We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Easter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brimnes Hotel & Cabins

Save Saved
You added Brimnes Hotel & Cabins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brimnes Hotel & Cabins
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bylgjubyggd 2, Olafsfjordur IS 625, Iceland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Olafsfjordur
Kópavogur, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
1 review
“Wonderful Easter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I spent 4 nights in one of the cabins and I couldn't be happier. It was very cosy and clean. The outside hot tub was an amazing place to come back to after spending the day outdoors, hiking and snowboarding. The cabin had a great view of the mountains and the lake scenery. There's plenty to do and hotel staff is very helpful with any activities you might want to do. This was my third stay at the hotel, and I'll be definitely coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimnes Hotel a, Manager at Brimnes Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
I can't stress how good it feels to see happy customers return with a smile on their face. We embrace it. Always welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavík, Iceland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The cabins of Brimnes hotel is a really good choice for families or couples. Selfcatering, no luxury but everything you need plus a hotpot on the veranda! Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was above average in Icelandic hotels but I did not have other meals at the restaurant there. Located by a quiet lake,the scenery is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Steve Mason, (Fishing Guide, ) and My son and I stayed for a week in June 2012,were in on of the the 3 bed chalet, We were on a fishing trip and used the cottage as a base, found them to be excellent base in lovely location,Scenery fantastic,the small boat was not in dock beside hut which was unusual I was told. Son for a bet caught a fish whilst in the hot tub.
Hot tub on edge of lake was a godsend after a long session angling. Cooked a few meals(fish and veg ect).
No real night but windows easily blacked out, clean warm, and convenient to Lake and Harbor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed in their mid-sized bungalows for a night and enjoyed my stay. The hotel owner was extremely bubbly and helpful, and the scenery all around is fantastic as one would expect from Olafsfjordur. The mid-sized bungalow has three rooms-- a bedroom, kitchen and toilet, all of which comes with separate heaters which is useful since it gets really cold at night. The rooms are small but not uncomfortably so. The mid-sized and large bungalows come with a well equipped kitchen. My kitchen was furnished with plenty of cooking and eating utensils which I did not expect, and a small fridge. Toilets were small but functional. I only wished there was wifi within the bungalow. I had to go to the main hotel reception area to get free wifi. I would recommend staying here(there's only one other hotel/hostel to stay if I'm not wrong) for its scenic location and utter tranquility.

Room Tip: For those who are self-catering, be sure to book the mid-sized and large bungalows. The small ones d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The medium cabin is great, comfortable beds, good size rooms, hot tub on the balcony is where we spent all our time watching the snow falling on the mountains and the lake. The lady who dealt with us (Asta i think) was very friendly and she offered us some kayaks to go out on the lake. BBQ also available to use on the veranda. Very enjoyable stay, would love to return some day!

Room Tip: Medium cabins are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

When we arrived at Hotel Brimnes we where offered a cabin instead of the hotel rooms we had booked . The cabin was alot cheaper than the hotelrooms so we agreed to the offer. The cabins have an outside hotpot on the veranda which we didn't use. The inside of the cabin and the bathrooms were really small and not very clean , but as always when travelling in Iceland you are just staying for one night and hope that the next accomodation will be better. I can not say anything about the restaurant there since we drove for dinner to the pizzeria in nearby Dalvik. The breakfast in Hotel Dalvik is bad even by islandic standards and the coffee which is usually always good in Iceland was undrinkable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed in a double cabin (we were only two people): it had two double rooms, a bathroom and had a hot tub outside. It was the small cabin and there were bigger ones.
We had the dinner in the hotel because in Ólafsfjörður there are not any other place (there is a petrol station where you can buy something...). Our dinner was ok: a horse and a beef steak. There were other people eating pizza and it looked very well. There were other people who taked the pizza to take away.
After had the dinner we went to the cabin to take a nigth-bath and after to go to sleep. It was a great experience.
It has free internet access but it doesn't arrive to the cabins.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brimnes Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brimnes Hotel & Cabins

Address: Bylgjubyggd 2, Olafsfjordur IS 625, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Olafsfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Olafsfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brimnes Hotel & Cabins 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimnes Hotel & Cabins offer en-suite single and double rooms as well as self catering cabins by Lake Olafsfjordur. You can rent a bike to cycle round the large lake or a kayak to row on the lake. All our cabins have hot tubs. The hotel has a restaurant and a lounge where you can enjoy a beverage and surf the Internet through our free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Brimnes Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brimnes Hotel & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.