We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden of Eden Bungalow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bp 1005 | Moorea, Papetoai 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Sheraton Moorea Lagoon Lagoon Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get your 5th Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Garden of Eden Bungalow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights to recover from the red eye from LA before boarding our cruise.. We had a garden bungalow which was very roomy, clean and great access to the rest of the facilities. Loved the private spa built into the deck.

It was great to be able to use the Hilton's snorkeling equipment, paddle boards and kayaks. What was supposed to be relaxing turned into a "weekend warrior" competition with other family members. We had to try it all!!!

My only complaint would be the breakfast seating situation. One of the waitresses was very surly. Our first morning we were seated overlooking the trash heap on the side of the hotel.

I would definitely recommend the Salad Nicoise that was served by the pool restaurant. Dinner in the main restaurant was acceptable, but the wine served was atrocious. The concierge did recommend another restaurant located on Cook's Bay that we visited and the food was outstanding.

Our stay at the Hilton was a perfect prelude to a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Bungalows on the water looked wonderful with easy access to the ocean via a ladder. However, no ski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpeyras, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for sharing your comments, the one about our service will be addressed to the manager concerned; and I am sorry to read the wine was not to your liking.

Again thank you for choosing the Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa for your holidays in French Polynesia.

Sincerely
Karine Peyras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    397
    107
    48
    17
See reviews for
194
1,439
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our trip to Moorea in December 2012 and our stay at the Hilton. We had a beach side villa. (Over the water is not necessary in Moorea). The room was a perfect size and the resort had a nice pool, beach, and some water activities. We had breakfast included, and the selection was wonderful! Each morning we would sit on the balcony over looking the beach and have breakfast. The only negatives were: no free internet, limited supply of bath towels, and a long wait to get a room after we arrived on the island in the morning.

Room Tip: Beach side villas are great. No need to get an over the water villa (save that for bora bora). If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpeyras, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for sharing.

The team and I thank you for choosing the Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa.

Sincerely
Karine Peyras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

What's not to like about the five star Hilton in Moorea? My honey and I were on a cruise ship that stopped at Papette and we took a ferry to Moorea for a one night Valentine Day's retreat before reboarding the ship the next day when it called at Moorea. When we arrived in Moorea we enjoyed our one hour public bus ride directly to the entrance of the Hilton.

We reserved a King Deluxe Garden Bungalow with Pool and immediately received a email from the property asking us if we would consider an upgrade to a nicer room for a reasonable rate. We accepted the offer and reserved a Overwater Bungalow. When we checked in a Panoramic Overwater Bungalow was available and the Hilton generously changed our unit to bungalow #107 and we really had a room with a view. This bungalow was one unit from the far end of the pier and these marvellous bungalows are built entirely over the water.

The pineapple champagne, cool towels, and coconut was refreshing at checked-in. When we entered the bungalow we were impressed with white orchids that were scattered on the bed and in the bathroom. Our overwater porch with steps that led to the ocean was a nice touch. There was a glass panel in the floor of the bungalow that offered a perfect view of the water life in the sea below our room. An excellent breakfast was included in the rate and internet was free in the bar. The staff was very attentive to every detail and helped our stay was exceptional.

It is important to state that nothing in Moorea is a cheap date. Moorea may be one of the most beautiful islands in the world and there are a number of five star properties with excellent accommodations and amenities. My honey and I agree that the Hilton deserves the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. The property is almost understated because the bungalows are nicely spaced. It seemed like we stayed on our own island without anyone else. Overall, the experience was exceptional from the time we checked in till we departed the next day.

Room Tip: Book a lower cost room and take advantage of the upgrades that are offered. This will save a buck, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpeyras, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your comments online; I am glad to read that you have had a exceptional time here.

The team and I thank you again for choosing the Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa.

Sincerey
Karine Peyras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Fantastic view, fantastic snorkelling in the lagoon with so many fish in the coral. The crepe bar over the water with the sharks was fantastic and the Buffet dinner and Polynesian show was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpeyras, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

The team and I would like to thank you again for choosing the Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa for your holidays; hoping you may be back one day in paradise.

Sincerely
Karine Peyras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We LOVED this hotel.
We took a taxi from the ferry port. It's a short ride, Moorea is very small. I can't remember how much the taxi cost, guessing around $25 USD.
We had no issues with check in.

Rooms:
Our first five nights, we stayed in a garden bungalow. It was wonderful. Really large and clean, complete with a private deck and plunge pool. We didn't use the pool much as we prefer the ocean, but it was fun to have. They put fresh hibiscus flowers on the towels and bed, which is a nice touch (although they attract ants ... I was upset there were ants on our bathroom towels, but as soon as I put the flowers on the deck, the ants were gone and I didn't see another - or any insect for that matter - in our room for the rest of the week). We had the one right next to the road, so "farthest" from the beach - but it was still a very short walk (5 minutes) and we weren't bothered by any noise, except the roosters, which you'll hear everywhere and come to love!

The bed was a comfortable king. The room has a big closet, two (?) US outlets, a large bathroom, huge shower and bathtub. The AC worked well, as did the fan. There is a fridge that serves as a mini fridge, but it's not weighed, so you can take things out and add your own items in. This was really helpful and we had no fear of being charged accidentally and we did stop at a store to get water, soda, and a few other things.

Our last night, we splurged on an overwater bungalow. The room itself was much smaller and all open (the shower, the bathroom), so I wouldn't have wanted to share it with anyone but my husband! We had a panoramic one, so you could see more of the horizon. They are well staggered so you don't feel on top of anyone, although sound carries more across water, obviously, so we could hear another couple's music and the maintenance staff were pretty loud at one point because we were next to an ice machine hut. I would avoid being adjacent to one of those, if you can. Otherwise, this was well worth the expense as it's amazing to walk out of your room, see the view, watch the fish (the water is so clear you can see to the bottom from the top of the deck), and relax on your private deck.

