We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, excellent service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Papetoai, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Papetoai
San Fernando, Trinidad
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great resort, excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in Jan 2013 on our honeymoon, we spent 3 nights Moorea/ 3 nights Huahine/ 3 nights Bora Bora.

On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted promptly with a welcome drink and a cool towelette for freshening up. Check in was quick and we were taken to our bungalow with our luggage in a little golf cart. We had a personalized note in our room congratulating us on our marriage and thanking us for choosing to spend our honeymoon at their hotel. We also had a chilled mini bottle of French champagne and fresh flowers in our room.

We stayed in a beach bungalow. We had a large sitting/ living room with a desk, couch and television. The bedroom was large, with a closet. Bathroom had double sinks, bathtub, shower and separate toilet. The living room had large sliding doors that opened up to the deck outside. Half the deck is covered, with a small table and chairs for sitting. The uncovered area has two lounge chairs for relaxing. The deck has about 5 stairs down to the sandy beach. The water is less than ten feet away from the deck.

This may be a pro or con according to individual preference, but our bungalow was not open beach. About 20ft out into the water, a wire fence blocked off an area to the Dolphin Center. This meant we did not have a view out to sea, but we did have a view of the Dolphin Center, and daily we could see the dolphins doing tricks and jumps, which we quite enjoyed.

Breakfast was included, It was excellent, a very large variety of items. One issue here though is that the breakfast area is open air, and there were always birds around. The birds got into the baskets of bread constantly and even onto your plate if you were not attentive. They constantly had to be shooed away. I wonder how safe it is to consume bread from the basket that birds have been in. We avoided the bread in these baskets. The food selection at the restaurants was very small for lunch and dinner - a bit difficult for vegetarians or if you dont consume beef and pork.

Overall, service at the hotel was excellent. Staff at the front desk, concierge services and restaurants were always friendly and timely. We had rain a couple days, and the concierge lent us Monopoly and cards since we were indoors.

Two cons that come to mind - shower in the bathroom has no enclosure, its open and water runs out into the rest of the bathroom floor as it doesnt drain quickly. The other is that the walkways around the hotel are a bit dark at night. If better lit, guests would be more comfortable walking to their rooms at night.

Overall, we had an excellent stay, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Moorea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guests!

First of all, thank you for choosing the Intercontinental to celebrate such a special occasion.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in Moorea.
The issues your raised such as the birds and darkness at night are indeed the challenge of having a natural, open air property. We are working very hard to resolve these issues without undermining the hotel atmosphere and solutions will be put in place very shortly.
Finally, I would like to stress the point that for all our guests, with dietary restrictions or not, we are always open to special requests and create something off menu.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back one day.. for you anniversary maybe?

Kind sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    336
    93
    50
    24
See reviews for
121
715
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

By Intercontinental standards I would say this resort is average. The resort itself is a bit tired in certain parts, however "acceptable" The outdoor area is great, a huge pool for all and an exclusive one for adults (even though it was full of children when we were there). There is plenty of motorised activities on offer and also the dolphin centre, where you can swim with dolphins. (personally I don't agree with this, even though they say the dolphins are raised in captivity). The staff were heipful and friendly especially the concierge. Our bungalow was located on the lagoon with swimming on our doorstep. I have to mention though, that what we saw in the breakfast restaurant was very off putting. Birds were flying freely around and perching straight above baskets of uncovered bread. As if that wasnt bad enough, they then decided to have breakfast and 3 birds perched on the edge of the bread basket and ate the bread. There was also flies on the uncovered fruit. Most of the food was covered however. As a frequent Intercontinental guest , I have to say this is the first time i have witnessed this. Birds carrry disease.......get it together, cover the food!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear MsOrewa,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because our staff did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontiental at the beginning of Jan. 2013 after our cruise on the Paul Gauguin. We were spoiled on the cruise with the outstanding service, so we were quite disappointed in the service we received here. The restaurant was pretty decent and good sized portions. However, it took us 20 minutes one day to get our bill (and it wasn't busy)...we paid American cash. When we returned that night for dinner, they didn't let us pay in American telling us it was a mistake earlier and they were quite rude. We didn't want to charge it to the room so they made us exchange it for an outrageous rate at the front desk. The only water available is a large bottle for $6.00. Breakfast was only OK. When I tried to fill up a water bottle at breakfast with their dispenser of water, they scolded me and said I would be charged to the room. There is only one ice machine on the other side of the resort so we had to continuously go to the bar in the front for ice and was told..."you need this much ice?" The pool was chilly on cloudy days and it was quite small.

Please know that it does not take much to please my husband and me when traveling, but we enjoyed the Intercontiental in Tahiti much more than in Moorea. If I could change anything about our trip, I would have stayed at the one in Tahiti again post-cruise instead of going to Moorea. Tahiti's has better service, better breakfast, better restaurant menu options, better pool areas, better snorkeling in the lagoon, and the list goes on.

Luckily we made most of our time there and still had a wonderful trip despite the disappointment we had in this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Ia Orana from Moorea,

Thank you for your visit.
I am sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.
Whilst it is true we do not have the InterContinental Tahitis' lagoonarium, our property offers numerous snorkeling routes around our motus where one swims directly in the ocean. This wildlife encounter is of course unpredictable in terms of numbers and species but this is also what makes it fascinating as you never know what you will discover! Alternatively our two, 359m² and 75m², swimming pools offer a calm, fresh water swimming area.
Please accept our apologies for the contradictory information you received from the restaurant. All foreign exchange is indeed centralised at the reception area which aligns with all major hotels currency exchange rates. When the waiters trust it will not impede on the restaurant service they are happy to take care of the exchange for you to maximise your comfort. Similarly, with a simple phone call to room service, ice will be delivery free of charge to your room.
I hope you have taken back some beautiful memories of your visit in our islands and ocean.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just visited this resort in Dec which is one of the best resorts I have ever been. The staffs are so helpful and friendly. Though Dec is the off peak season, the main restaurant is not opened, we still have no problem to find a good place to eat in Moorea. One particular restaurant is La Villa Des Sens opp the Intercontinental. Oh, the resort has a beautiful landscape and is set right in the lagoon so we can snorkel any minute we like to. I will definitely love to visit the resort again and again....

