We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Papetoai, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Papetoai
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I just returned from my honeymoon and visited the Intercontinental Resort & Spa Moorea and Intercontinental Le Moana Bora Bora.
I will be posting on the Moorea location in this listing.
The staff was absolutely fantastic. They were always kind and welcoming. My wife and I loved the pools which were a nice break from swimming around the lagoon. There were a lot of sea cucumbers in the lagoon which were not very enticing.
Kayaking around the area was fun and it was easy to navigate in the area. The water was calm within the lagoon, making kayaking fun. The sun was quite hot (average temp. is around 83 degrees so bring a lot of sunblock).
The dolphin center was a fun excursion to learn about and swim with (and touch) 3 resident dolphins which was such and awesome experience. I couldn't use my underwater camera because they had their own cameraman filming, but they do include a picture of you with the price of the excursion. They take many other pictures you can choose from for about 1600cfp each (pretty pricey in my opinion and they aren't in a standard 4x6 or 8x10 format.. It may be A4 size or something similar since its French Polynesia).
Another excursion, swimming and feeding stingrays and black-tip sharks was exciting and scary all at once. Luckily, the sharks are curious, but if you swim towards them, they take that as an aggressive position and they swim away from you (thankfully). The stingrays are huge! There were about 25 stingrays, and 20 black-tip sharks swimming in the area. You are in chest-deep water, but a steep dropoff to 20-30ft is nearby. Our guide allowed us to pet the sting-rays who are happy to come and check you out. Such a greeat experience! One of the most memorable moments of my life! Afterwards, we were brought to a motu for a picnic (and Hinanu beer) and swam around a reef with a lot more tropical fish, which was fantastic.
Back to the hotel... we had delicious buffet breakfast daily and loved some of the dinners (especially the large buffet with seating on the beach and the Polynesian dances). The food was absolutely amazing. There were foods from different areas of the world. My favorite were all the different fresh raw seafood, and poisson cru (cross between coleslaw and ceviche... aka AMAZING) was so delicious.
We were told the land excursions were amazing in Moorea (we didn't partake in any), but the water excursions in Bora Bora were better... We did water excursions in both, Bora Bora and Moorea and they were both fantastic!
The concierges were very helpful pointing out some great places to eat in the area. The Mayflower was perfect and one of the best meals we've had. My 2nd favorite was the dinner buffet on the beach at the hotel with all the different styles of food.
The negatives... There weren't many. The prices at the pool bar could have been better, but a couple days out of our 5 night stay, we walked about 10 minutes down the road to a small grocery store where you could pick up Tahiti drink for 1200cfp, 6-pack of 16oz Hinanu for 1300cfp, chips, wine, etc all fairly affordable in comparison to some of the prices at the restaurant in the hotel. We used our mini-bar to house all the cold items we purchased at the grocery store and then restocked the mini-bar before we checked out.
We were able to use the facilities after our check-out before our flight to Bora Bora and shower/change before our departure.

Room Tip: Lanai rooms were great (I mean, how much time are you going to spend in the room when there's so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Brian,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you for your lovely comment.
I am always very encouraged to learn first hand from our valued guests of their experiences whilst staying at our Hotel. Your very appreciative comments are being shared with our entire team as we all feel a great sense of satisfaction and joy in knowing that we have collectively ensured that you really enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you back one day.
With my warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    343
    95
    50
    24
See reviews for
123
725
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had booked the Intercontinental for a 1-night stay before getting on board the Paul Gauiguin for a week-long cruise in French Polynesia. Our flight arrived at 5 am, and it was close to the airport (although the taxi fare was stil $25!!). We were greeted by a very friendly reception agent who immediately provided us with chilled juice. Not surprisingly, our room was not ready, but he quickly offered us the use of the "Transit room" to shower and change. We stored our bags, and wandered the beautiful property.
The 'Lagoonarium' provides lovely sheltered sampling of fish, visible from the deck or by snorkel. The grounds are perfectly manicured, and the double hammock provided a great place to lounge. In fact, our room was ready before 11 AM (although check in time was supposed to be much later). Our room was an inexpensive garden view, but it actually looked out over another lagoon on the other side of the hotel. It was very clean and functional and had all the necessary amenities including fridge.
We ate at the restaurant that night - food was very good. It was our first meal out, so the prices were still rather shocking to us but service was good. In fact, there was a great polynesian dancing show afterwards that made it more of a good value.
One tip - we walked about 2 km to a grocery store and bought things for breakfast, as we didn't want to pay >$40 for the buffet.
The next day, we were able to hang around and use the facilities again before going off to the ship. Very pleasant!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
I would like to thank you for your comment.
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your night at our Hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our "small piece of Paradise".
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The resort is beautiful and hosts many activities on site. Rooms are nice and clean. Service is friendly. However, from a food perspective it is poor. There are only 2 restuarants and the menus are nearly identical. Food is sub par, pub level quality and expensive for what you are getting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are happy to see that most aspects of your stay met your expectations and we hope that you have brought home some pleasant memories of French Polynesia.
We are sorry to see that our restaurants were not to your liking. Overall, we receive very positive feedback however we understand that culinary preferences are very dependent on individual experiences and tastes and are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
However, it is worth pointing out that our two restaurants and three themed evenings offer a wide selection to our diverse clientele.
We wish that you had voiced your concern during your stay as we are very flexible with special requests and would have been happy to create off-menu dishes to ensure your satisfaction.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were only able to enjoy the resort for one day, but it was a great day at a beautiful location.

