We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where you go to get away from it all...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vanira Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Vanira Lodge to your Saves list
Vanira Lodge
Teahupoo | Taravao, Teahupoo 98719, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Itasca, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“This is where you go to get away from it all...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was our second visit to Vanira Lodge (the last being in 2008). Both visits we stayed in the Maara room (one of the 'nature fare'). We love it; it's like a treehouse with a fantastic sunset view. Yes, you'll come across some ants and a few geckos (hint: don't leave food out), but in an open-air concept room that's to be expected. Hint: there are also now the new air-conditioned jacuzzi rooms people looking for something a bit less rustic.

It's also true that Karine, the owner, is very hands off. This is not a family pension where you all sit around the breakfast table and chat with your host/hostess. The fare/rooms are spread out enough so that everyone has their privacy and you may rarely run into other guests (I think that's what she's going for). She does have a very detailed informational guide in both French and English in the room that provides pretty much all the pertinent guest info as well as local restaurants and activities.

We ate breakfast in our room. There's a pretty massive Carrefour in Taravao where you can stop and pick up groceries on the way. For dinner, guests can have room service delivered from the La Plage de Maui restaurant with 24 hours notice. There are not alot of restaurant choices in this area (a few more if you're there on a weekend). We always enjoy dinner for a night at the roulotte down the road.

Things that have changed since 2008:
The reception building is larger and closer to the guest rooms (it used to be a small bungalow at the front of the property), the breakfast room didn't exist along with the jacuzzi fare, and before there was no option for meals onsite.

Overall, we really enjoyed the Vanira Lodge, but I also realize it's not for everyone. However, it's a perfect fit for Tahiti-Iti and I'm sure we'll go back there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I feel slightly torn on this because I agree with both the good and the bad reviews. Robinson Crusoe meets Tarzan is absolutely right. The complex is on a good site, a hill overlooking the sea - with spectacular views and sunsets. I am not a natural walker but even for me the walks/hiking around Tahiti Iti are really exciting and beautiful and a great contrast to the blandness of the over-water bungalow experience. The Lodge recommended the nearby Teahupoo Tahiti Surfari Private Day Tours as a day out which made our whole trip to French Polynesia so I was very grateful to them. You would really need to do an outing like that to make the most of a trip here.The little houses themselves (or rather the one we stayed in) are just a little creepy. It would have been nice to have had a place to sit, have a drink and enjoy the view upstairs but the balcony is too narrow so you are forced downstairs under a slightly claustrophobic sail canopy. I don't mind (in fact we were amused by) the inevitable gheckos but my son had to move upstairs in the house because his bed seemed a magnet for little (I think harmless) centipedes. The beds (and linen) were not comfortable. But having said all this it felt as if not too much work could turn this into a really wonderful and exciting place. Maybe they should move away from the self catering concept too. All in all I'm very glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

we stayed two night in the vai ora "bungalow" (with jacuzzi) at the end of 3 weeks french polynesia.

+ fantastic and extraordinary fare
+ open style of the bungalow and the jacuzzi
+ fridge (if you want to save some money, huge supermarket 10' min drive away)
+ jacuzzi - just nice
+ great place if you want relax and hang around on your deck!
+ free drinking water, coffee, and tea
+ free wifi (however at the reception only, where is not seat or table - you just stand outside)

what could be improved in our
view:
reception could be much better, no one really welcomed us...
improve wifi area or provide wifi in the rooms
empty waste at least once a day or "make the room"

our conclusion: recommended (however do not expect a too high service level), we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Architecture and design are unique, just wonderful and creative. The grounds are also lovely. Staff were very helpful. Great location near beach. We really enjoyed our stay. We received excellent advice about where to go for gardens or food.

Room Tip: Main difference is size of units, but all are unique. We stayed in a smaller unit without a kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I love this place - but you have to want to be near Teahupo'o, otherwise you probably wouldn't bother to drive out there. Room are individual bungalows - think Robinson Crusoe meets Tarzan. Amazing views, small pool to cool off. Things I didn't love: uncomfortable molded fiberglass chaises by pool and bungalow and breakfast - ok, overpriced (like most breakfasts in Tahiti). We had a two-story bungalow, could have slept five but there were only two of us.
Not for those who want tv, fitness center, English spoken, room service, etc. It is a GETAWAY!!

Room Tip: Only a handful of bungalows, usually booked on weekends, call in advance for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

After a week spent staying in luxury chain resorts on smaller islands it is was a lovely change to spend a night at the remote Vanira Lodge.

We spent the night in the Maara Fare which had lovely views and gorgeous woodwork throughout the fare. There is a small pool which was great to cool down in and surprisingly, although we were worried we'd be sweating all night in the humidity it was fine.

The Lodge is located a short drive from the marina from where you can get a taxi boat to head out to surf the famous Teahupo'o. There were people also making the paddle out there on their boards.

There is a booklet provided in each fare with suggested local dining options - I'm not sure if it was just because of the time of year we were there (the Thursday night after the Easter Long Weekend) but there was nothing open for dinner locally and we needed to drive about 15/20km back into Taravao for dinner.

The only downside was that it was often hard to track someone who worked at the lodge down to ask questions, check-in/check-out etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We target local places out of mass turism and this definitely is one of those. Couple of beautiful bungalows located by the hill side, looking like hobbit nests... If you wish to wake up with the nature (birds, gekko's etc.) you find it here. We stayed in one with excellent view down to the garden and the sea. Picked ripe mangos every day (fallen from the trees), what a great aroma. Bungalows are missing some walls, so breath of air will make them cosy even on the hottest daylight. You have a fan but no aircon and sleeping upstairs under mosquito net was like being in our modest summer cottage in Northern Finland. Some practical advice, you need to be active yourself, nobody is creating the daily what-to-lists. Food is available from the village shop about less than kilometer down the road. And this is on hillside, you need to get your body uphill a lot. Of course you can rent a vechile, but that kind of spoils the idea of being close to the nature, doesn't it. Closet bank for currency change is in Taravao village and easy& cheap is by buss. Remember to take passport and there is only 1 bank for that so check the opening days before you go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vanira Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanira Lodge

Address: Teahupoo | Taravao, Teahupoo 98719, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Teahupoo
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Teahupoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Works of art these all natural "fare" create a univers as magic as a child dream. On a plateau, facing the sea and the sun set, each bungalow can sleep 1 to 4 persons with private kitchen and bathroom. Vanira means vanilla in Tahitian. Vanilla, as in the sweetness, harmony and tranquililty you'll find during your stay at Vanira Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vanira Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanira Hotel Teahupoo
Vanira Lodge Tahiti/Teahupoo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanira Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.