We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Papetoai, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here 5 nights on our honeymoon. A fantastic resort! We secured a beautiful beachside bungalow with our own private beach. Was lovely having the privacy and the greenery.

We decided to splurge on the one on one dolphin experience. Yes, very pricey. But a once in a life time experience which we have no regrets about.

The staff were very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was great.

The fine dining restaurant was OK. BUT I suggest you visit the tour desk who have a list of nearby restaurants who will pick up/drop off free of charge. Local cuisine is out of this world and a memorable experience. We hired bikes from reception for one day and headed left out of the resort to Snack Mahana (10 min bike ride). By far the best mahi mahi.

Happy hour at the pool bar is a must too.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Perth,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
I am thrilled to read your comments and see that you have taken back with you some pleasant memories of your stay at our Hotel.
It is with pleasure that I have posted your message in all our departments.
We hope to see you back one day.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    408
    107
    50
    27
See reviews for
143
854
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have just returned from a truly wonderful time in Tahiti. We started our vacation with a bare boat sail with three other couples and finished with a five day stay in the overwater bungalows at the hotel. We were all so incredibly pleased with everything. We were in bungalow 622 with our friends next door or close by The bungalows were spacious with beautiful views of the water. We were able to leave the slider open at night to enjoy the stars the breeze and sound of the surf breaking over the reef.

Our visited began when we checked in on Saturday and were greeted by the staff who seated us and brought us a refreshing beverage to enjoy as we completed the check in process. It was so much more pleasant than standing in line. After settling in we enjoyed sampling the various offerings at the huge buffet dinner and the Polynesian show which followed.

During our stay we all continued to be impressed with the friendliness of the staff, the food (do try the absolutely delicious Mahi Mahi burger) and the number of available activities. I highly recommend the meet and greet event with the dolphins. It was one of the high points of all of my vacations ever. It was informative, fun and very respectful of the dolphins. Would also recommend the massage as it was so relaxing. We all enjoyed watching the fish, the rays, the shark and even a small octopus from the deck or when snorkeling around our bungalows.

We also were appreciative of the opportunity to use the facilities of the intercontental in Papeete while waiting for our late night flight back to Los Angeles. We were able to enjoy a last tropical drink a very nice dinner and use the transit room to freshen up before our flight.

Thanks to all the staff for making this trip so incredibly enjoyable. We will remember it for a long time and look forward to coming back in the future.

Room Tip: Splurge and enjoy the overwater bungalows. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Karen,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you for your very kind and detailed comments. I am sure that your recommendations will be very useful to future visitors of Moorea.
We are happy to see that you have brought home some wonderful memories of your stay with us.
Mauruuru roa from everybody and come back soon!
With my warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed in a garden bungelow with a plunge pool ... great deck, kept me dry when it was raining and very private. Great staff, clean and great beach and food. I would definately go back again. After traaveling 24 hours to get there, I went to the spa right away for a massage which was very nice ... put me to sleep! I was there March 2013.

Room Tip: Though I could have stayed in a bunfelow on the beach, I chose the garden bungelow which was very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sandy,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you for your wonderful comment.
Start planning your next trip… we are waiting!
Best sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We fulfilled one of the items on our bucket list-we stayed in an over the water bungalow and it was heaven! The water was crystal clear and the tropical fish swarmed to catch the bits of bread we dropped in by our deck. The room was clean, well appointed, and the beds were soooo comfortable. We were so happy here, that we rarely left the bungalow. There were added delights with the turtle refuge and the dolphin experiences. We were able to watch the dolphins as we walked to the restaurant and enjoyed watching other people's experience with them. It was so convenient to book the trip out to see the stingrays and sharks-it's right at the hotel, and that was a memorable experience. The food and drink was great. I hope we can refill this bucket again-it was unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you for your lovely comment.
I am delighted to hear that you hope to relive those wonderful moments.
There is no better compliment than to hear that your stay with us is unforgettable.
Come back soon for another celebration!
With my warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We recently returned from a cruse in French Polynesia with Paul Gauguin and we had the opportunity to extend our cruise with a stay at one of four Intercontinental properties in FP. Two were in Bora Bora and we decided that the additional travel logistics were not worth it for three nights. So, Moorea or Tahiti?

We did a ton of research and decided to stay on Moorea. We did end up staying at the IC Tahiti for a day and evening as part of our cruise package as we waited for our 11pm flight, so we got to experience that as well. We obviously did not have a prime room at IC Tahiti as we did in Moorea but nonetheless spent enough time on the property to fairly compare both.

On Moorea we were fortunate to score bungalow 514. They won't guarantee room selections but will note requests. We had some issues with our booking process and were able to leverage this to secure this room. 514 is the best room at the property. It is one of 3 or 4 true overwater bungalows. the others kind of hug the coast. The bungalow was very nice and had a wonderful large deck. the deck had both covered and uncovered areas. This was important for both rain and hot sun. Stairs from the deck led down to the water and the best snorkeling at the resort was right off our deck. Good clarity, great fish, decent coral. We had complete privacy from our deck and looked out at an endless horizon. Very nice. We had breakfast included and the buffet was very good. I think it was priced at around 4,000 CFP, so get it included if you can. Everything is expensive in FP. We only ate one other meal at ICM. We had lunch one day, just ok and pretty expensive. Many nearby restaurants will come get you and return you for free. We prefer to experience non-resort restaurants anyway and we found some great places. Just ask the concierge. Easy. The grounds were expansive and nice. Not perfect, plantings were a little neglected and a palm frond that had fallen across a path stayed there for the duration of our visit. A resort at this price point in the Caribbean would have been tidier but, it's probably cultural. Overall, a lovely property. It did have a small beach but it was unremarkable. Pools were nice and many areas to sit outside both in sun and shade.

