We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by Watersedge Guest House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff House Restaurant

The Cliff House Restaurant
Marine Drive West, Barton-on-Sea, New Milton BH25 7QL, England
+44 1425 619333
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Recommended by Watersedge Guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went for the fish and fizz, very fresh fish, cooked to order. Very pleasant outlook over the sea. The meal was reasonable and the staff worked very hard and were very pleasant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    23
    4
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
clacton on sea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“re meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

very nice food but the portions were very small, for what they charged. the staff were very efficiant and the hotel weash immaculate.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty, locally sourced food + fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Despite its unassuming exterior, the food and service were excellent! The menu was based on seasonal, locally sourced produce and really did impress us. Our starters were smoked venison (smoked onsite) with local betroot and local asparagus (cooked to perfection) with a soft-boiled egg in a lovely coating. Main courses were duck with rhubarb jus and steak - again, all cooked to perfection. The service was of the kind you'd expect in a more expensive restaurant, so it was a pleasant surprise to experience. We live locally, so will definitely be visiting again. Noticed that they also had a "casual dining" menu that was around £10-12 for a main course - when you consider that the Harvester/pizza places are a similar price to this, you really do get your money's worth. I can't recommend this place highly enough...... and it's miles better than Pebble Beach!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“International walking groups welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My group of 48 people from Germany, France, Spain, Portugal, Belgium, Ireland and the UK were welcomed in great style at the Cliff House restaurant. At short notice, the kitchen gave us a superb 3 course dinner, with local ingredients impressing those visitors who had never visited the UK before ; the very polite and efficient service was a credit to the hotel management and the dining room had been beautifully prepared for our arrival. Our group members loved the clifftop location of the hotel at sunset, looking west over Bournemouth Bay and east over to the Isle of Wight. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel restaurant in this beautiful area of the English coast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Lovely Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The location of the Cliff House is fabulous. The restaurant is very pleasant and the staff are polite and attentive. The food we had was lovely and very nicely presented. The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is because I felt the portion sizes were just a little on the small size, especially the desserts, which were very small and fairly expensive (but nice !). However, I would still return - but I wouldn't have a dessert next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff House Restaurant also viewed

Barton-on-Sea, New Milton
 
New Milton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Cliff House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.