We arrived on Tahiti a little late due to Air France's antiquated reservation system canceling half of our flight's tickets and needing to re-book at the counter, but that's another story. It was a long and exhausting flight, but we made it to Tahiti and through immigration in time to catch the Terevau ferry across. It rained all the way over and we caught a quick nap.

We arranged a private transfer through the hotel concierge. As arranged, our driver was.waiting for us with a sign that had our name on it. We were quickly on our way for the 35 minute ride to the IC. The roads to the resort are not in very good shape so it was a bit bumpy, but our driver was a nice lady and it was a good ride overall.

We arrived well before check in time, but were greeted warmly with a nice fruit drink. We were given access to a transit room for a shower and changed into swimwear for the wait until our room became available. I was given a phone that they would call when it was ready, It was maybe 10 am. 15 minutes later my phone rang. My OWB was ready.

The resort is fairly spread out and beautiful. We were on the far eastern side so it's a bit of a hike, but worth it. The bridges and the water ... and everything... was just amazing. The water off of our room wasn't all that great, but that's OK. It was still a great room and a great view. The AC, while a bit noisy, worked very well. The bed was comfortable, though my opinion may be influenced by the fact that we were exhausted! We really enjoyed the room and location overall. It had a great breeze off of the water and was turned in such a way that we had pretty good privacy from rooms next to us.

We did not eat lunch at the hotel, but took a walk down to another hotel with a restaurant nearby where we had a fabulous meal. We spent the afternoon on our deck and arranged for dinner at the Tiki village through the concierge. The viliage was neat and the show was good, but the dinner was just OK. I do not recommend going if it is your first night since it is a long event and runs late. My wife and I were falling asleep during the show because we were so tired.

We scheduled a late check out with my Platinum Ambassador status the next day and got to really enjoy the pool and kayaked for a bit after breakfast. The buffet was good and the location overlooking the pool is great.

Not too far out off the dock is a location where stingrays and black tipped sharks congregate. It was our first experience of many with the sharks over the course of the week. They are simply beautiful creatures and generally harmless.

One thing to be prepared for when you go is that people aren't exaggerating about the prices. Drink costs are extremely high so we were conservative. You can get beer or wine from a local store for a bit less, but still pricey compared to resorts in the Caribbean. Still, we really enjoyed a nice drink by the pool.

Overall, I would most definitely stay at the IC Moorea again. It was the highlight what was a very good week in French Polynesia. If we had stayed there the whole week, I would have come back very broke, but very happy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you very much for your lovely comments.
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our small piece of paradise and we are delighted to hear you have brought home with you such special memories.
We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay with us.
Kind sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Whilst a little older well kept and uber friendly team! Our overwater was absolutely perfect, water crystal clear and warm..simply jump in off the deck! This hotel seemed to have lots happening and was well designed, kids had blast jet skiing the lagoon for an hour but the highlight was the kiss n cuddling with the dolphins..wife and daughter did this and the experience and photos worth every moment and cent...the memories will be endless.
Breakfast was average, the birds flying in and out sitting on the food not so good but again the staff really friendly.
We choose to dine outside every night in the more casual of the two restaurants ...thought the buffet on the beach way expensive at $100 nz per person plus alcohol..yeah the show was cool but having travelled most of the islands certainly not worth that!
More happening place than Sofitel where we had stayed the week prior, pool area etc excellent and huge!
Situated on far side of island, a little isolated but we had a car so no problems..housekeeping etc excellent..highly recommended and would choose to stay again.

Room Tip: Overwater great although the ones here don't have the glass floor like Sofitel and Hilton. Teens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Everyone in Moorea!
Thank you for your wonderful comment.
I am very happy to see that you have taken back with you some wonderful memories. This is the purpose of a trip.
Thank again for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you for a next stay.
With my warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed 5 nights using points. I was hoping that my Ambassador status would do something as far an upgraded room, but we were promptly informed at check in that because we had used points, we would not get any benefits. Sure we enough, we got exactly what we paid for, a basic "king" room in the main building.

