for 1 night and couldn't fault a thing. We stayed in the Garden Room it was beautiful, spotlessly clean with impressive en-suite shower room. Very tasteful decoration, beautiful bedding, towels and furniture.
Rod & Sue are perfect hosts and very welcoming. Breakfast was superb as good as any 5* hotel.
If you can find a better standard of accomodation I would like to know where. Fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Summerhouse for 1 night, visiting friends that live locally. Having read positive reviews, we were absolutely delighted to discover that the Summerhouse totally lived up to its reputation. We were greeted by Sue and Rod, a friendly couple, who were always available when needed but also gave us space to relax and enjoy our stay.

We stayed in the Green Room, which was immaculate - spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There was fresh filtered water supplied in a jug, with plenty of tea & coffee supplies. The room had a contemporary feel and was very peaceful.

As we were meeting friends for lunch, Sue cooked us beautiful scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on toast for a lighter breakfast (but full English was also available). We also had fresh blueberries and papaya - delicious!

There is ample parking, and it is a short walk to the sea front. All in all, a wonderful experience and we would definitely stay there again - we recommend the Summerhouse unreservedly!

Mr & Mrs E

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with Sue and Rod (and Max!). Overall impression was that of 5 star standard in a most homely environment. The breakfast choice was superb! We felt comfortable and welcome. We stayed in the Blue room which was equipped with all we could need. Everything was new and of a very high standard. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend anyone to do so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed one night at Sue and Rod's excellent B&B when visiting the area for a family birthday party. It's quietly located within a short walking distance from the coast and amenities. The house is spotless with tasteful, modern decor, the most comfortable bed and pillows, attention to detail, i.e. a mirror close to plug socket for convenient hairdrying - everything is very well thought out. Sue and Rod had the right blend of unpatronising, welcoming friendliness and you feel instantly at ease. As I can't stomach full-blown English breakfasts, Sue prepared some fresh grapefruit, the most delicious genuine German muesli plus toast and a selection of top quality conserves - quite perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in the garden room which for me and my daughter was perfect as it had it's own entrance.
The room was excellent, very modern, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The bathroom had an amazing shower and the complimentary toiletries were a nice little touch.
The breakfast expecially Sue's scrambled eggs were to die for, and so much choice.
We would certainly come back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10 Barton Lane | Barton-on-Sea, Barton-on-Sea, New Milton BH25 7PL, England (Formerly Summerhouse by Sea Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhouse Bed and Breakfast is located in Barton-on-Sea which lies between Lymington and Christchurch on the beautiful south coast of England, and with the New Forest on our doorstep there is truly a wonderful choice of sceneries and activities for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast Barton-On-Sea, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.