We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Tranquility!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bp 1005 | Moorea, Papetoai 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Sheraton Moorea Lagoon Lagoon Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get your 5th Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Complete Tranquility!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We went for our Honeymoon for 3 nights. The grounds are very clean, staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are well kept. We had an end bungalow #108. It had really great views. The bathrooms are great! It had a huge square shower head and an old fashioned clawfoot tub. The bed was sooooo comfortable we had a hard time getting up. Pillow top bed with angel soft sheets and comforter. The only complaint we had is that there is a public doc at the end which allows visitors or who ever wants to take a stroll and look at the view from there. People could right into our bungalow when the curtains are open, not allowing for much privacy. I think the entire bungalow doc should be made private for only those who have a bungalow. Perhaps a gate at the beginning only allowing guest with a key. Just our personal opinion.

We had the breakfast buffet included which was a good size and delicious. Dinners were ok and not much to choose from. The on site travel staff was great! Very friendly and helpful. We did the ATV tour which was spectacular! Amazing views. Our tour guide was great, although I feel very bad because I forget his name. We also went shopping but had to pay per person to take a shuttle. Not much to choose for for stores.

What we loved most about the Hotel was that it was very peaceful. In the morning we would go on our private doc (6am due to our time change) and lay out in the sun. It was so amazing, so tranquil. The only other thing that could have been a little better is to have a little more cultural entertainment there. Maybe there was and we missed it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olarcher, General Manager at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2010
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your gracious comments about our grounds, our employee’s friendliness and peaceful atmosphere you experienced at the Hilton Moorea.
We are delighted to read that you had a very relaxing time during your stay at The Hilton Moorea.
Thank you for choosing us. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Moorea.

Mauruuru

Olivier Larcher
General Manager
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa

Recent Awards:
HONORED AS BEST ROMANCE HOTEL IN THE WORLD 2010 TRIPADVISOR® TRAVELERS’ CHOICE® AWARDS
TRIPADVISOR CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2010
CONDE NAST TRAVELER - READER'S CHOICE AWARD 2010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    397
    107
    48
    17
See reviews for
194
1,438
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Nice resort with a good location. Personnel is slow in a traditional Polynesian way, so just get used to it. Food is mediocre, but the atmosphere is nice. We went fishing for Mahi-Mahi and tuna, which I recommend instead of staying longer times at the resort. Visited in 2006 when it was under the Sheraton brand.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Stayed 5 nights in an overwater bungalow. The entire hotel staff was friendly and very helpful with any request. Because my back does not allow much walking, Robert of the staff was most helpful coming in a golf cart to bring me from the bungalow to the pool, restaurant or wherever I wanted to go within a short time of my call and then to return me when I was ready. The hotel location is excellent and snorkeling in the lagoon was great. We visited Bora Bora a few years ago and have a hard time deciding whether BB or Moorea is best, but decided that both have so much to offer that we'd be glad to return to either in the future. For the general manager, Olivier, at the Hilton, you have a great staff and thanks for a great time. We recommend your resort to all who might think of heading your way.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

We stayed here in November, and yes it is one of the prettiest places I have ever been to and the huts over the water are amazing, but it is very expensive and the service and the food suck!!!! I had to wait on myself and husband every time we ate at the resort. We started eating outside of the resort and we got better service and food. We even had a food street vendor named Patrick make us food for Thanksgiving and it was amazing, the best food we ate all week! I recommend going to the top of the mountain to see the view it was breath taking and exploring the island is a must, it is so beautiful. BEWARE if you are a scuba diver all the coral is dead their, so there is really nothing to see but sharks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

This was one of the most incredible places we have ever stayed. We had an overwater bungalow and it was amazing! If we ever go back, that is where we will stay again. It was so wonderful to just hop in the beautiful, clear turquoise water and snorkel. In fact, we ended up in the water much more frequently than we usually do. We think it was purely due to the convenience. Only one day was the water not very clear...the visibility was probably only 30 feet. Most of the time it was perfectly clear. You could see everything! There was a ton of wildlife that lived under or around our bungalow.

The Hilton was great! The staff is amazing! If you ever need anything, all you need to do is ask. One day we didn't get all our fresh towels. We called and someone was there in minutes so it was no big deal at all. I think that was the only problem we really had...and it wasn't a problem! The room was lovely and comfortable. We could leave the door open at night and hear the waves crashing on the reef. It was magical!

We ended up with breakfast and dinner included in our price when we booked our hotel through Tahiti Legends. This was great as breakfast runs about $85 a couple every morning. Dinner is more expensive as you have to pay for all drinks (including water and soda). You just have to go to French Polynesia knowing you are going to pay about double or triple what you usually pay. It is worth it though! We ate every meal at the Hilton because they were paid for. We ate at all three restaurants. The crepe bar was fun and having the sharks come in was really neat to see. The nice restaurant was a little too French for our tastes. So, we ended up eating at the beach front restaurant most of the time. It has the best view and the food is great! The ice cream and sorbet is a must!!

