We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable experience! Thanks to this awesome resort and excellent service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea to your Saves list
InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   | Po Box 1019, Papetoai 98729, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Papetoai
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
1 review
“Unforgetable experience! Thanks to this awesome resort and excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

From our arrival to departure, we've enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Very nice people at the front desk and very helpful concierge who helped us arrange all the activities like the safari and lagoon tour and even recommended a few local places to go to for a true Moorea experience. There's a lot of things to do in both land and water in this hotel. The only cons we have is that the food and beverages are expensive but we prepared for it and expected it in this kind of resort. Overall, our experience in this hotel was very good, and in Moorea excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea !

I am thrilled to read your comments and see that you have taken back with you some wonderful memories.
I am posted your feedback in every department and everyone was very happy to see that you enjoyed the beauty and diversity of our island and that their efforts made a real difference.

Thanks again for your encouragement and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    462
    126
    55
    30
See reviews for
168
1,010
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

After cruising on Paul Guiguin cruise ship, we decided to spend some additional time on Moorea. The hotel has dalphins and turtles and beautiful walk ways. We had a nice bungalow over the water which was nice. The hotel personnel weren't as nice as other islands. The pearl shops had free rides to the different areas and they were very nice about picking you up and bringing you back even if you didn't purchase

Room Tip: Make sure you get a bungalow over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

Thank you very much for sharing this comment with us.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed the resort and hope to welcome you again soon.

With my warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in Jan 2013 on our honeymoon, we spent 3 nights Moorea/ 3 nights Huahine/ 3 nights Bora Bora.

On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted promptly with a welcome drink and a cool towelette for freshening up. Check in was quick and we were taken to our bungalow with our luggage in a little golf cart. We had a personalized note in our room congratulating us on our marriage and thanking us for choosing to spend our honeymoon at their hotel. We also had a chilled mini bottle of French champagne and fresh flowers in our room.

We stayed in a beach bungalow. We had a large sitting/ living room with a desk, couch and television. The bedroom was large, with a closet. Bathroom had double sinks, bathtub, shower and separate toilet. The living room had large sliding doors that opened up to the deck outside. Half the deck is covered, with a small table and chairs for sitting. The uncovered area has two lounge chairs for relaxing. The deck has about 5 stairs down to the sandy beach. The water is less than ten feet away from the deck.

This may be a pro or con according to individual preference, but our bungalow was not open beach. About 20ft out into the water, a wire fence blocked off an area to the Dolphin Center. This meant we did not have a view out to sea, but we did have a view of the Dolphin Center, and daily we could see the dolphins doing tricks and jumps, which we quite enjoyed.

Breakfast was included, It was excellent, a very large variety of items. One issue here though is that the breakfast area is open air, and there were always birds around. The birds got into the baskets of bread constantly and even onto your plate if you were not attentive. They constantly had to be shooed away. I wonder how safe it is to consume bread from the basket that birds have been in. We avoided the bread in these baskets. The food selection at the restaurants was very small for lunch and dinner - a bit difficult for vegetarians or if you dont consume beef and pork.

Overall, service at the hotel was excellent. Staff at the front desk, concierge services and restaurants were always friendly and timely. We had rain a couple days, and the concierge lent us Monopoly and cards since we were indoors.

Two cons that come to mind - shower in the bathroom has no enclosure, its open and water runs out into the rest of the bathroom floor as it doesnt drain quickly. The other is that the walkways around the hotel are a bit dark at night. If better lit, guests would be more comfortable walking to their rooms at night.

Overall, we had an excellent stay, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Moorea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guests!

First of all, thank you for choosing the Intercontinental to celebrate such a special occasion.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in Moorea.
The issues your raised such as the birds and darkness at night are indeed the challenge of having a natural, open air property. We are working very hard to resolve these issues without undermining the hotel atmosphere and solutions will be put in place very shortly.
Finally, I would like to stress the point that for all our guests, with dietary restrictions or not, we are always open to special requests and create something off menu.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back one day.. for you anniversary maybe?

