We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Passford Farm Guesthouse

Passford Farm Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Passford Farm Guesthouse to your Saves list
Passford Farm Guesthouse
Southampton Rd, Boldre, New Forest National Park SO41 8ND , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Boldre B&B and Inns
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great location, just a very pleasant 20 minute walk from Lymington harbour passed beautiful houses and cobbled streets, a market on a Saturday but all starts getting packed up at about 4pm so get there a little earlier. Penny is a fab host with good suggestions on what not to miss and good restaurants/bars etc. we would certainly go back again and are contemplating a new year with a bunch of friends for the next trip.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Be aware that this place offers B&B in various locations - the cottage and a barn at the entrance to the property on a busy 'A' road. The barn, a few words: the double bed was very soft; the sheets were already crumpled and there were 2 hairs in the bed; the walls dividing the upstairs barn rooms are paper-thin, we could literally hear every word of the occupants next door (so no intimacy) and voices from the room below; the shower only does cold; if you are a man over 5'9 there is no head space to stand at the loo; the roof light curtains don't fit and the emergency exit light glows in the dark (so take a blindfold); the traffic noise is bad (take ear plugs); the kettle has to boil in the corner on the floor (be a contortionist); the room tea and coffee is just that - no decaf or herbal: there were 3 small biscuits available and they weren't replenished over our stay. Breakfast wasn't in the cottage, but brought up to our room where we had to balance trays on the bed as the table is too small. The croissants were really cheap and doughy not fluffy and light, the pastries non-existant and the cheese processed. No fresh coffee was offered. And for this we paid £152 for 2 nights. Highly disappointing and impersonal.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the barn - it is a cheap conversion suitable only for deaf hobbits. The cottage ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Whilst on one of our " lets get away from it all " breaks, my wife just happened to glimpse a B&B sign at the side of the road. On entering the gravel drive my first impression was, i've taken a wrong turning, and what stood before us could not possibly be a B&B. How could anyone give up rooms to strangers in such a beautiful 17th century thatched cottage.Thankfully i was wrong, and a room above the dining room was available for the two nights we required. The en-suite room had a large extremely comfortable double bed with a single bed adjacent to the front facing window which had views of the drive and duck pond. Wardrobe space was minimal but adequate for our length of stay. The rear window overlooked the gardens and a swimming pool with log cabins and wood in the distance.
Breakfast was tasteful and plentiful, tables spotless, could not fault anything. Our hosts Penny & Andrew were cheerful friendly and attentive. The whole experience was one which we would not hesitate to repeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

A friend found this beautiful place for a girlie weekend and I was nervous about what awaited us having read the reviews. She needn't have been. It is absolutely charming, clean, warm, and friendly.

Ideally located. Yes the road is busy, but the noise from the road is nothing more than what you would expect and when the windows are closed it is perfectly quiet. Except for B&B's placed deep in the country side the noise level experienced is not unreasonable. However it is easy to find and ideally situated for walking into Lymington or jumping in the car to explore further afield.

Cleanliness. The rooms are clean and tidy and serviced each day, Warmly decorated and furnished, to bring some character, compared to so many places that are sterile and bland. I find it hard to believe that someone can complain about cleanliness and the smell of detergents in the same breath. Very confused on that one. The room and facilities were most definitely clean.

Insect bites. Its been a bad year for insect bites, but did not suffer any during my stay at Passford Farm. If I had I cannot see how I could find it a reason to complain, I am sure they cannot control the weather or mother nature , so short of spraying us all with insecticides not sure how complaints of insect bites can arise.

Hospitality. There was a warm welcome and throughout our stay a friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was served promptly and there are definitely no complaints to quantity or standard. We were always served with a smile some friendly but not intrusive conversation, with lots of help and guidance of where to walk, what to visit and how to find places.

A lovely B&B that is worth every penny of the reasonable charge per night..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boro
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

we stayed here the same time as the couple who have given a terrible reveiw,i think some people can never be pleased!if you sleep with windows open in the countryside,insects are a inevitable!!we had a lovley stay,the rooms were clean&comfortable,the hosts were a lovley family,we enjoyed the breakfasts!very tasty,its ideally situated,and such beautiful grounds,we will be staying here again,&will reccommend this place to friends,we couldnt fault the place at all,its a shame some people will complain about such petty things just for a discount!,all in all we had a lovley comfortable weekend,& both felt relaxed& better for it,we look forward to our return!

Room Tip: as the rooms are 13century,they are smaller,but no less comfortable,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The house is lovely and the small rooms and sloping floors I didn't find a problem at all. It is near a very busy road and if you want the window open at night the traffic on a Saturday will wake you up from around 6am. This wasn't a problem for me as I had been awake from midnight as the smoke alarm battery kept bleeping every 30 seconds. A low battery being better than no smoke alarm I left it, but only got an hour and a half sleep all night. Over breakfast we found it had been a problem the previous night but they forgot to change it – not impressed!!!

The walls are paper thin and the gap at the bottom of the door doesn’t make for good sound insulation either. I could hear the people upstairs turning over in bed during the night and every conversation being had in other rooms. There was no room to move the bed away from the wall to stop the headboard banging so not a place to visit if you are wanting any intimate time shall we say.

The bed was hard, the shower had no pressure, the breakfast was adequate but nothing special and that’s a chipolata, not a sausage. Penny, the lady of the house was totally unprofessional when after we asked if there was another room we could move to, which there wasn’t, we informed her we would only be staying the one night, not the two we had intended, she was like a spoilt child having a strop.

It’s a lovely place to visit if you are used to road noise, a hard bed and a stroppy proprietor who is unable to take polite critism after her lack of health and safety had kept her paying guests awake all night. Her husband is much more professional and seems a nice chap.

For the record, a smoke alarm should have its battery changed every 12 months without fail, that’s for a normal house and I would have thought having a business and people’s safety in your hands this would be a minimum requirement. I suggest you get some advice from your local fire safety officer.

I wouldn’t recommend it, for me too many lacy doilies and overplaying the twee but not worrying about big stuff like a comfy bed and hearty breakfast. There are much nicer places locally and for a better price too.




from impressive.

Room Tip: Dont bother. Pick somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

House is situated by the very busy road. Room has a terrible smell of bleech and other nasty detergents ,when i woke up i was covered in very itchy insect-like bites ,when complained i was told it never happened to anyone before,no compensation! During the breakfast they told me to hury up as other people are waiting to seat! And clarly the owners show lack of respect towards staff. Awful atmosphere,will never go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Passford Farm Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford Farm Guesthouse

Address: Southampton Rd, Boldre, New Forest National Park SO41 8ND , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Boldre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boldre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Passford Farm Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passford Farm Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.