We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moran's Restaurant & Bar

Moran's Restaurant & Bar
Golf Links Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 1LH, England
+44 1237 472070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Westward Ho
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Overlooking Bideford Bay out to the Atlantic Ocean with fabulous views, big skies and stunning sunsets over Lundy Island, why not join us for local Devon waters fish, fresh Appledore mussels,local seafood, Devon and Cornwall Farm steaks and wonderful Thai food all cooked in our open theatre kitchen by our team of chefs led by Thai Chef Anan Intham.West Country ales and ciders and a list of hand picked wines from around the world. We cater for families daily however after 6 pm we are an adult only restaurant( 14 years old minimum). Moran's as recommended by The Sunday Times (Best of the West).
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent food, my husband and I had an amazing Thai meal. The thai green curry was delicious. The restuarant is right on the sea front. We cant wait to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    72
    15
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC EVENING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I agree with comments made in a previous review, for adults only in the evening.
Layout of the restaurant was very nice and cosy.
Staff very friendly and not always in your face i.e trying to get you another drink as soon as they saw your glass was empty.
Ther were 6 in our party and everyone came away talking about the food, staff, the bill,
Already planning our next birthday visit.
The only Restaurant with a beech hut within. See if you can find it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMoran, Owner at Moran's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Roy,
Thank you for your kind comments, it means a lot to us all here that you had a 'fantastic evening'. Glad you enjoyed the beach hut. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with sea views from the outside garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were down in Devon and wanted to find somewhere local to eat.......the power of Google and then Tripadvisor pointed us in the direction of Morans in Westward Ho. If you are driving there is public pay and display just past the restaurant (currently no charge after 6pm).

Great decor, very attentive service, and excellent food al combine for a delightful experience. Not overly priced and the Thai food menu excellent.

They have a policy of no children under 14 after 6PM which is the only reason why there are a few poor ratings, personally that should likely increase the ratings! I like to enjoy my food in a relaxing atmosphere, and not with tired children running around.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Went to Morans for birthday lunch. Ordered Yellow Thai Curry, fish and chips and a childs meal. All were excellent, the curry in particular was delicious and the fish and chips was also a hit. Service very good and excellent value too. Will return on our next visit to North Devon

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Firstly I'd like to say how nice it is to find an establishment that is for adults only of an evening. I cannot think of anywhere else in the area that it and so it was really quite refreshing and instantly gave the restaurant a upmarket and sophisticated ambiance. The service was good, possibly a little fine tuning and it would rival any other high level restaurant. I found the menu refreshing, as a table we had a mixture but myself and a friend had Thai....Phenomenal is the only why it can be described, unlike any Thai I have had outside Thailand. We both enjoyed the set menu and found it substantial which a wonderful exotic fruit salad to finish which was a very welcome end to the meal.
10/10 you have gained some regular customers here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moran's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Westward Ho, Bideford
Westward Ho, Bideford
 
Westward Ho, Bideford
Northam, Bideford
 

Been to Moran's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moran's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.