Kind sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

By Intercontinental standards I would say this resort is average. The resort itself is a bit tired in certain parts, however "acceptable" The outdoor area is great, a huge pool for all and an exclusive one for adults (even though it was full of children when we were there). There is plenty of motorised activities on offer and also the dolphin centre, where you can swim with dolphins. (personally I don't agree with this, even though they say the dolphins are raised in captivity). The staff were heipful and friendly especially the concierge. Our bungalow was located on the lagoon with swimming on our doorstep. I have to mention though, that what we saw in the breakfast restaurant was very off putting. Birds were flying freely around and perching straight above baskets of uncovered bread. As if that wasnt bad enough, they then decided to have breakfast and 3 birds perched on the edge of the bread basket and ate the bread. There was also flies on the uncovered fruit. Most of the food was covered however. As a frequent Intercontinental guest , I have to say this is the first time i have witnessed this. Birds carrry disease.......get it together, cover the food!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear MsOrewa,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because our staff did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontiental at the beginning of Jan. 2013 after our cruise on the Paul Gauguin. We were spoiled on the cruise with the outstanding service, so we were quite disappointed in the service we received here. The restaurant was pretty decent and good sized portions. However, it took us 20 minutes one day to get our bill (and it wasn't busy)...we paid American cash. When we returned that night for dinner, they didn't let us pay in American telling us it was a mistake earlier and they were quite rude. We didn't want to charge it to the room so they made us exchange it for an outrageous rate at the front desk. The only water available is a large bottle for $6.00. Breakfast was only OK. When I tried to fill up a water bottle at breakfast with their dispenser of water, they scolded me and said I would be charged to the room. There is only one ice machine on the other side of the resort so we had to continuously go to the bar in the front for ice and was told..."you need this much ice?" The pool was chilly on cloudy days and it was quite small.

Please know that it does not take much to please my husband and me when traveling, but we enjoyed the Intercontiental in Tahiti much more than in Moorea. If I could change anything about our trip, I would have stayed at the one in Tahiti again post-cruise instead of going to Moorea. Tahiti's has better service, better breakfast, better restaurant menu options, better pool areas, better snorkeling in the lagoon, and the list goes on.

Luckily we made most of our time there and still had a wonderful trip despite the disappointment we had in this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Ia Orana from Moorea,

Thank you for your visit.
I am sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.
Whilst it is true we do not have the InterContinental Tahitis' lagoonarium, our property offers numerous snorkeling routes around our motus where one swims directly in the ocean. This wildlife encounter is of course unpredictable in terms of numbers and species but this is also what makes it fascinating as you never know what you will discover! Alternatively our two, 359m² and 75m², swimming pools offer a calm, fresh water swimming area.
Please accept our apologies for the contradictory information you received from the restaurant. All foreign exchange is indeed centralised at the reception area which aligns with all major hotels currency exchange rates. When the waiters trust it will not impede on the restaurant service they are happy to take care of the exchange for you to maximise your comfort. Similarly, with a simple phone call to room service, ice will be delivery free of charge to your room.
I hope you have taken back some beautiful memories of your visit in our islands and ocean.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just visited this resort in Dec which is one of the best resorts I have ever been. The staffs are so helpful and friendly. Though Dec is the off peak season, the main restaurant is not opened, we still have no problem to find a good place to eat in Moorea. One particular restaurant is La Villa Des Sens opp the Intercontinental. Oh, the resort has a beautiful landscape and is set right in the lagoon so we can snorkel any minute we like to. I will definitely love to visit the resort again and again....

Room Tip: The over water bungalow is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your visit to the hotel.
Please be assured that I will pass your feedback on to the hotel team.

Hopefully see you again one day!

Thank you again for your visit.

Kind sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Of all the islands we've been to (and that's quite a few) the staff here were wonderful - certainly knew how to look after their guests, unlike some other islands where they take their time. I know you're on holiday, but it's so wonderful to have service that is second to none -after all you're paying for it!

The price is rather high but it was an outer island so we were well expecting that.

Loved that there was wi-fi available by the 1/2 hour and very easy to use.

There is a dairy if you head up the drive and turn right & walk about 5 mins which is significantly cheaper than the shop at the end of the driveway.

We stayed for business reasons and were very happy with the organisation and how well we were catered for.

The Spa was fantastic, secluded around the back and the dolphin center was an added bonus. We weren't in an over water bungalow, but in the main hotel part, and found it more than adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

I am thrilled to read your comments and see that you have taken back with you some wonderful memories.
Thank you very much and rest assured that I will pass your compliment at my staff.
I happy to see that you have enjoyed our Natural Spa.

We hope to see you a next time … for vacation!!!

Mauururu roa

Best sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea

Address: | Po Box 1019, Papetoai 98729, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa is nestled between mountains and a lagoon on a stunning French Polynesian island. Right on the resort grounds is Moorea's widest range of activities, which includes the Moorea Dolphin Center, Bathys Diving Club, tennis, kayaking, canoeing, skiing and Jeep tours. The Arahurahu Marae temple is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort And Spa Moorea
Intercontinental Resort & Spa Moorea Hotel Moorea
Intercontinental Hotel Moorea
InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.