We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monastery Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Monastery Estate to your Saves list
Monastery Estate
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Moni Selinou, Sougia, Crete 76009, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Lucca, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Greek Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have been on a holiday with my wife and 14 y kid plus a little bit of work.We had a rented car and we vaguely had to be in south east of Crete.We just looked on the internet and we found this nice place that in fact turned out to be much better that we expected.
There you really experience the real greek hospitality.
Every tip the owner gave us was perfect,every breakfast was fantastic ,local and abundant.
I will go back if I can and I consider Monastery estate one of the best little secret places you can find.
Just one thing that is not perfect,the stair in the duplex is a bit steep,but I did live with it gladly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The place is simply unique, the moment you arrive you realise the difference. The owners welcome you with drinks, local desert, spicy cheese and a big smile. After that, you arriveinto your apartment, which is huge, and has anything that you may need during your stay. If by any chance you need something extra, you may simply ask, if it is doable, the owners will assist you. Amazed. Just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We found the Monastery Estate hotel just 2 days before we actually got to the Sougia area. The hotel looked much nicer than anything you can get in Sougia. It is modern, upscale and quiet. It opened in the summer of 2013 and we were among the first visitors. It is a 10 minute drive north of Sougia into the mountains and you will definitely need a car to get around there. In fact, pay attention to the road when trying to get to the hotel since there is only a small sign indicating where the hotel road is. There is bus service from Moni village where the hotel is located but it is not convenient to use the bus. The village is very quiet and there is nothing to do there except for visiting the old church monastery which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Sougia is close by and it has excellent swimming, beaches, restaurants and bars. Also close by with a car is the Agia Eirini gorge which is beautiful. The hotel is small and run by a local family. There are 4 apartments which are large in size and all have views of the mountain across. The apartments are new in 2013, clean and very modern. The design is minimal with some traditional flair such as the fireplaces and there is also lots of wooden touches throughout. Each apartment has TV, internet service as well as kitchen and dining area. They also have outdoor patios to sit and enjoy the quiet surroundings. There is no pool or a real lobby but you can sit close to the reception area where there is a table and chairs. Overall the hotel is perfect if you are looking for something more quiet and more luxurious than the rooms in Sougia but also more expensive. We would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar in style and size and have the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firenze
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

if you want a luxury room near the beach, think about monastery. here you will find peace and silent for your relax. take your time to enjoy the house where the owner is very lovely. I repeat to go to manastery if you want something really out of noises and tipical touristic tavernas or shops. the beach of sougia, 4 km far, is very beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monastery Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monastery Estate

Address: Moni Selinou, Sougia, Crete 76009, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Sougia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sougia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monastery Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Monastery Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monastery Estate Sougia, Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monastery Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.