Gym:

The gym is pretty good for a tropical resort. It is enclosed and kept very cool. It's all glass windows, all the photos show, so you still feel like you're in paradise. All the machines worked and there was enough floor space to lift weights or do other cardio/stretching. There's a full bathroom in there and even an ipod dock, although we had to call someone to get that to work.

Food:

We opted to get the daily breakfast buffet. It was so worth it. Made to order omelettes, fresh fruit and vegetables, local jams, peanut butter, nutella, breads (they have gluten free biscuits if you ask!), muffins, various hot foods (potatoes, eggs benedict, meats, etc.). We ate a ton at breakfast and skipped lunch most days to save money. There were fruit flies present ... I do think they could utilized fans more to keep them away. And the birds fly right in and peck at the muffins, so choose wisely. Again, chalk it up to part of being in a tropical, remote place, but I could see how that may bother some. I consider myself extremely picky about cleanliness and it really didn't bother me. The hotel dining areas are beautiful. For breakfast and dinner, you can sit on the patio overlooking the beach or in the open air dining room, which has sweeping views of the water. For lunch, there's a small beach side restaurant in a grass hut. We ate dinner one night at the restaurant. I am a vegetarian and have a gluten allergy, but they had a delicious tofu gluten free meal. My husband loved his steak dinner. Again, the setting is beautiful. Tiki torches and fantastic service. We didn't do the buffet nights as they were $90 per person ... but you can watch the show regardless of where you dine. When we were there it was Wednesday night at 8.
They have happy hour cocktail specials during sunset, the drink choices are the same each day. During the day, I think they had a cocktail of the day that was slightly cheaper than normal.
There are also two places right near the hotel you can walk to for food. Neither is great, but it's an option if you don't want to spend over $20 on a sandwich. Otherwise, you call the restaurants (have the concierge do it, we got charged for a phone call) and they pick you up. Definitely try the Moorea Beach Cafe! We went twice.

Beach:
Gorgeous! Unlike many hotels with overwater bungalows, they don't spoil the view as the beach is to the left of them. I really enjoyed seeing the horizon. The beach is not very wide, which is typical for Moorea, but enough sand and space that you could get away from people. We never had trouble getting a chair. Umbrellas were slightly harder to come by. The best thing about the overwater bungalows is that they keep the crowds off the beach (although this resort is so small, that won't be an issue). We'd be out there with maybe one or two other couples and the quiet was bliss. There is a fair amount of coral in the water, which makes for great snorkeling, but the shallow swimming area is very sandy. I brought water shoes, but didn't need them unless we ventured farther out. The reef keeps it from getting deep, though, which was really cool. You could swim or snorkel in a large area and always be able to touch the bottom. The snorkeling around the hotel was great - you can do lots of snorkeling excursions, but you really see a lot in the area right by the hotel. We used the paddle boards and kayaks almost every day. They're pretty easy to reserve and we only had to wait once.

There's a pool and hot tub as well, but we never went in them. Looked very clean.

Overall, I highly, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Worth it to pay a little more for the "panoramic" overwater bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpeyras, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments online.

I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, that you enjoyed your experience of 2 room categories which each one have their own charm; and our restaurant facilities.

The team and I thank you again for choosing the Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa for your honeymoon and for recommending us.

Sincerely
Karine Peyras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The experience with the Hilton in a bungalow with the private plunge pool was outstanding. Certainly a unique experience. The room was excellent, with a wonderful, modern design both (walk-in shower). The private pool and patio was superb for both daytime and evening nude activities. The other accommodations, including the overwater bungalows are not worth the cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpeyras, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

I am glad you enjoyed your time at the resort; and I thank you for sharing your comments.

The team and I thank you again for choosing the Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa for your holidays in French Polynesia.

Sincerely
Karine Peyras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We used point at o stay at this property and were offered an upgrade to their premium over the water bungalow for approximate $50 per night. Well worth the cost to ensure we received a premium over the water room. The hotel placed us in room 109 as requested and were able to take us immediately to our room despite arrival at 9:30 am. Our bags were transferred with us via a golf cart. The staff spoke good English and even helped us with a compliant with Air Tahiti Nui.

We ate at the hotel and food was good and costs what food does all over the island. All food is expensive across French Polynesia. Make sure you are a Hilton rewards member to get free internet in your room. Rooms were clean, newly remodeled and luxurious. The staff sent out champagne and provided coupon for two free Mai Tai drinks. Ask concierge to arrange dinner reservations at local restaurants that offer free transportation. Beach is beautiful and view from rooms are splendid. We could hear waves crashing on the atoll by our room. The day we checked out they had more people coming in to our room but were able to extend a 2:00 pm check out so we could stay in the room before ferrying to Papette for our cruise. This is the nicest hotel on Moorea.

Room Tip: Request specific room numbers and the hotel will do its best to accommodate requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpeyras, Directeur général at Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments posted that I will make sure to share with the team.

I am happy to know that your stay was wonderful and that you have enjoyed your time in French Polynesia.

We thank you again for choosing the Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa and for recommending us.

Sincerely
Karine Peyras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa

Address: Bp 1005 | Moorea, Papetoai 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Sheraton Moorea Lagoon Lagoon Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between two bays on the heart-shaped island of Moorea, is the very definition of a romantic South Seas escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort And Spa
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Hotel Papetoai
Sheraton Moorea
Moorea Sheraton
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.