For our excursions we did an ATV tour. It was really great to get inland and see the bays from Belvedere point. I highly recommend the tour. We also did a boat tour around the island and then went to feed the sharks and rays. It was one of the highlights of our trip. We went deep-sea fishing and we only got one Marlin on the line for about three minutes, so not the best trip! Finally, we went on a dolphin and whale watching boat with Dr. Michael Poole. You MUST do this! Dr. Poole is incredible and seeing the animals is great. We saw a mother and her calf and a huge male. It was amazing!! There wasn't any excursion we did that we would take back. Each was special and gave us another look at the island of Moorea. The hotel can set all of these up for you. Just go to the activities desk. They make it really accessible and all the tours left from our hotel or we got picked up there.

Finally, be prepared for the feral cats and wild chickens and roosters. The feral cats are always looking for food and the chickens just make noise. You don't hear it after a while, but it is a little strange to hear them. We really didn't see many bugs at all. No mosquitos. No spiders. Nothing. We did see some lizards at night, but that was it. Everything was always very clean and the staff is very welcoming.

There is a really nice, calm and relaxing feel of this hotel. It isn't very busy and there aren't a lot of people. It was an ideal honeymoon spot!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

In October my girlfriend, her sister, and myself spent 12 wonderful nights at the Hilton Moorea. With 2 Nights in Tahiti at the Hotel Manerve. (SP)

First: If you are the person who sits at a stop light and can not wait for the light to change, and inches into the intersection until the light changes DO NOT GO TO MOOREA!!!!! Go to Las Vegas where you belong. There are no night clubs, no places to party, just peaceful quiet beauty.

The Hilton Moorea is amazing from all standpoints. The shear beauty of the island, the gorgeous water, and the wonderful people made this the best trip we have ever been on. We go to Hawaii every year and Moorea trumps it. The hotel staff on all counts was far better than we could have ever asked for, and the people of Moorea, no mater where you went, were equally as great.

Research: Do your research before you go. Learn as much as you can about the place and it's customs. We met many people there who did not know the basics like the Hilton will pick you up at the ferry station just contact them by e-mail, restaurants will pick you up at the hotel who will make arrangements for you, there is a grocery store about 10 minutes from the hotel and the hotel will take you there for a small fee, wine is price controlled by the French govt and the price for a good bordeaux was $11 per bottle( I bought a case), Just spend some time on the web learning.

Food and cost: The food was fantastic everywhere we went. The two women who were with me are very picky eaters, and they raved about the food. We live in the LA area so food cost in MOOREA was not an issue. Dinner at Rudy's for 3 people appetizers, entree, desert to share, bottle of good wine, 2 drinks was $219 with no tip. At le Mahogony the same was less than $200. The crepes bar at the hotel, which was great , for 3 crepes(huge) bottle of wine was less than $100. The crepe is more than enough for most people. The entertainment from Claude was worth the price.
His assistant Vanessa was cute and worked harder than anyone I know.

Tours: we booked all our tours through the hotel. Yes a couple of dollars more but the activity people are great and helpful. We took a tour by boat around the island and saw 4 whales. The boat driver kept us on the whales for a good 40 minutes. He was also very informative. Swimming with the sting rays is an absolute must. We did rent a car for 4 hours for $76 . 4 Hours is enough it only 32 miles around. If you plan on renting a car go to AAA and get an international driver permit. Small cost but it makes it easier to rent cars. The hotel has cars for rent, however you can not put them on the hotel bill. Credit cards(accepted everywhere) are a must as well as some cash. There was reluctance to cash travelers checks due to the hassle of the exchange rate.

Tahiti: If you plan to stay over night in Tahiti or even plan to have an entire day in tahiti you MUST call POPO. She was our taxi driver in Tahiti and she picked us up at the hotel, took us to the ferry station, picked us up again when we came back, and took us on a 5 hour tour of the island. She speaks perfect english, and her step father was the costume designer for Mutiny on the Bounty with Marlon Brando. She was always on time for our pick up. What a great job. Her phone number in Tahiti is 71-17-77 you will have to look up the country code if you want a pick up when you arrive just give her a couple of days notice before you arrive.

General note: Most beautiful island in the world. The hotel staff perfect. People even better. We spent time getting to know the staff. Many of them were from small islands in the south Pacific, yet the spoke French, English, and Tahitian. They were interesting people with interesting lives. We met several people on the trip who were cranky if you are one of those stay home. If you can not be happy in paradise get out the video game and pretend to be a Jedi Warrior. The shear beauty and peace of Moorea may just be too much for you!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Our stay at the Hilton Moorea resort was paradise. The GM Olivier Larcher and all his staff took exceptional care of us. The accomodations (OWB) were outstanding, service spectacular, activities were alot of fun. The snorkeling was unbelievable and just a few steps outside of your OWB. I would highly recommend staying at this resort on your next vacation, you will not regret it (we will be going back).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa

Address: Bp 1005 | Moorea, Papetoai 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Sheraton Moorea Lagoon Lagoon Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between two bays on the heart-shaped island of Moorea, is the very definition of a romantic South Seas escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort And Spa
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Hotel Papetoai
Sheraton Moorea
Moorea Sheraton
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.