We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beginning to our honeymoon in French Polynesia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Papetoai, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect beginning to our honeymoon in French Polynesia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2013 as a start to our honeymoon. We were very impressed. The lobby is very open and inviting, and the staff friendly in welcoming us to the hotel. We arrived a bit early (before check-in at 2pm) around 11am, but they were still able to accommodate us right away. We were offered to sit down and relax, and a tray with a cool towel and fresh tropical juice drink were served to us. It was a nice way to begin our stay, and relaxed us while we waited for paperwork to be taken care of.

We were taken to our Lanai Room by golf cart and luggage brought into our room. We were welcomed with a fresh cut pineapple, bottled water and a small bottle of chilled champagne for our honeymoon. The room was great, spacious and clean, with slippers and robes provided that I lived in throughout our stay! The king size bed had the softest sheets and was quite comfortable, and in room 276 we had a nice view of the pool and bar area and the beach, and a nice deck to enjoy it all from. We had nightly views of beautiful sunsets and took many walks around the large property both during the day and at night to see the sea turtles, dolphins and fish. We also rented kayaks to get a view of the property from afar in the water, and that was fantastic. Snorkels were available as well, all free of charge.

In our 3 nights there we had daily breakfast included at Fare Nui and it was perfect. So many fresh fruits, juices, pastries (the custard one was my favorite, along with chocolate croissants), fresh made omelets, espresso/coffee and other American delights. We did not have a lunch/dinner plan but ended up having 1 lunch and 2 dinners there as well (at Fare Hana, as Fare Nui was not open for lunch/dinner, perhaps because of the off season? But, they still offered their dishes in the other restaurant). The food was outstanding, from baby octopus to Japanese pizza to tuna tartare. The servers did not say much but were pleasant and attentive. We had the concierge arrange a free shuttle to Les Tipaniers where we had a romantic dinner one night away from the hotel, and the tagliatelle with vanilla sauce and shrimp and scallops was phenomenal.

Unfortunately there isn't much near this hotel, so we rented bikes from the concierge for 2 of the days and ended up biking about half of the island (fairly flat except for by Cooks Bay). Unfortunately the chain on my bike got stuck in the gears about 1.5 miles from the hotel the 1st day and so I had to walk while my husband rode ahead to tell the staff. They sent someone out to fix it for me and gave me a free day the next day. The Albert grocery across the way supplied us with cheap bottled water and snacks (they have pearls as well) and a couple miles down there was a small shopping center for souvenirs and such.

All in all we would most definitely come back and stay here again, perhaps in the beach or overwater bungalows this time (the bungalows with private plunge pools seemed too loud with the sounds of the pool water lapping over the edge), but the Lanai room was a great start to our trip. The infinity pools are so relaxing and the views mesmerizing. We were told the Helene Spa was a waste of money so we did not use this facility. The exercise room was ample but we never used it. There were tennis courts on site as well. If you like a quiet, relaxing atmosphere, this is the place for you. Rent a bike or book an excursion (we used Moorea Explorer, and heard Albert Tours was great too) if you want to get out and explore.

Room Tip: Our room 276 was on the side facing the infinity pools, lagoon and beach. The other side faces the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

Thank you for your review and for the quality of the report.

I am delighted to hear that you feel you made the right choice! The property itself is indeed very special, but as you rightfully mention it is also the small details and attention that make a difference and to which all ICs attache great importance.

Rest assured that we receive very positive comments regarding Hélène’spa, our Tropical Spa in the heart of our private gardens.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our small piece of paradise …

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    408
    107
    51
    28
See reviews for
144
857
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you are looking for a modern hotel with all the American amenities such as new air conditioning, ice, excellent restaurants and scads of TV channels, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a relaxed stay where you can swim in the ocean, the lagoon or two beautiful pools and just enjoy Mother Nature, this might be your place. We found the front desk people and the concierge very friendly and helpful, some of the other staff such as the pool bar folks, less so. As with most of French Polynesia, it's very pricey .We enjoyed our two days in spite of the drawbacks. I will remember those great swims and the peaceful grounds more than any of the minor inconveniences.

Room Tip: Go for the overwater bungalows. Eat out when you can. The local restaurants are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

Thank for your very positive comment overall. Indeed Tahitian people are very friendly and welcoming people. The country all over the place is lovely and exotic, worth the visit.
This is to say that I basically agree with your comment and I would think that finding things different is the core purpose of any trip to a remote destination. If you want your usual modern comfort please consider visiting another modern place. Hence, the comment applies more to the destination as a whole that to the resort itself.

Organising a trip needs some preparation and information beforehand. In this part of the world, Hotels comfort levels are pretty homogenous per island but very different between islands which are also very different one from each other in terms of pricing. Hence have a close look at that when buying a package including different islands this will help adapting your expectations regarding the equipments.

