We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pier House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westward Ho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pier House Hotel
Save
You added Pier House Hotel to your Saves list
Merely Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 IJU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Westward Ho B&B and Inns
Surrey, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food was average. I had fish pie which was quite watery and the carrots gritty (yes, I know they come from the ground but I would expect them to be be clean!). The bar and waiting staff were good. Three girls at the table next to us asked for separate bills and this wasn't a problem to the waitress. The maitre d' was brilliant - I'd definitely want him running my restaurant. The view was fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We came here as said it accepted dogs the views were amazing from the upstairs decking area, however ordering lunch presentation 10/10 shame about the taste the brown bread was slightly stale. We returned several times but stuck to coffees. This is an amazing place with the most panoramic views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

After being recommended the Pier at Westward Ho we arrived and asked if it was okay to order food. The bar man said yes and gave us menus. After sorting out a 8 month year old baby and a 2 year old child we finally decided on what we wanted. At this point a waiter came over and took our menus and when we looked in disbelief he said 'you weren't hoping to order food were you' he then said his boss had just then (12.30) decided not to take any food orders and no further explanation was given. Like the rest of the unhappy customers we left without any form of apology and had a great meal in the westward arms. It would have probably been great food but we never had the opportunity to try.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The setting and look of this place is great! We booked for Sunday Carvery. The place was pretty busy and noisy, and staff seemed stretched in keeping up, as a result things were a bit sloppy. The Carvery meat wasn't that great although the veg was nice, if not a little too cool for my liking. It was ok. They are extending the building which for a short time will hamper the gorgeous view. Perhaps a better place just to go for an afternoon drink in off season.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked an evening meal and food was very good and staff were helpful.
Returned two days later for a meal and they managed to get all my three courses wrong.
First Course - Pate and Brioche toast - toast burnt sent back.
Second Course - Steak and Mushroom Pie - top crust burnt.
Third course - Rhubarb Crumble and Custard - Rhubarb Crumble stone cold and served with cold Creme Anglais.
Staff very good - Chef is his name Alfred!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family went for dinner and what a let down. The mussel starter arrived covered in a congealing over garlicked sauce- indelible- the waitress said it usually looked different! The liver pate was old, dry and tasteless. Finally the turbot was undercooked and sent back. This was quite possibly the worse meal I have ever had. If they have a chef he should be sacked!

GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our family tried to book a table for monday night, but were told they were fully booked for the evening but as the menu runs the same throughout the establishment (not true, only chips etc in the entertainment room) we could sit in the bar area or outside on the terrace. We decided to take a chance, the weather held out for us! so we decided to sit outside (lovely views) we had a few drinks whilst having a look at the menu, lots of fish specials :-) when it came to ordering our food, we were told that we couldnt! I stated we didnt mind the wait as the terrace was full so understandably there would be a wait, but were still informed that bar staff were not able to put food orders through as the kitchen couldnt cope? Isnt this the sort of location which on the rare occassion we do have nice weather a lot of people want to go for food??? Especially since food is served all day from 12 untill 9:30pm (only for a set amount of mouths to feed, obviously) so why on earth can the kitchen not cope?!?! luckly the bar staff could still cope!!!
so to sum it up: great views, lovely staff, but amateur chefs!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Hotel

Address: Merely Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 IJU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford > Westward Ho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Westward Ho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.