We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERPRICED!!!!!! POOR SERVICE AND VERY LOUD MORNINGS!!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bp 1005 | Moorea, Papetoai 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Sheraton Moorea Lagoon Lagoon Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get your 5th Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
san diego CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED!!!!!! POOR SERVICE AND VERY LOUD MORNINGS!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Ok, so it was my dream to stay in one the Hilton's over the water bungalow.... We finally get there and......... what a huge disappointment. We woke up at six am with the noise of the carts going over the wooden planks that make up the little bridges connecting the over the water bungalows. A few minutes later we wake up again with the service people talking and laughing loudly (you know, there are windows in the room made up of wooden shutters and without any glass at all, so yes all the outside noise just flows into the room.
Another issue was privacy: you have this beautiful room facing the ocean and there are boats going by, swimmers going by and the locals going by in their little canoes and outriggers trying their best to get a good peak inside your room. And yes, the boats start early in the morning. When the cruise ships come into the bay, you can also hear their horns....
Another issue: awful service! We called for toilet paper and forty minutes and three phone calls later we still had none..... They take their own sweet time for anything that you ask for and don't you dare say a thing about the food they will frown at you and take it personally.
The water is beautiful,but for what we paid we expected a lot more in many aspects. The room is quite small and very close to the other rooms.
Oh yeah, if your husband is a tall guy HE WILL HATE THE BED! my husband is six feet and his feet were literally hanging off the bed! They only have full size beds.
Anyway i could go on... instead i will just suggest staying at one of the many other hotels in the island that are much more reasonably priced and still have the beautiful water....
Feel free to contact me with specific questions, we have been to moorea seven times :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olarcher, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Dear Sir, Madame,
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns and some of the details of your stay with us.
We generally receive positive comments and I certainly take your comments to heart. Please do rest assured that this is not on par with standards set by our resort and correctives actions have already been initiated. I have instructed my team to avoid driving on the overwater service pontoon early in the morning. Our brand new kind size beds are of international standards 76" wide x 80" long so I am quite surprised of your comments. Please do rest assured that toilet paper delivery is not reflecting the entire service level of the Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort.
Thank you for your comments as it is feedback such as yours that assists us in achieving the service excellence we constantly strive for. We hope that despite the issues, overall you had a pleasant stay and I do look forward to be given the opportunity to personally welcome you again at Hilton Moorea.

Warm regards,

Olivier Larcher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    397
    107
    48
    17
See reviews for
194
1,438
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

The was the second hotel on our honeymoon trip to French Polynesia. I didn't love the experience but it is a very nice hotel. When we arrived there was just no special welcome feeling. It was like any other vacation (I sound like a brat but am just breaking down the bride on her honeymoon first impression) which was disappointing. We opted for the garden bungalow with the pool so we could splurge a little more money on the Bora Bora hotel (Four Seasons).

The good: The hotel has a lovely pool, water sports are accessible and the snorkeling right from the beach here is amazing. You don't need to go on any other snorkel adventure in Moorea unless you want to see turtles, sharks, rays.The breakfast buffest is great. Stock up! The Pineapple distillary is a 20 minut or so walk and the alcohol more affordable there. We stocked up on coconut rum and delicious pineapple juice. Sunset from here is lovely. The restaurant is pretty good. The bathroom, specifically, the shower was awesome.

The less good: The beach is clean and nice but small. Water is expensive but we kept going into the gym and just refilling our water bottles with the free bottled water there.

The bad: Our room was just over the fence from the road, why would they have rooms located like that? It was a little loud. Auto sprinklers come on at 6 am, again..., um mind if I sleep a little? The staff is a little lazy and not as friendly as would be expected. everything is so casual is stressed me out. Clearly, I'm from the Northeast, but we should be allowed to have basic expectations. The rental car company lost our reservation and the conceriege wasn't there. The Hilton staff even said I guess I'm the concierge now, when I asked them to call the rental car place for me. Lazy. I would have preferred to stay at the Intercontinental.