The goods: The resort is large and nicely laid out over a fair amount of land. There is the main area with the pools, bar and beach area as well as several small beach areas along which there are bungalows and channels to snorkel in. The buildings are in great shape and appear to be in good maintenance. The design of the main lobby area itself feels fresh and in great condition. The people are very friendly, in fact, everyone on the island seems to be friendly.

The pools are modern and look as if they are brand new, and there are plenty of chairs around the pool and beach, many of them shaded without losing any view or open feeling, very nicely done. There is a dock with kayaks, paddle boards, jet skis, and several types of boats for other activities and dive boats as well.

The best part of this resort to me is the ocean, the water is perfect and I am the kind of person that needs warm water. The beach is a little rocky as you work your way in and there is a lot of coral close to the shore, but other than treading lightly or wearing water shoes, nothing too serious. There is a protective barrier reef around most of the island so in essence you are swimming in a large lagoon protected from the open ocean. This is definitely my favorite feature of the islands.

Happy hour consists exactly of one hour and you get buy one-get one drinks. You can only get one free drink per person and at the slow pace, you would not be getting more even if you drank really fast.

This brings me to the bad: prices... you hear how expensive things are and this is more of a reflection on the whole country(islands) and not an indictment of the resort itself so much. As someone has said in the reviews, the resort is about a 30 minute ride from the ferry terminal and a taxi costs 4500 XPF which is about $52 USD. Everything in the hotel is expensive, from the food to the drinks. We did not venture into the restaurant for any meals, luckily there is a small store at the entrance of the hotel (across the street) where you can get a baguette and some deli meats, as well as cookies and chips and drinks. There is also a small food market about a 10 minute walk to the right of the hotel which has a larger food selection including some hot prepared foods.

We did have a pizza at happy meal and also a mahi mahi burger and they were both very good but that was the only food that we purchased at the hotel. While on the subject of prices, the kayaks are free for two hours and then they charge supposedly. We used our for very close to two hours. There are also jetskis which are very expensive (about $100 for an hour) and in 5 days of being there we only saw them used twice for an hour. If the prices were lower, I would have used them, but alas hotels always feel that they have to charge as much as possible and catch only a few fish from time to time. Stand up paddle boards were not free, so we did not try those either.

I noticed also that not many people were drinking around the pool throughout the day. Most people had their own bottle of water or chips and other foods. Only a few people would eat at the bar throughout the day. So we were not the only ones unhappy with the high prices.

So overall, the resort itself is great, and can be a great location to hang out and relax. We have no desire to go back as there isn't much to do on the island and we don't like to spend days just hanging by the pool. We did notice that most people seemed to be on their honeymoon or anniversary and that would be a great reason to splurge. Personally this is not a once in a lifetime trip, but just one of several trips this year so we prefer to be frugal.

As far as the room itself, the bed was not a true king, but more in the European version of two doubles put together, and they were very hard. The room was nicely furnished, but dark and the air conditioning unit got noisy in the higher settings (speeds 2 and 3 out of 3) We did receive a welcome gift of a pineapple and water was replaced daily (2 bottles) which was really appreciated. We tried to eat on the lanai, but because the breeze is blocked by bungalows, we got bit by mosquitoes, even with cream on. Also, the people on both sides of us were smokers and often would force us into the room with their smoke.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
First of all, thank you for choosing the Intercontinental Moorea for your visit to our beautiful island.
Courtesy, kindness and authenticity are key aspects of the Polynesian culture and I am happy that you were able to witness for yourself that their reputation is not a myth!
Thank again for taking the time to write this comment.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here for three days and had a wonderful time. The pool area is incredible ! We also stayed at the Hilton and the pool are her was superior ! We did not have breakfast included which would be nice. We stayed in an OWB and had a wonderful time. The resort is about a 30 minute cab ride from the dock and cost us $ 4,500 francs-- hit the ATM before your leave the docks. There are very few ATM's on Moorea. The food and service were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Rob,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you for your kind comment.
We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully see you again one day!
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea

Address: Papetoai, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa is nestled between mountains and a lagoon on a stunning French Polynesian island. Right on the resort grounds is Moorea s widest range of activities, which includes the Moorea Dolphin Center, Bathys Diving Club, tennis, kayaking, canoeing, skiing and Jeep tours. The Arahurahu Marae temple is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort And Spa Moorea
Intercontinental Resort & Spa Moorea Hotel Moorea
Intercontinental Hotel Moorea
InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.