On Tahiti, first, Tahiti is THE city for all of French Polynesia. It feels way different that any other island. The IC Tahiti is nice but it feels older than IC Moorea. We did not see the inside of the OWBs, but we sure are glad we picked the ICM over ICT. The decks here were much smaller, no shade, the water looks dead, less privacy and just the overall layout of the grounds was far less appealing. There are two separate pool areas and both were pretty but there was literally no place to sit anywhere. The place was packed. At least half the people there appeared to be locals with lots and lots of children. There were infants in car seats everywhere. Perhaps they have a day-use for locals. It was a Saturday but it was pretty unpleasant. I would have been disappointed if I had paid to stay here for any extended period of time. We ate dinner in the main restaurant. VERY expensive and very poor food. More expensive than Moorea and far inferior quality. This makes no sense as Tahiti is the port where everything in FP comes in. If anything, ICT should be more reasonable than ICM. Not the case for drinks either. Way overpriced at ICT. A strange quirk though that I find in these type of places though is while a Corona will set you back 900 CFP, you can select from some very exotic Belgium beers for less.

We did also see the IC Bora Bora properties from the water. They looked nice but, to us, Moorea was prettier. Yes, in Bora Bora, all the bungalows are true OWBs. But, it kind looks like a big marina. Probably unfair since we did not see the land portion of the resorts but, if we were to do it again, our informed choice would be Moorea.

If you don't want to spring for the OWBs, the garden bungalows with the private pools looked pretty cool. I could stay in one of these for a couple of days.

We traveled in February and we did have some rain, most days in fact. But, it was not a wash out. Weather did not stop us from doing what we wanted to do. We did have periods of sun and dry weather.

Room Tip: 514 is the best OWB. They will not guarantee a specific room, but study the map and state your pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this comment regarding your very recent stay with us.
I am happy to learn that you have enjoyed our Hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our "small piece of Paradise". Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for two days before boarding our cruise ship the M/S Paul Gauguin. This is my first trip to French Polynesia and our stay at this hotel was a great introduction to this side of Paradise. We stayed in bungalow 621 on the water. It was so exciting to watch colorful fishes from our deck and no need to snorkel. What fun to be able to swim from our deck which has a ladder to the water. The deck has also a dining table and two lounge chairs for sunbathing.We also enjoyed swimming on the beach and on the large pool with a bar. I saw people snorkeling around the lagoon surrounding the water bungalows.Another attraction of this hotel is watching the dolphins which are there to educate the public about this beautiful creature and how to preserve their environment. We dine at the open pavilion and the food was delicious and plentiful. My friend and I ended up sharing one course. In addition the service was excellent and friendly. I recommend staying in one of the bungalows on the water. It's like staying in a house with lots of privacy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
What beautiful comment !
Thank you so much.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back one day!
In the meantime take care of yourselves.
Kind sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I went to Moorea and stayed in one of the underwater bungalows (no-pun intended, will explain) The resort was very nice and decently maintained. We stayed in bungalow 620 for 7 nights, and it rained every dang day. Not just a little bit, but 6 days straight. NEVER GO TO MOOREA DURING THE RAINY SEASON! That is my only big complaint about our entire trip.

The bungalows were very nice and unbelievably spacious. They are far away enough from the resort so you get decent privacy, and boy was the water crystal blue and beautiful when we got there. However, since the bungalows are not entirely over water and are connected to land, when it rained the water and soil would wash down into the water and make it look absolutely disgusting. This is not the hotels fault, but still, it was disappointing when the water looked like a dirty river.

Overall, the grounds were well kept, the hotel lobby was very nice, and the restaurants were nice as well, albeit, shockingly expensive. ($20 USD for an alcoholic beverage) My wife and I shared meals for dinner, otherwise it would have easily cost $100 for dinner each night.

Service at the hotel was also pretty good. The housekeeping did a great job and did not disturb us at all. We even got a free bottle of wine from the hotel concierge, not sure if this was because of the bad weather or if it was a gift for our honeymoon. Service was a little sketchy at some times. I remember on a couple occasions we stood waiting to be seated for dinner while several staff walked by seeming to be ignoring us, but that was all we could complain about.

Overall, beautiful island, very nice people and a well maintained resort. It would have been nice if the weather cooperated, but what can you do.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Brian,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

Thank you for your comment.
We did indeed recently experience a very unusual rainny spell which caused much dammage across our islands due to its' intensive, but thankfully, rare nature.
We are happy that despite these unforable conditions you enjoyed our resort.

Thank you for your constructive feedback which is always of great value!

Hopefully see you again soon under the sun.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea

Address: Papetoai, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa is nestled between mountains and a lagoon on a stunning French Polynesian island. Right on the resort grounds is Moorea's widest range of activities, which includes the Moorea Dolphin Center, Bathys Diving Club, tennis, kayaking, canoeing, skiing and Jeep tours. The Arahurahu Marae temple is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort And Spa Moorea
Intercontinental Resort & Spa Moorea Hotel Moorea
Intercontinental Hotel Moorea
InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.