We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Le Vieil Atelier to your Saves list.
Le Vieil Atelier, in the middle of the Longere Farmhouse, viewed from the Courtyard.
Le Vieil Atelier, in the middle of the Longere Farmhouse, viewed from the Courtyard.
Le Vieil Atelier, in the middle of the Longere Farmhouse, viewed from the Courtyard.
The courtyard, with the rose garden and, to the rear, the new swimming pool. June 2013.
A Plan of Le Vieil Atelier - approx. 94 sq metres (1012 sq feet) in total
View of the Salon from the entrance.
The Bedroom - would you care to join us for coffee and a view over the courtyard?
Genneteil
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HaveBeard...
Oxon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very well-equipped gite in a lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed at La Petite Touche for 7 nights. We rented Le Vieil Atelier which comprises the middle of three sections of this converted farmhouse.

Really well-equipped: fully-fitted kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine; very spacious lounge with large plasma TV, Freesat and Blu-Ray player; bedroom with en-suite bathroom (including walk-in shower) and view over the courtyard; on-site parking.

Located less than a mile from the picturesque and sleepy town of Genneteil in the Loire Valley, La Petite Touche is certainly off the beaten track but has easy road access to several larger towns, including Angers and Bauge.

Lis and Mike Eastham (the owners) live on-site in one of the other sections of the building. They're friendly, approachable and helpful; they keep their distance to give you privacy during your stay but they are more than willing to answer any questions you might have.

Thoroughly recommended.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Strange kitchen layout/no Wi-Fi - minor complaints though!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2012
We are delighted that C & S enjoyed their stay and would welcome them back again in the future. As mentioned before, we do advertise that our decision not to have Wifi in the gites is deliberate. In emergencies, access to the internet can be accommodated from our part of the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
POLLY914
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“The gite is the best we have used for comfort &equipment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The owners who live on site are vry friendly & helpful. Lovely views from the house both front & back. The area around is very peaceful &while we were there the wayside flowers were a delight..There are many places of interest nearby. We will certainly be back.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: overall excellence
Liked least: cannot think of anything
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2012
These guests were a delight to have here and we look forward to seeing them again. Since their comment that directions to the house were not entirely clear I've tried to clarify the last two directions, so hopefully this little problem has no been eliminated. We'd hate to lose someone before they even got here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Judith P
March
1 review
“Heaven in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We have travelled many times to France in our 45 years together, but can honestly say this is the best accommodation we have ever had. The owners have put so much thought and effort into making guests feel welcome and comfortable. The property is spacious and provided with everything you can possibly need to make your holiday enjoyable. It is within easy reach of large towns ( we visited Tours and Saumur), but at the same time it is in a peaceful, rural area. We will definitely be returning for another holiday next year.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The quality of everything provided in the gite.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2012
All we can say is Thank you! We are delighted that our guests seem to unanimously enjoy their stay with us. We look forward to meeting past clients again and welcoming many more....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Rebecca E
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful cottage in peaceful surroundings with fantastic facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

This cottage manages simultaneously to be in the middle of nowhere and at the heart of everything that the Loire Valley has to offer. There were just two of us, but you could easily go with four (two couples) and be very comfortable as it is extremely spacious.

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon, having flown into Nantes and collected our hire car. The journey took just under two hours through some gorgeous countryside. We were greeted by Lis and Mike (who had arrived in France permanently only two days earlier) and given a tour of the property.

The cottage is on the outskirts of a little village called Genneteil (about a ten minute walk to the centre of village). One of the things we noticed first was how wonderfully peaceful it was - it's totally silent and also extremely dark at night (great if you like star gazing!) which meant we slept extremely well. It is the middle property in a row of three (all in the same ownership), one of which is still under development.

The cottage retains plenty of original features whilst being modern and comfortable. There is a large living room/dining room, with two sofas, a large dining table and a huge TV (with all the UK freeview channels). On the bookshelf there are plenty of games, books, DVDs and information about the area, as well as a stereo with an iPod adaptor - no need to bring much entertainment with you.

The kitchen is huge and is better equipped than our kitchen at home - all of the facilities you could possibly imagine needing and quite a bit more too. We enjoyed trying out a slow cooker for the first time but didn't have time to bake any cup cakes! There is also a downstairs toilet (so if there are people sleeping on the sofa bed downstairs they have somewhere to go...!)

Up the lovely wooden staircase is a very large bedroom with a huge and comfortable bed. There is tons of storage space - a wardrobe and an expansive chest of drawers, plus bedside tables and a desk. There is also a cot, so good for travelling with a child. There is a big ensuite shower room with a large walk in shower. Everything is finished to a very high standard.

At the back of the cottage is a private garden with views across the fields to the village. Patio furniture is provided and a BBQ is available to borrow. We were rubbish at getting it lit but we got there in the end and had a delicious feast on our final night (fortunately the hottest day of our trip - we planned well!)

The only thing missing from the cottage that we would have appreciated is WiFi access, though we believe that this may be coming now that the owners are living there permanently (?)

Genneteil itself is very small but you're a 15 minute drive from three towns, all with supermarkets, restaurants and a good range of shops. You are also about an hour from each of Angers, Tours and Orleans, so it doesn't take too long to get to anywhere. There is plenty to do: we visited a chateau, looked round troglodyte dwellings and visited an excellent zoo in nearby La Fleche. Have a look through all of the leaflets provided for inspiration if you're not sure! We particularly liked the Pommes Tapee cave, but we probably have weird taste in tourist attractions...

Lis and Mike were extremely welcoming hosts. Despite having lots of unpacking to do they spent time telling us about their plans for the rest of the property and showing us around all of the different buildings on the plot. What's more, they gave Becca a bottle of wine for her birthday and helped us to celebrate our engagement with a bottle of bubbly,

All in all, an excellent holiday in a wonderful location.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The overall experience!
Liked least: Having no internet for a week (probably good for us)
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2012
We were pleased to be able to join these guests in celebrating their engagement and delighted that they decided that here would be a good place to make their commitment. We wish them all the very best for their future together and thank them for their comprehensive and positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
186220Rob
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Comfortable - peace at last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Stayed a week in early August booked at last minute. Agree with others; very comfortable, very well equipped and in a rural location. We enjoyed listening to the grass grow as there was hardly ever anthing other than natural sounds.

We spent our time out during the day visiting Chateaux and a little wine tasting. Samur is about 40 minutes away and Azal Le Rideau about the same. We enjoyed the local markets so it's worth doing a little research before you go to find out the best days to visit small towns and markets. The local market at Bauge is very nice. Also a mountain of helpful information is provided at the gite.

We found the drive from Channel Tunnel easy on French Motorways.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Very well equipped, comfortable.
Liked least: nothing - found as advertised
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2011
We don't like to assume, but, going by the comments in our hard copy guest book, these guests missed Wi-FI. Other than this their comments were entirely positive. We can only believe therefore that this is the reason why 'Quality of facilities/amenities' was only awarded 4/5.
We respect the suggestions of our clients but made the positive decision not to offer Internet connection - enabling people to 'get away from it all' without temptation! It does clearly state in our advert that there is no Internet facility offered in the gite.
Wi-Fi can be found in a number of public places in nearby towns or clients can provide their own dongles if access to electronic communication is essential to them. Also, as we live and work on site we do have Internet/Wifi access ourselves which could be used by our clients in cases of emergency.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
georgiepo...
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable modern cottage in tranquil location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Located in the middle of a corn field we enjoyed the peace & quiet.
This is not a typical French cottage as it has been given a modern make over with new fixtures & fittings. Very comfortable sitting area & an extremley well equipped kitchen.
We found it very convienient for nearby golf courses & supermarkets.
We enjoyed sitting out in the evening with a glass of local wine watching the wildlife.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2012
We are very pleased that these guests enjoyed their stay. One is a keen golfer and told us that the local facilities were so good he didn't bother with those further afield that we'd also told him about.
Thank you for the kind remarks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
HP1984
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a wonderful Honeymoon we have had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011 for a stay in July 2010

The finish of the Gite is 1st Class.. all very comfy. We will be returning. Very relaxing surroundings and lovely little restaurants in the local villages.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2012
Thank you and we welcome you back here anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$111
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Lis E
33 0241 892386
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Feb 2010
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 8 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing