We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watersedge Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Watersedge Guest House to your Saves list
Watersedge Guest House
10 Marine Drive West, Barton-on-Sea, New Milton BH25 7QH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at the B&B for 2 nights while taking part in the New Forest marathon.

Room was quiet, clean and tidy with comfy beds, ensuite shower and a good view of the sea. Good breakfast, kindly set up early on the day of the race. Warm and helpful welcome from the owners.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
87
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesloch, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We felt like at home straight away! It was such a warm welcome, for our dog Luna as well. She got a delicious sausage every morning and loved the area. It was like paradise for the three of us. Our room was brilliant and the breakfast was smashing. We enjoyed our evening in the bar, because of very nice chats.
We definetly do come again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Watersedge for 2 nights while attending a family wedding in Christchurch. All we can say is that Allan and Sylvie have worked hard to provide facilities and service which could knock spots off many posh hotels. The situation is superb and quiet, overlooking the Isle of Wight, and is ideal for both coastal walks and the city. The premises are beautifully clean, comfortable and spacious with great attention to attractive decor and detail. We were given an extremely warm welcome and nothing seemed to be too much trouble to make sure that we were really well cared-for. Our room was immaculate, well-fitted with comfortable bed, facing the sea, with excellent shower room. There was a wide choice of food and drinks for breakfast in the delightful dining room, and all food was beautifully prepared and presented. A bonus was the opportunity for shared company over a drink with our hosts and other guests, if we wanted this. My husband and I spent a lovely time in Dorset, and our stay at Watersedge made it extra special. We would not hesitate to return if we visited this area again in future.

Room Tip: First floor facing the sea is lovely. Although we didn't use it ourselves, we saw a larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We booked last minute and were made welcome from the off. We had the smallest twin in the B&B which was great value and despite it's size contained everything we needed. Clean, tidy, good decoration, comfortable beds, good shower power and toiletries. Lovely high quality breakfast and particularly good sausages and fresh fruit salad. Also asked what papers we would like for no extra cost. We would have loved to have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Watersedge. Sylvie and Alan made us feel very welcome especially my little girl. The Garden Room very comfortable and quiet. Easy parking. The breakfast was excellent and nothing too much trouble. The view was of Isle of Wight and the sea a stones throw away, Lovely area for walking your dog if you have one. Would stay there again with no hesitation.
Sarah

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

A super comfy room, fantastically warm welcome, mega breakfast and Alan's bar too. Nothing is too much trouble, Alan and Sylvie and now Sarah really do look after you and we loved it. They take pride in making you welcome and felt they were our friends instantly. In fact we sat up chatting quite some time and they are great company as we're the other guests. The car park is great and the view over the sea from our room superb too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

stayed here in july for two nights and glad to stay here. the hotel was very nice and comfortable.
great breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. the owners were very friendly and even said they would drop us at the local pub. nice touch. the view was across to the needles at the isle of wight, and the sea was just a stones throw from the hotel.
would deffo stay here again , nice for a bit of peace and qiuet if you want it.
mick b

Room Tip: any room with sea view,you can always hear the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Watersedge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watersedge Guest House

Address: 10 Marine Drive West, Barton-on-Sea, New Milton BH25 7QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watersedge Guest House is situated directly on cliff top at Barton on Sea, overlooking Isle of Wight (The Needles), Swanage & Bournemouth. We have 7 bedrooms(family room, sleeps 5). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watersedge Guest House Barton-On-Sea, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watersedge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.