We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great gorge, less crowded than samaria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agia Irini Gorge

Agia Irini Gorge
Sougia, Crete 73009, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Sougia
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The four-hour walk through the gorge takes you through beautiful, uncrowded scenery.
Ghent
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“a great gorge, less crowded than samaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Afraid of the mass-tourist place of Samaria? then go to Agia Irini, this beautifull gorge is a place where u can wonder around and between the white mountains. U won't find (much) tourbusses, resortpeople or sensationseekers here. Instead u get an amazing environment with drinking-water facilities. u wont end at the sea, but u can walk the gorge through and back, (2x7km) so u wont need an extra cab, buss or whatever.
Its not a very hard walk, but 2x7km is also not that easy to walk, so be a little prepared for it.
for kids age 12+

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sensational walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a hire car and elected to leave the car at the end of the walk at the Oasis Taverna. We drove along the Sougia road to the (very) small village of Moni. 2 Kim's past Moni (heading towards Sougia) we took a left turn at a war memorial, drove 1Km until we crossed a bridge and immediately after the bridge turned left again towards the Oasis Tavern. After 0.8km we reached the car park at the end of the Agia Irini Gorge walk. The Oasis tavern was just next to the car park.
The walk into the Agia Irini Gorge was very pleasant and generally fairly easy with a few steeper parts. The track is generally well maintained but in some places we were clambering over slippery rocks or loose stones. Probably not suitable for small children.
The gorge is beautiful and not at all crowded. There are distance posts every km. we walked 4km in and turned around. None of the water taps were working so take your own water.
The weather was a bit windy on the day we walked and a few stones were heard falling so exercise caution. Well worth the effort.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A great walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Samaria Gorge, which we have walked before, was still closed in April and so we walked this one instead. It is excellent and the advantage is that it is not crowded. The gorge is spectacular and the walk is not tough, but allow 3 hours to go down the gorge. Allow 3 hours to walk from the entrance to the gorge (where there are 2 cafes) to the bottom.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

One of the most beautiful hiking trips in Crete. About 3 hours long (with a moderate pace) a quite steep descend in the first 2 km and with a lot of variations in the scenery. There are a few stops every few kilometers so you can rest for a while.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“In my opinion the most beautiful of the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I did the walk on my own in 2,5 hours. It is an exiting walk which never get bored. In fact it are different types of nature in 1 gorges, always surprising!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agia Irini Gorge also viewed

Sfakia, Chania Prefecture
Sfakia, Chania Prefecture
 
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Agia Irini Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agia Irini Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.