Other: Moorea is a nice island but small. Do your shopping here. Much more shopping than Bora Bora. Go to Rudy's for dinner. Super yummy.

This is not a bad hotel but I would not recommend you choose it for your once in a lifetime trip to Moorea. They just don't treat you special enough and there are many other options.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

After a wonderful cruise on the Aranui3 it was time for 'down time' which we did at the Hilton in Moorea.Loved the overwater bungalow which is certainly a splurge! Were a bit confuesed about the dining options as the main restaurant was closed while we had booked there becuase the buffet and local show night had moved into there because of the weather. Had a coffee with the manager and were able to tell him some of our comments re the hotel which he gratefully accepted (we are ex hilton employees)
Check in was slow although we are HI members.Not many other restaurants nearby but walked to the litlle French place where the owner has seen better days!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Lots of little things to remember when staying on the island of Moorea. I cannot speak for any other hotel but the Hilton, but be prepared. List of things that I would bring the next time I stay at this establishment:
1) Snorkelling equipment: We did not have time to purchase snorkielling equipment prior to leaving and this is something I regret. The equipment was subpar; mask and snorkel both leaked and did not fit even though we were given different ones every day.
2) Bring DVD's, books, puzzles, games: the sun sets quite early and if you are not one to hang out at the bar, there is not much else to do. We received only 2 English channels and luckily, one of them was a movie channel that played pretty decent movies.
3) Bring an adaptor: Totally forgot to bring one and the only North American outlet was in the bathroom.
4) If you are brining your own alcohol/wine from LAX (highly recommended), bring your own corkscrew so that you don't have to keep asking room service to come and open the bottle for you.

Other comments/advice:
1) We took the advice of other fellow trip advisor reviewers and ate in AND out. We ordered from Allo's pizza twice asthey deliver to the HIlton. Just to note, that there is a minimum of a 2 medium pizza order if they are going to deliver. Try the Hawaiian Pizza, it's wonderful. The cost each time was around $35-40 USD and we kept the leftovers for lunch the next day. Another evening, we ate at Les Tipaniers, which has a free shuttle service from the Hilton. Great atmosphere, wonderful food and ambience. The cost for this meal was amazing at around $85-90 USD (including half a carafe of house red wine, 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and one dessert to share). That is a steal.
2) We found the service of the staff not as friendly and helpful as we anticipated. At lunch, they would forget things that we asked for until we were finished eating. They would forget to restock our room with fresh towels and water. Just little things
3) The rooms and view in the Over the water bungalows were amazing. Take bread with you at breakfast and lunch and feed the fish from your deck. It's amazing.
4) We spotted 2 sharks both at around the same time in the evening (between 7-8 pm) from our bungalow and rays numberous times during the day.
5) Definitely go on a 4X4 tour. We went with Moorea Adventures and had an awesome tour guide by the name of Bubba; It was a 4 hour tour and was very informative as we trekked all over the island. The roads up to Belevedere point and Magic MOuntain are quite narrow and steep, so if you are at all weary about making it up there, I would go on an organized tour as opposed to renting your own car.
6)The fitness room has a water filtration system, so bring your water bottles and fill them up instead of purchasing them from the hotel or other local store. Free water is always great!
7) Internet is NOT free and we ended up paying about $10 an hour for Wi-Fi from our room. It baffles me in this day and age how internet is NOT incluced in the exorbant prices that we pay for these rooms.

