We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moorea Intercontinental Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Papetoai, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Papetoai
Nowra, Australia
1 review
“Moorea Intercontinental Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Amazing scenery. Couldn't take enough photos as everywhere you looked was stunning! Stayed in an over water bungalow which I highly recommend, you have a deck and the stairs just lead straight into the ocean. Great snorkelling as well! The food was amazing, but happy we got an all inclusive meal package, as was very expensive!! There was a convenient shop at the top of the hill opposite the hotel, where we purchased water and beer as was quite expensive at the hotel.
We were met at the airport by Albert's transportation company, who were great, and gave us a brochure of tours to do around the island. They were a bit cheaper than the ones run by the hotel. You can book them via phone or they also have a little set up next to the convenient shop on top of the hill. Though they are closed between 12 and 1pm.
Had trouble using the Internet, but finally got it on the last day, they don't have much service there, but went out of their way to help me.
The hotel has happy hour from 4/430 for an hour and have two for one cocktails, so we did that every afternoon as well!
The hotel has a dolphin centre, which we couldn't afford to swim with, but had clear views from our bungalow, and you can walk over and look at them from a bridge as well. They also have a turtle rescue canter which was my favourite.. make sure you say hi to "tortilla"the oldest turtle there who has a buoyancy problem and cant sink.
The Bungalow we stayed in was very clean and spacious. We also got complimentary honeymoon gifts, which consisted of a t shirt, sarong, soap, pineapple, champagne and something else (cant quite remember).
All up the trip was amazing, the island was amazing, hotel was amazing. Would defiantly stay there again!!
Also highly recommend the two tours we did.
We did jetskiiing for 2 hours (wear sunscreen and keep applying every stop)!! they take you around the whole island and stop for ray and shark feeding (was a bit scary at first but an enjoyable experience (once back on the jet ski haha). There were also dolphins near our jestskiis at first as well.
We also did ATV riding which took you around the inside of the island, and you got to see views from belvedere mountain as well as from the lookout which was just amazing!
All up had the most amazing time there. Would defiantly go back and stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you so much for your time and your review.
Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed you stay with us and our beautiful island, Moorea.

Hopefully see you again one day!

Best sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    536
    356
    99
    50
    25
See reviews for
127
746
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for our Honeymoon and had a beautiful time. The resort is beautiful, clean, and peaceful. We took advantage of many things the resort had to offer... The Dolphin Center, Sea Turtle Recovery Center, snorkeling in the lagoon, kayaking, dinner on the beach, and swimming! We were in LOVE with the lagoon. We spent all day there it seemed. We saw a ton of ocean life and even got to see a few sting rays swimming through. It was magical. The hotel did a few nice things for us since we were "honeymooners", which we really appreciated. Most of the restaurant staff and bartenders were a bit cold though. They didn't seem to be enjoying our company. It wasn't what we were used to seeing at IC hotels. We did have a few friendly staff members that made our stay more enjoyable, mostly at the front desk. We will definitely be back someday!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Lanaï room, with a balcony that overlooked the pool. We thought it was a great room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

I would first like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write to me regarding your very recent stay at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and I am happy to hear that you have brought back with you many positive memories. The hotel does indeed have many facets which enable it's residents to discover the charm of Moorea!

The warmth and kindness of our staff are recurring compliments leaving most guests very satisfied. I am therefore surprised and sorry to learn that you left with mixed feelings regarding your experience at our restaurants and bars.

I look forward to welcoming you back … we are waiting for you !!!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the IC resort as a pre-cruise stay for 3 nights before our Paul Gauguin cruise. Since it was our 25th anniversary, we splurged for an overwater bungalow. I guess it was a luck of the draw, but our room was awesome! All we could see was the ocean...no other rooms, buildings, etc. We were on the boat channel, so during the day sightseeing boats & dive boats would go by, but it was fun to wave at people, and it wasn't intrusive. We could snorkel right off our dock, the room was very comfortable with a big bed, nice shower, A/C, ceiling fans and sitting room.

It's a bit of a walk to the main part of the hotel, but you go past the Dolphin lagoon. Loved seeing those dolphins every day. The beach & pool were really nice. Service was friendly and the concierges were great.

We ate at their "Tahitian festival" one night. Unfortunately the weather was bad, so it was in the main dining room instead of at the beach. The show was good, but I think it would have been awesome outside. We also ate at the "casual" dining room one night, and sat out under the stars with live music and delicious food. The included buffet breakfast had a lot of choices, but if it wasn't included I don't think it was worth the $70+ price!

