We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was good and the rooms comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gare Auberge Restaurant Bar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Gare Auberge Restaurant Bar to your Saves list
La Gare Auberge Restaurant Bar
180 rue du Depot, Labelle, Quebec J0T1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Labelle B&B and Inns
Peterborough, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The food was good and the rooms comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A pleasant stay at the auberge. Danielle was very accommodating returning in the evening to cook for me as the sole guest on what should have been a night off for her. Her mother Louise was equally charming.

I recommend the poutine avec confit de canard for lunch...it's sinfully decadent.

Room Tip: Try to plan on a hot bath in the claw foot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our family was cycling the Petit Train du Nord, and this was an overnight stop. We were on the family plan, with dinner and breakfast included.

Both restaurant and rooms are in the historic Gare (station) right on the path. The rooms are on the second floor, in the old stationmaster's residence, and are lovingly furnished with antiques. Our beds - a large double and a cot for our adult daughter travelling with us - were very comfortable. Unfortunately in view of an unseasonable heat wave and high humidity, the rooms have neither air conditioning nor ceiling fan, and the oscillating floor fan could do little to cool the room. That probably wouldn't be noticed in the normally cool evenings of a normal summer, nor the other three seasons of the year.

As is common in B&B's, especially historic ones, the bathroom is shared, but the hosts have effected a good compromise. One room is an (again antique-feeling) full bath with clawfoot tub. But another room has been converted to have two showers with private attached changing cubicle, and two private toilet stalls and a sink. As a result there's little chance of having to wait.

A note to cyclists: there are bike racks (and picnic tables) as part of this stop on the Petit Train du Nord, and then the owners will move your bikes into the restaurant to overnight once it closes. A good compromise.

The owners, Jay and Danielle, also operate the restaurant and bar on the first floor of the station. The food was excellent! For dinner I had steak-frites, a typical dish, and not only was the steak unexpectedly upgraded (a New York strip) but the fries were absolutely first rate, slender and crisp. Breakfast was even more sumptuous, especially all the homemade bread, and the setting on the outdoor terrace made it all the better.

Definitely a worthwhile stopover to dine, and (if the air is cool) to stay the night!

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely, but (like any old home) hot when the summer air is still, and there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed overnight while cycling the P'tit Train du Nord pathway. Our room was lovely with really nice sheets. The bathrooms are shared but very nice with one having a nice bathtub. Very quiet at night.

The food at the pub is excellent. They bake all their own bread. We had nice deep fried calamari, delicious hamburgers, and the next day, at breakfast, an amazing crepe with mushrooms and bechamel sauce.

They lock your bike inside overnight as well - so no worries here. I would stay there again. Reserve early as there are only 5 rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigaud
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I were there last night for sleeping, little charming auberge, very very clean, fresh white linen, with all what was needed for our stay. Special attention to little details. This morning breakfast on the terrace was excellent , cafe au lait, special crepes with mushroom and cheese or the sweet one with nutela and fruits, in all a very pleasant experience. Would definetly recommend this place .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were a group of 10 cyclists, we arrived at La Gare Auberge after a long rainy bike ride. We were welcomed as if they had been waiting for us all day. The place is beautifully quaint, the rooms all so inviting. The hosts are so very hospitable and helpful. They catered to our needs as no other place ever has. In a nutshell here are the top reasons to stay at La Gare, whether you are cycling on the P'tit Train du Nord or whether you are in the Tremblant area and don't want to stay in "artificial land".
1- The service : Exceptional
2- The food: All home made and amazing..did i mention the duck fat fries...
3- The accommodation: just perfect for our group..we had the whole inn
4- The food: did I mention the Café au Lait?
5- The owners and the staff: very friendly and passionate about their work..you can feel it
6- the food: did I mention the best steak and frites i ever had?

Thanks for the wonderful stay!
Christine D from "Les petits Mollets"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Auberge is located in an old railway station that the owners have made into a B & B and restaurant. It is extremely clean and comfortable and the experience of sleeping in a railway station is unique. About the food, well it is absolutely superb. We had supper and breakfast and they have really outdone themselves here. It was absolutely superb. Accommodation, hospitality, and food - fantastic. What more could you ask for? Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I recently visited La gare Labelle and I was very satisfied. The food was very good and the rooms are well decorated. It is very convenient if you are doing "Le Petit Train du Nord' trail since it is directly on it. They have a nice bar area with a big TV . The food is homemade and is reasonably priced. I would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: The room with the Queen bed is very nice and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gare Auberge Restaurant Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gare Auberge Restaurant Bar

Address: 180 rue du Depot, Labelle, Quebec J0T1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Labelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Labelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the second floor of a 1924 train station which borders «Le P'tit Train du Nord». Vintage charm meets high-end comfort, rooms are furnished with antiques and quality bedding. Full service restaurant and bar located on first floor. The perfect destination for nature lovers and busy bodies: 15 minutes from Tremblant resort plus many nearby activities including ski, golf, canoe, kayak, horseback-riding, dog-sledding, fishing, biking, hiking, spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Gare Auberge Restaurant Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gare Auberge Restaurant Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.