We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tea on the Green

Tea on the Green
Golf Links Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 1LH, England
01237 429406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Westward Ho
Price range: $6 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Winners of the Best Cafe 2012/13 from the North Devon Food Awards. Our Cream Tea has been hailed as one of the best in Devon. The Tea Room has a lovely retro style with posters, images and music from the fifties and a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Simply Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Having been to another tea room which said they were shut mid afternoon? We came across Tea on the Green,what a bonus the other was shut. We had cream teas and liking savoury food was impressed to be able to get a savoury meal, the missus had cream tea,which consisted of a homecooked scone an oddles of cream and jam and I had a cheese scone with cream cheese and home made chutney,lovely. Friendly welcoming staff,excellent service and sensibly priced,what more could you ask for,thanks and will visit again when that way.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    27
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Scrummy lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A really enjoyable lunch with a good selection to suit all tastes.We were planning on having a cream tea afterwards but were far too full up,so took some home with us.Scones the size of saucers...yummy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Tearoom in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Really great Tea Room, staff were very friendly and the food was excellent (value, variety and taste). It was so good we went twice, once for cake (home-made, large portions and delicious) and once for lunch - cheesy crumpets and the biggest toasties I have ever eaten.

Simply great value and great food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We have never been disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We could visit here every weekend - but the hips say no!! You will never disappointed with the service, quality of food and portion size when you treat yourself to afternoon tea at this establishment. The cakes are to die for. We have been there for birthday treats and have shared an afternoon tea of sandwiches, mini scones jam and cream, 2/3 samples of other cakes and as much tea and coffee as you like. I would advice you to call them and book a table and the afternoon cullinery delight but be prepared to have to take some of the food home in a doggie box. Costs £12 each but it is money well spent for a celebration. I could write about this tea room for ever. Make a visit and judge for your self!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea of gigantic proportion!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had afternoon tea here. Brightly painted teapots and cups and saucers, and extrmely large scones with very genous portions of jam and clotted cream. Great value too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea on the Green also viewed

 
Westward Ho, Bideford
Westward Ho, Bideford
 

Been to Tea on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea on the Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.