I hope this helps in any way.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olarcher, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Dear Sir, Madame,
Thank you for taking the time to air your concerns and I truly am sorry to learn of your mitigate experience with Hilton Moorea.
We will certainly be more attentive to our free snorkeling equipment's condition in future. It seems that we failed in informing you that we have a North American outlet also under the desk in all the bungalows. Restaurant and housekeeping service have been addressed and additional training is scheduled in order to immediately improve quality of those services.
Thank you for again for your feedbacks. We hope that despite the issues, overall you had a pleasant stay and I do look forward to be given the opportunity to personally welcome you again at Hilton Moorea.
Warm regards,

Olivier Larcher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We went to French Polynesia for our honeymoon and loved it! When we first started looking into different islands and hotel options, we were a bit overwhelmed, but we ended up finding Claudia at www.pacific-for-less.com who was an absolute lifesaver! She helped describe the different island options based on what we were interested in, and suggested some wonderful hotels giving us the pros and cons of each. As a general rule of thumb, we rarely ever book our travel through an agent (in fact, we try hard not to)...but with the many options in Tahiti from flights to hotel accommodations to activities, working with Claudia saved us a lot of time and effort.

We started our honeymoon at the Hilton Moorea for 5 nights. When we arrived at 7am, we were able to check-in to our garden bungalow immediately which was very nice after a long flight. The bungalow itself was adequate. The room was relatively spacious. There was a nice plunge pool as well. And, the bathroom looked as if it had been recently renovated. A few pros and cons for the hotel.

Pros:
*Early check-in upon arrival
*Crepe restaurant that was tasty and reasonably priced
*Location -- on the northern central part of Moorea -- relatively
*2 bottles of mineral water each day
*3-hour ATV tour: We booked this through Claudia and it was one of the best tours we took. I initially thought 3 hours sounded incredibly long, but it's far better than the 2 hour tour given where they can take you. Some of the best views we saw when we were on the island were during this tour.

Cons:
*No gym (unless you count 3 old machines as a "gym"). I understand that they've placed an order for some equipment.
*Jet ski tour: We signed up for this on site and really loved it. We went out for 2 hours with just one guide (it so happened that no one else had signed up for the same time). We visited the sting rays, did a tour around the north part of the island through the bays.
*Roosters: You've heard it hear before -- depending on where your garden bungalow is, those roosters can be pretty annoying. We were relatively lucky to not be too close to where they hang out, but they do roam around the property a bit.
*Housekeeping: I had to call each day to ask them to service the room -- I usually called at 2pm. I'm not sure when they would have come if I hadn't called.
*Mosquitoes: We were well aware of the mosquito situation prior to arriving in French Polynesia. The difference between hotels is that the second and third hotels we stayed at (Tah'aa Private Resort and the St. Regis in Bora Bora) would spray their resort on a regular basis so we rarely saw any mosquitoes. Most of our mosquito bites were from our time in Moorea.

In general, we found Moorea to be nice. We did most of our activities there because we knew it would be a little less expensive than on the other islands - scuba diving, jet skiing, ATV, scooter, buggy, etc. However, the number of super luxury hotels is definitely limited. You can basically pick between the Hilton, the Intercontinental (which we visited and found to look a bit old, and not as nice as the Hilton), and the Sofitel (which we also visited and found their food to be amazing, their view very beautiful, but the location close to the airport didn't seem ideal).

If we were to do it over again, we might try the Sofitel, but more importantly, we'd probably spend more time on the other islands - Taha'a and Bora Bora.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon to moorea and bora bora islands. It was just the nicest hotels i have been to.
The food at the hotel was also really good , especially the breakfast.
If we go back , we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We started our honeymoon with two nights in Moorea. This hotel was very nice and the garden room with plunge pool is amazing. We had already booked ow bungalows in Bora and wanted to experience the garden rooms in FP. The rooms were very nice and comfy and the plunge pool was something different and cool to have in your backyard. Could have used a little more privacy in your backyard but in all was really neat experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa

Address: Bp 1005 | Moorea, Papetoai 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Sheraton Moorea Lagoon Lagoon Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between two bays on the heart-shaped island of Moorea, is the very definition of a romantic South Seas escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort And Spa
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Hotel Papetoai
Sheraton Moorea
Moorea Sheraton
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.