We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place, amazing view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue - Bellavista

Bellevue - Bellavista
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bellevue - Bellavista to your Saves list
Bellevue - Bellavista
Via Collina D'oro 72, Montagnola 6926, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montagnola
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quiet place, amazing view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I recently spent 4 days at the Bellevue Hotel and I am more than pleased.

The hotel is definitely not luxury, but it what you should expect in a secure and beautiful hill in Switzerland.

Quiet. Comfortable. Relaxing.

I had a lakeview room and every morning it was a mystical experience to just open the windows and look at it.

The food at the restaurant is amazing and don't forget to ask the host if there's any special for the day!

I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Lakeview room is the real deal. Unlike other guests, I didn't hear any noise at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice view and clean large room.
I am Japanese, so it was happy when I find bath tub.

I choiced this hotel because of sightseeing for Hermann Hesse.
There are a lot of beautiful natures.
Lake and mountains is too beautiful.
View from restaurant is also nice!

I went to hotel by bus. Bus goes to infront of hotel it's helpful for me.

Hotel staff is kind.I remember.

I want to use again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Although there isn't anyone to be found if you have a question, although even when you have found the person she doesn't speak much, if any ENGLISH. I still love this place. The view is lovely, the rooms are very clean (to my mother's Dettol standard). Its really very quiet. You definitely will get a good sleep here.

U can taxi up and walk down.. it's located on a hill. We had dinner there at the restaurant. Large portions (family style) but down to earth and delicious.
This is my sanctuary. I come here once a year to clear my mind and breath the crisp fresh air, and to get some REAL SLEEP.

Room Tip: Lake view is top choice, but all other rooms are really nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue-Bellavista, Manager at Bellevue - Bellavista, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest, Thank's for your review. For us it's wery helpfull to get comments and suggestions, this will help us to improve quality of our service. We are sorry if it wasn't possible to get answers to your questions (next time we will do), just for your info we have a phone service around the clock, and our staff speaks fluent english, german, french and italian. However Thank's for nice comments about quiet, view, clean and restaurat. We look forward to meet you again in Montagnola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

beautifull view from nice room with balcony and friendly staff
but if definition of hotel means a place to get some sleep after long journey
than this is not a hotel but a restaurant with lots of noice from customers untill 12:30 and staff untill 01:30 with rooms upstairs...to bad becuase the view is really spectacullar

Room Tip: oppoosit from restaurant but then no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Bellevue - Bellavista is up the hill from Lugano in ritzy Montagnola. It's B&B style, the front desk is not always attended, but either the owner or her assistant is just a phone call away. We were traveling with our teenaged daughter to visit The American School in Switzerland, a short walk from the hotel. Our 2nd floor room was very clean, bright, and surprisingly large, with a queen-size bed and an extra bed for our daughter. The suite included a small kitchen, fully stocked with nice looking cooking gear and silverware, and a sparkling bathroom. The layout and windows make the most of the view of the city below, Lake Lugano, and the Alps beyond.

There is ample parking and the pizzeria / restaurant overlooking the lake is also the setting for breakfast. The buffet breakfast was a simple one: bread, rolls, juice, yoghurt, cereal, and tea/ coffee. Not a big spread, but fresh and tasty.

The hotel is a short walk from the Hermann Hesse museum in Montagnola, and an off-the-beaten-path walk takes you by some great natural scenery (away from the lake) and the museum.

The hotel is very pleasant and a good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrangeville, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my family for a week as a temporary housing solution for a relocation. I had two rooms, and ate in the hotel restaurant often. The owners made no attempt to make us feel at home, would not allow us late checkout on the last day, and offered no assistance with our 15 suitcases. To top it of we were scraching from bedbugs all week and had to deal with that after moving out. There are much better places in Lugano in the same pricerange, run by much better staff...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue-Bellavista, Direttore at Bellevue - Bellavista, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank's for you comments. However, we are surprised by what you wrote. Our hotel as an hight standard of cleanness and it never happened that we had bedbugs in our beds, if this really happened why did you not note it to us already starting from the first day, instead waiting till checkout and fight with this problem throughout the entire week? It's hard to understand how someone can sleep in that conditions for so a long jurney...

With out best regards, Hotel Bellevue-Bellavista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Magnificant views from every room....Tiered villas overlooking Lake Maggiore....stunning views of Ascona and Locarno at night and in the morning sunlight...... Restaurant is virtually 4-Star or above with maagnificant dinner and breakfast to match the evening meal.

On east side of Lake Maggiore and a quick trip from there down to Lake Lugano and then on to Lake Como. lake Maggiore is every bit the "looker" as Lake Como...Views on either side of these lakes are unequaled......

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue-Bellavista, Direttore at Bellevue - Bellavista, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest, thank's for your nice comments. I'm sorry to inform you that the hotel you mentionned is not Bellevue-Bellavista in Montagnola. Our hotel si nereby Lugano and is located on the lake of Lugano (not maggiore). However we are grateful for your nice comments about our nice region.

With our best regards, Hotel Bellevue-Bellavista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellevue - Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue - Bellavista

Address: Via Collina D'oro 72, Montagnola 6926, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Montagnola
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montagnola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bellevue - Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue - Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.