If you are a SCUBA diver (or want to be one) there is a certified PADI center right on the property. You can also book a lot of different excursions from the hotel.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out at the water are more private, but potentially more windy. Lagoon & beach bung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

We thank you for your time writting this comment.
We are happy to learn that you found the setting beautiful and that you have appreciated our many activites.
It is a pleasure to read it.

We look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Best sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Yes it is a big hotel, yes the rooms lack charm, but you have everything you need and comfort is great ! The swimming pool with oceanview is nice, you have access to all excursions and all restaurants (thanks to free pickup), and you have access to the dolphin center and turtle care center which is very interesting. One bad point for the restaurants : too expensive and poor quality. But the hotel is a good choice anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

Thank you for having taken you valuable time to post your review on Trip Advisor and make us aware of your experience.
We are pleased to learn that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property.

Rest assured that we receive very positive comments regarding both the diversity and quality of the food offered in our restaurants. At the end of the day it is unfortunately simply a matter of personal preference and I am sorry to hear that you did not find it to your liking.


We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Been there 7 times always nice, especially since remodeling has been done. The overwater bunglows are to die for.(the actual overwater) Staff is very nice especially after you've been there a few years in a row. Josiane Garate was always a pleasure!

Room Tip: The actual overwater bungalows are great. It just depends on your budget and what your used to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Mary Jane,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

Thank you very much for your feedback.
It is always heartwarming to learn that past guests have left will wonderful memories of their stay with us.
Our overwater units spread out across 3 individual motus (connected by small bridges ideal for fish watching!) are indeed a unique concept we are very proud of. Please note however that we do not have a distinction between 'actual' overwater bungalows, simply Standard and Premium units with the only difference being an even more breathtaking view of the ocean and its horizon in the Premium!
I will immediately show your comment to Josiane, whom I am sure will be very touched.

Hope to welcome you for an 8th time!

Kind sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A 1 hr Ferry ride from Tahiti - Moorea islands is less commercialized / untouched beach island with several beaches and 7 star properties.
People are very warm & welcoming. Sea Food is the highlight with several beach facing restaurants available.
Local fruits, juices and cocktails a must try!
The only issue is the language - French & Tahition being the dominant languages - Eng hardly spoken.
HIghly recommended for Water sport lovers - Surfing, diving, canoeing and others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your stay and your comments.
We hope to see you back one day ....

Mauruuru roa

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel was very nice, I was quite happy with our stay. We had a partial OW bungalow, and it was spacious, clean, AC and fan worked very well as did the shower. The fridge wasn't very cold, but that's about the only room complaint I would have. The grounds are very nice, you have the dolphin center and the sea turtle area, as well as the lagoons to walk around, it's very beautiful, as are the mountains behind the hotel. The pool area is nice, plenty of lounging space. The beach is pretty nice, a little small. Plenty of free water activities, like snorkeling and kayaks.

Staff was all very friendly, and i must say the concierges were wonderful. Very helpful on a wide variety of issues. Service was excellent.

Food was also very very good. From the theme nights, to dining on the beach, to even the lunches, it was all very well done. I would say that the service at the restaurants was typically very slow, with errors very common. The food and drinks are very expensive as well.

My only other complaint would be that the gym was tiny, musty, and had hardly any equipment in it.

Honestly, Moorea is great, the IC Moorea was an extremely nice hotel, we had a great time there.

Room Tip: All things equal, I would recommend a bungalow closer to the main part of the hotel. We were pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

First of all I would like to thank you for your overall very positive comments.

Regarding the gym bungalow, I trust you will agree that this is not a key aspect of the destination. It is therefore rarely commented on by our guests and remains in alignment with all other 4* hotels in French Polynesia.

With respect to service, rest assured that we undertake countless efforts to maintain a high level of service, however the high season unavoidably brings its challenges and it can be difficult to find adequately trained staff to meet the fluctuating demand in our various outlets. By no means is this meant to be an excuse, simply part of an explanation.

Thank you once again for your visit and feedback.

With my warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea

Address: Papetoai, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa is nestled between mountains and a lagoon on a stunning French Polynesian island. Right on the resort grounds is Moorea s widest range of activities, which includes the Moorea Dolphin Center, Bathys Diving Club, tennis, kayaking, canoeing, skiing and Jeep tours. The Arahurahu Marae temple is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort & Spa Moorea Hotel Moorea
Intercontinental Resort And Spa Moorea
Intercontinental Hotel Moorea
InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.