We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beach House

House and Veranda
House and Veranda
House and Veranda
Dining room
Kitchen
Sitting room
Bedroom 1
Gurnard
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dale F
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“truely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

Having never been to the isle of wight we wanted to book something close to the beach but central to expolre. This house fitted the bill, the house was simply stunning large rooms neutrally decorated with great finishing touches. The location was to die for ( i would actually move there tommorow) at the end of the large garden is what sells this house for me you are right on the beach, i never thought you could sit have a drink and fish right from the bottom of your garden with veiws over the solent. The welcome we got from the owner carol was as good as the house we stayed in ,very friendly woman who supplied us with outstanding fresh scones on arrival. We will definately be returning to the isle of wight and can see us booking this house again as i find it hard to find a nicer property. Thanks carol outstanding house, really great holiday. see you soon.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2013
I am so glad you had such an amazing time. It is always lovely to have people return to The Beach House, I hope to see you again soon, next time it may be lemon drizzle aswell as scones!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Combatgir...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

There is something very familiar about this house. You walk in and feel like you are at home, its very easy to become comfortable here very quickly. It is spacious and the decor is calming, it is the perfect place to chill out. There is a decent size tv on the wall in the lounge for the evenings when the weather isn't so great and you want to curl up and watch a blu ray plus an ipod dock in the lounge as well, and wi fi if you just can't live without the internet. There is a terrace next to the beach (with access to the beach) at the bottom of the large garden for when you want to sit in the sun and watch the boats go by. There is a large glassed veranda at the front of the house with chairs/table and a rattan day bed for sunbathing and relaxing. The bedrooms are comfortable and contemporary, as are the bathrooms. Gurnard is a nice place for a walk along the esplanade into Cowes or head in the other direction along the coastal path, and there are some great places to eat nearby. The house is clean and fresh, and the owner very helpful and welcoming. We arrived to freshly baked scones, clotted cream, jam. milk and wine in the fridge. We brought our 2 spaniels and they loved swimming in the sea everyday and running around on the beach.We would come back here in a heartbeat (and actually we did!)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: lack of a power shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2013
Wow what a review! Thanks, it makes all the hard work worth it. I wasn't expecting you back quite so soon but glad I could accommodate you and make your second week on the sunny Isle of Wight as enjoyable as the first, (although I didn't do so well with the weather order!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
615Jane
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect hassle-free family getaway. Built-in garden,beach and views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is a beautifully presented house. Buckets and spades and teddies awaited the children, as well as cakes for all of us and wine for the grown-ups. The garden suited all needs from toddlers letting off steam to adults enjoying the sunset with a glass of wine and the direct access to the beach was perfect. Inside, it was a real 'beach house' in decor and very comfortable, with everything we needed and plenty of space. A quiet spot too, despite being a very short walk from cafe etc. and lovely to sit in the lounge and watch the boats go by. A credit to the owner who went the extra mile quite literally when one of us left our mobile on leaving, and she retrieved it and followed us to the ferry with it with minutes to spare!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: circular lounger on the verandah. very decadent!
Liked least: Very low front door lock which toddlers soon sussed.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2013
I am so glad you had a great stay, and that all 3 generations found the perfect spot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Lucy B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house, beautifully done, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We spent a week at The Beach House. The welcome we received from the owner was fantastic, everything was beautifully clean and organised and we were provided with everything we could have needed. Gurnard is a great place for children with a lovely beach, cafe and children's playground. We will be returning soon!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The house and the garden...
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2011
Thanks for that, I do all the cleaning myself to ensure it is of the highest standard. Gurnard is a fantastic place to holiday as well as live, with so much for all ages to do or just to sit and watch the sun go down.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
NatalieJD
Faversham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Home from home ...on the beach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

A wonderful family home with lots of thoughtful touches. Very comfortable with a nice big TV!! Location is perfect! We kayaked every day from the bottom of the garden. Lovely walk along beach to pub/cafe - just watch out for the tide coming in on the way back! Loved the house and island! We will be back. Thank you Carol.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2011
I'm glad you had such a great time, thats what it's all about and I'm glad the TV was a hit! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Danielle0...
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house with amazing views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

House has been recently renovated & the attention to detail is obvious. All rooms were very clean & decorated to good standard.

We were made very welcome by the owner - buckets & spades given to the children & a cream tea /cupcakes & wine for the adults.

The views across the Solent are fantastic & we spent every evening watching the sunset with a glass of wine (whatever the weather) whilst the kids played on the beach.

Gurnard is a nice quiet village. Little Gloster restaurant is just down the road (2/3 min walk) & is a great place to watch the world go by at any time of day and food is great too. The beachside cafe is also very good.

This was our first time to IOW but will definitely be returning & hopefully to the Beach house.

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2011
Thank you Danielle, you were a delight to have, leaving the house so clean and tidy. I hope the girls filled their scrapbooks with great memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$117
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Carol G
44 7704436089
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2011
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 26 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing