We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellingham NE48 2JT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hotel with charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hotel views stunning,evening meals 5 star food at 3 star prices, breakfast, wonderful locally sourced food, wide selection for all, didn't eat again until 19.30 that night. I'm on crutches at the moment and when we arrived they gave us the disabled room, what a room it was massive and the bathroom stunning really helped me out. The staff are all local folk and cannot do enough to make your stay a good one, they are polite and friendly and always around to give advice. Stayed for 2 nights wish it could have been longer but had other plans, on our last night Lee on the bar gave me some great directions to our next destination(cheers Lee). On the whole a really enjoyable stay, worth every penny, will certainly recommend it to friends and strangers. Thank you riverdale hall. Marc & Shelley 23&24th may

Room Tip: River views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    147
    46
    15
    11
See reviews for
48
204
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed here recently for a special weekend with my wife the room was excellent, staff brilliant, food amazing. Might seem pricey compared to some hotels but worth every penny. Set in amazing, beautiful location Rooms well appointed with superior rooms having superb views over surrounding countryside. Ask for a room with a balcony brill to chill out. Restaurant, bar meals, wide choice and breakfast in with price excellent.

Room Tip: You MUST book a superior room with views over cricket pitch, with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here when visited Kielder Observatory. Our room overlooked the green lawn at the rear of the property, and was newly decorated. The swimming pool was warm, but the paint on the ceilings needed replacing and the sauna was just off luke warm.

We had a main course in the bar before heading up to the Observatory - sausages and mash. Unbelievably salty and nearly £10.00 - poor value for money.

Breakfast was the worst part. Only one woman was serving the whole room, so we had to wait for our order to be taken, it took ages for breakfast to arrive, three attempts to try and get a refill of coffee (and the refill was just hot water when it arrived!). When the breakfast arrived, it was a well-cooked Full English, even though the toast did not arrive until we'd finished.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the gardens at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of April on a Travelzoo offer, certainly was a great offer, food, staff, rooms, were excellent. We didn't get chance to try out the pool but it looked lovely, the only small criticism would be the bar/ reception area that is looking like it needs some TLC but everything was great, well done all !!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keighley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel has a very laid back atmosphere, the staff are friendly and unobtrusive until needed. The pool is adequate for a nice swim. The food is superb. The hotel is ideally situated for Keilder Park.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony overlooking fields and the river - ideal for a pre dinner drink in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

A hotel with a lovely setting the staff are very friendly and helpful the food was excellent, the room was very nice overall i would recommend this hotel if you love walking and exploring.The only down fall was the changing rooms for the pool small they need updating

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a deal from Travel Zoo. This included a meal, superior room and breakfast.
Hotel was lovely and small, in a quiet location. Room was lovely, looked out onto a little river and had a patio area. Only downside was that the room was not connected to the hotel.. So we got wet walking in between but that didn't put us off!
Meals were lovely, staff very friendly, no wifi in our room because of it where it was.
Very clean also.
Probably wouldn't stay here again because it's in the middle of no where and a long drive to get to but for the deal we got, can't complain

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Bellingham NE48 2JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hall Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.