We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you expect” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hibiscus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hibiscus to your Saves list
Hotel Hibiscus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PK 27, cote mer | BP 1009, Papetoai 98728, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Papetoai
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not what you expect”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you like not having 110 voltage, no phone in your room or a tv, then this is the place for you. I understand vacation is to get away from this stuff but when you need to charge your phone so you have an alarm clock and cannot, it sucks. The restaurant is expensive but there are places down the street within walking distance that is a little cheaper. Internet connection doesnt work, you have to pay to connect but there is not a good connection. This is a 2 star hotel. The bungalows arent air conditioned, only a ceiling fan, we stayed in the building room but it was very small not at all like the pictures. you have to keep a keycard in the wall otherwise your electricity goes off. shower has no door but I discovered that is common over there. bathroom was very small too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    136
    51
    29
    21
See reviews for
59
217
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hibiscus for the first week of February in a Lagoon View Bungalow. All the bungalows are close to the lagoon and beach, but do not all have a view of the water. The Hibiscus is a family owned resort (rather than a hotel) that is fantastic! The bungalows are very comfortable and also allow self-catering (hotplate and fridge) The resort also has an excellent restaurant that is reasonably priced and situated on the lagoon. The local shopping centre is about three hundred meters down the road which makes it easy for self-catering or dining out. The resort has its own glass-bottomed boat. You can hire canoes and paddle around the lagoon or travel out to the reef. Snorkeling gear is also available. If you want spas, entertainment and a waiter at your side, the Hibiscus is NOT for you. If you want a friendly atmosphere within which to do your own thing and relax, you will not find better value.
Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel hibiscus was a relaxing, quiet holiday indeed. We opened the door to our bungalow on arrival that was decorated with fresh flowers from the tropical gardens surrounding the resort .Our bungalow was private with a beautiful view of the lagoon and the ocean. Many afternoons were spent sitting on the quaint veranda just gazing out at the sparkling water and glorious sunsets. Snorkling was great and only a few steps from our thatched roof bungalow..swimming around with the fish in the crystal clear water became a daily ritual. There is a white sandy beach in front of the resort. Kayaks are also available for hire to explore the smaller motu (islands) close by. Hotel Hibiscus is perfectly located. It's only a short stroll to grocery shops selling pastries, cheeses and French champagne. There are also a cluster of supurb local restaurants within walking distance. Thats only if you need a change from the excellent on site beach view restaurant Le Sunset. Compliments to the Chef, his seafood pizza fresh from the pizza oven outstanding. This family run business makes you feel you are at a home away from home. A nice change from staying at larger style resorts. The staff are very helpful. A holiday in Paradise to fondly remember.

Room Tip: Bungalows closer to the beach are preferable especially if you like the sound of the ocean at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The best location with the cleanest beach you will find. An amazing lagoon, 20 min away in kayaks from "motus".

The highlight of this stay is definitely the food and the service, we ate there for the entire stay food was so amazing! And the menu has a large choice, from typical Polynesian dish to steaks and Pizzas, we tried everything and everything was PERFECTION!

Room Tip: try the nutella tarte and rent the kayaks to explore the "MOTUS"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atiaoa, Directeur général at Hotel Hibiscus, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guests ,

I am happy to see that you have enjoyed stay .
I Hope to see you again and thank you for your visit .
Nathalie PERELLI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

INCREDIBLE! Amazing! Can not rate this hotel high enough! For a 2 star property this place far exceeded expectations! Beds were comfy, air conditioning in the room we booked was a welcome pleasure and the beach right outside the restaurant was incredible whether just for the amazing views during dinner or a swim and snorkle after lunch.

The food was delicious! The people friendly and the pool a nice place to relax after a hard day drinking cocktails and swimming in the clear warm water at the beach.

Will definately be back if I head that way again! Thank-you for making Moorea unforgettable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atiaoa, Directeur général at Hotel Hibiscus, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guests ,

Thank you for your time to write your message about your holidays . Hope you come back soon .
Mauruuru Roa that mean thank you very much and see you soon .
Nathalie PERELLI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pojoaque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

loved it!

if you are into simple and not extravagant, but like great food and friendly people then you're in the right place.

i loved hearing the birds and little crickets at night (especially since i'd been living in a noisy city) it was devoid of much technology and was really a get-away.

Being that i speak french it helps a lot- i felt very much at home bc growing up we had to speak french at home. the people of Tahiti are very friendly, a bit shy, and very welcoming.

To me the experience of nature, the wind, the sound of the ocean.. all that is lovely. as i said, i didn't mind old furniture and as long as all is clean. in fact i like old furniture. the most delightful place.

really friendly staff. i loved every minute of my stay. they even let me occupy my bungalow earlier than scheduled and also turn in the keys later, as they knew i had traveled from afar. I thought that was the kindest gesture, especially upon arriving and being exhausted.

Room Tip: ask to be placed in a bungalow close to the ocean! so you can see sunset and listen to lapping waves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atiaoa, Directeur général at Hotel Hibiscus, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a positif feedback regarding your stay with us .We hope to see you again for another enjoyable stay .
Nathalie PERELLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this "hotel" and we didn't really enjoy it. The bungalows are very old and so is the furniture. There was a lot of wind while we were there and dust would fall down from the roof of the bungalow. The quality really wasn't the best. Not to mention the swimming pool and the sunbeds, just one word : OLD ! Renovation is needed !!!
As to the hotel's employees, they are quite unfriendly and act as if they knew it all.
The thing we disliked most is what happened one night though : we were litterary attacked by thousands of termites, both in our bungalow and at the sunset restaurant ! That proves how old this hotel is. How would you feel getting back to your room after a day outside and finding a bunch of termite wings lying on your pillow ? Well, that's exactly what we had to deal with !
The only good memories of this place are the restaurant which was good (the owner was extremely nice) and the beautiful beach.
Honestly, for the price we paid we could have gone to a much nicer place. Don't go there, it's way too expensive for what it is !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hibiscus

Address: PK 27, cote mer | BP 1009, Papetoai 98728, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hibiscus 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hibiscus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hibiscus Moorea, French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hibiscus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.