TV offer is pretty much the same all over the destination. Have a look at google earth and you will quickly understand that having some TV broadcasting in the middle of the big blue screen of the Pacific Ocean is already a technical exploit. Please do not ask for the cake and eat it too.
This being said, you will have the wifi on the sundeck of your overwater bungalow when you do not have a 100% internet coverage over the modern united states... I am talking about the country side of course.

No excellent restaurants in a place influenced by the French culture? Sorry I have to disagree. Our chefs have worked in highly ranked restaurants worldwide and our food quality is pretty high on our gourmet menu and very pretty good on our regular menu. Question of personal taste for sure.

Once again you are right, the place is different from an occidental style modern city but worth the trip. Thank you for giving me the occasion to point this out.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are staying at a very nice ICH on the island of Moorea in French Polynesia. They have lots of activities including snorkeling and kayaking for free. However if you are used to the ICHs in the US the service does not meet the same standards even when you account for "island time".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea !

I would like to thank you for your comments.
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.
Effectively, Moorea is a wild and untouched island ; this is what makes it so unique, beautiful and different. I think that our Clients want this for their vacations and brought home with them such unforgattable memories.

Mauururu roa

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in February 2013 in Overwater Bungalow #607. It was a good location on the Lagoon and the grounds are beautiful. The Dolphin Center was closed for renovation. There is only one english TV Channel, CNN. The 3 English movie channels are no longer available as they don't have satellite anymore. The hotel was kind enough to provide us with a complimentary DVD player but we had to rent very old movies at 1200 xpf per movie per night (approximately $12+ US dollars). The air conditioning leaked water through the wall above the toilet right on top of your head. The food is very expensive and only one restaurant is open, the other restaurant was closed for renovation. Had the breakfast buffet included in our package but did not care for the food as they tend to undercook everything. It is very hot and humid this time of year and the ice machine in the hut is broken. The Staff was excellent and very attentive. Would I stay there again, absolutely not.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear RGP54,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Overwater Bungalow #522. It is at the far edge of the property, so about a 10 minute walk from the main building. The landscaping and pool areas are beautiful. The whole resort was quiet and relaxing, but our little corner was very quiet, as we did not have a neighbour the entire stay. We had a sunrise view and given that we were 5 hours time shifted from Canada, we were up early every day and enjoyed the sunrises. There was a nice reef just under around our bungalow but a larger nicer one about 100 yard swim directly ahead of our bungalow. We spent a lot of time in the water! The bedroom in the bungalow was cool, but it seemed the A/C unit could not keep up with the size of the room, and the living room section was always a little warm. But it was HOT outside. The food at the hotel seemed hit or miss. We had a good pizza and a good burger and fries but the chicken skewers and teriyaki cream noodles were bland, although service was quick. We walked to some local restaurants for lunch and Josie at the concierge desk was very helpful in arranging rides to local restaurants for dinner (they will pick you up). I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Overwater bungalow #522 was a sunrise view, in a quiet location with a nice snorkelling reef, but wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea !

I am taking the opportunity to thank you for your time and your review.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our Resort and that you keep a warm souvenir of your stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Best sunny regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It doesn't get much better then these. I was looking forward to checking them out and was NOT disappointed
Like everything else InterContinental does in the Thaitian Islands it's done well.
While you are in the garden you have your own little world and total privacy which is well worth the extra money from the beach bungalows

Room Tip: They are all good can't go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea !

We hope you had a safe trip back home and would like to thank you for your comments. It is a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With the hope to welcome you in the future.

Best sunny regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is very beautiful, had a bank of beautiful coral in front of our bungalow. Furthermore, you can take the kayak and go swimming in front of the hotel, there is a place where all tourists swim with sharks and stingrays. And you can do it for free! The breakfast was tasty, but the service is not the best. It is not a hotel that can be very quiet. There are many people. It is not the perfect place to spend a honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write to me regarding your stay with us.
I am pleased to learn that you have enjoyed our Resort.

I am surprised by your comment regarding the lack of privacy and the hotel not being recommended for honeymooners. On the contrary we receive numerous comments that stress the size and layout of the property which ensures that one can always find a remote private spot to share a romantic moment.

We hope to see you back one day.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea

Address: Papetoai, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa is nestled between mountains and a lagoon on a stunning French Polynesian island. Right on the resort grounds is Moorea's widest range of activities, which includes the Moorea Dolphin Center, Bathys Diving Club, tennis, kayaking, canoeing, skiing and Jeep tours. The Arahurahu Marae temple is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort And Spa Moorea
Intercontinental Resort & Spa Moorea Hotel Moorea
Intercontinental Hotel Moorea
InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.