We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese by the Dozen!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Societe des Caves Roquefort - Visite des Caves

Societe des Caves Roquefort - Visite des Caves
Avenue Francois Galtier | Roquefort sur Soulzon, 12250 Roquefort Sur Soulzon, France
05 65 58 54 38
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour of the cheese caves of Societe Roquefort
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheese by the Dozen!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

An excellent place to visit to learn, and taste, Roquefort in the place where it is created. The tour was a bit uninformative and with many steps so not a place to go if you have knee or hip problems! The best part was the degustation at the end and the boards of old adverts and history on display.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    72
    25
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Roquefort-sur-Soulzon - Roquefort Société Caves Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First of all let me explain that there are several Roquefort cheese caves that can be visited in Roquefort-sur-Soulzon and it can be tricky to find the Roquefort Société Cave! Plenty of signs offering free visits attempt to divert you from the Roquefort Société Cave, but I would definitely say that the 5 Euros charged are well worth it! Second, let me also state that this visit is NOT for the claustrophobic! There are several segments of the visit that will take you through very narrow and fairly dark underground tunnels in between rooms. Third, take a coat with you as the year-around temperature is at 10 degrees Celsius, 50 degrees Fahrenheit and fairly damp. Wear good walking shoes and be prepared to walk up and down lots of stairs! This been said the visit extremely interesting and filled with amazing facts about the history of Roquefort cheese and a detailed explanation of how the cheese is made. The Roquefort Société cave involves eleven floors of underground structures used at different stages of the making and storing of the delectable cheese wheels. Production is in full swing from late December to late May so I would recommend planning a visit during that time frame. The guides are highly knowledgeable and very cordial. We tagged our visit to the Roquefort Société cave to our visit of the Millau Viaduct (15 minutes away) and it made for a highly memorable day!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Really enjoyed our visit to the Roquefort caves - my French wasn't really up to following the tour guide fully but my other half is more fluent and was able to translate the salient points. The moving model of the land on which Roquefort sits and the inevitable 'sons et lumiere' that the French love were a bit pointless but thankfully weren't terribly long. The tour itself lasted about 1 hour. The caves are quite remarkable and very extensive and the tasting at the end provides a sample of the 3 types of roquefort which this company produces. Regrettably the two best ones don't appear to be exported much if at all so we won't be able to get them in the UK. As was explained on the tour, roquefort can't be left out a cool environment for more than 1 day so unfortuntely as we were travelling for another week, we couldn't buy any.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Roquefort review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Tour Society Roquefort was just average. Too long and English handout didn't match tour. Tasting was excellent, though!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

A must if you are in the are - a very comprehensive tour with translations provided in English. All aspects of making the cheese and storing it were expertly explained. Not a great Roquefort fan but the tasting at the end of the tour opened my eyes to other types of Roquefort.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Societe des Caves Roquefort - Visite des Caves also viewed

Roquefort Sur Soulzon, Aveyron
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
 

Been to Societe des Caves Roquefort - Visite des Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Societe des Caves Roquefort - Visite des Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.