Room Tip: The over water bungalow is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your visit to the hotel.
Please be assured that I will pass your feedback on to the hotel team.

Hopefully see you again one day!

Thank you again for your visit.

Kind sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Of all the islands we've been to (and that's quite a few) the staff here were wonderful - certainly knew how to look after their guests, unlike some other islands where they take their time. I know you're on holiday, but it's so wonderful to have service that is second to none -after all you're paying for it!

The price is rather high but it was an outer island so we were well expecting that.

Loved that there was wi-fi available by the 1/2 hour and very easy to use.

There is a dairy if you head up the drive and turn right & walk about 5 mins which is significantly cheaper than the shop at the end of the driveway.

We stayed for business reasons and were very happy with the organisation and how well we were catered for.

The Spa was fantastic, secluded around the back and the dolphin center was an added bonus. We weren't in an over water bungalow, but in the main hotel part, and found it more than adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

I am thrilled to read your comments and see that you have taken back with you some wonderful memories.
Thank you very much and rest assured that I will pass your compliment at my staff.
I happy to see that you have enjoyed our Natural Spa.

We hope to see you a next time … for vacation!!!

Mauururu roa

Best sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent 6 days on Bora Bora before spending another 6 on Moorea. Although the water is much superior in BB, this resport was a welcomed upgrade in both size & feel! The grounds are huge & fun to discover. There are a few little comfy bars to visit & the food was great! We had a OWB on the far side so yes, there were boats that cruised by regularly but we didn't care. We had an amazing view & could watch plenty of fish just hanging out under our deck. The double sliding glass doors were fabulous! The Dolphin Centre was fantastic & the Turtle rehab area was a nice touch.
The beach was not that great. It's covered with sea cucumbers so very difficult to not step on a few..kind of gross really. Especially after coming from the waters in BB.
Water shoes, water shoes, water shoes!!!
We did walk down to Snack Mahana for lunch one day & could not have one dish that required egg as the hens decided to not lay that day! ahahahaa!!! Loved it! The simple dishes were great & the view even better.
If you do any excertions, you MUST do the Shark/Ray afternoon. For about $70 pp its a 6 hour adventure. I counted 16 rays & 12 sharks that about 30 people happily jumped in the water with. Next you go to a private motu where they bbq fresh tuna, chicken & make a scrumptious raw tuna salad right in front of you. Make sure to book through "Alberts"...everything is much cheaper than through the resort. It's right across the road from the hotel so easy to find.

Room Tip: stay in one of the furthest ones...the 600's! the inside ones don't have a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea !

I would like to thank you for your comments.
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our small piece of paradise …

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned from a family vacation to the Society Islands. Our stay at this resort was 3 nights - wish it could have been longer. We arrived at the airport around 2:00pm. Had no trouble finding our prearranged ride to the resort. The ride to the resort is about 30 minutes, but it is a very scenic ride. Our driver was very helpful in pointing out various locations, points of interest, shopping places, restaurants, etc. The great service started on arrival. We stepped off the transport shuttle and were pointed to the front desk by very helpful staff. The check-in was done at a table with a complementary beverage. They handed us our keys, gave us a general run-down of the resort at which point we got in a golf cart with the porter and our bags. The room was very well laid out and spacious. Our 15 year old quickly jumped into the private pool in the bungalow while we headed out to walk to a nearby store for much needed supplies. The American Plan breakfast the next day was fabulous. The concierge helped point us to various restaurants. Their suggestions aligned with recommendations our son gathered from other guests. The dolphin center on the property was a lot of fun - different from anything I've experienced at other resorts. The beach was spacious, the pool sufficiently large that we didn't feel crowded. The drinks from the bar a bit expensive, but really no more than anywhere else. They had a marvelous Christmas show with Tahitian dancers, drumming, etc. There was one night when we lost power around 2am for a couple of hours. As it was while we were sleeping, I wasn't overly concerned and didn't mention it to the resort management. Three days after our arrival check-out time came all to soon. We boarded our airport shuttle and bid the resort good-bye.

Overall, everything about the property was as good or better than I expected.

Our entire trip, Tahiti -> Moorea -> Bora Bora was arranged through a wonderful group, Tahiti Travel Planners (TTP). This was my first experience working with a travel agency. I usually just do a lot of research and book everything myself. As I wanted to avoid that hassle and have everything just right for this trip I searched around, talked to a number of different firms and couldn't have been more pleased with my selection of TTP. They arranged everything for us, flights, airport transfers, resorts, etc. Not a problem with anything. They were very patient with all the questions we had up front and the numerous itinerary changes we made - never any pressure.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 'Garden Bungalow'. For those wanting a quiet, private room - this is for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

Thank you for your visit and your wonderful comments.
We have posted them in every department and everyone was very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that their efforts made a real difference.

Hopefully see you again one day!

Kind sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea

Address: Papetoai, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa is nestled between mountains and a lagoon on a stunning French Polynesian island. Right on the resort grounds is Moorea s widest range of activities, which includes the Moorea Dolphin Center, Bathys Diving Club, tennis, kayaking, canoeing, skiing and Jeep tours. The Arahurahu Marae temple is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort And Spa Moorea
Intercontinental Resort & Spa Moorea Hotel Moorea
Intercontinental Hotel Moorea
InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.