We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bellingham NE48 2JT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Kendal,uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Last week my wife and I spent a couple of nights at this hotel in rural Northumbria. We had taken advantage of a special offer deal for bed and breakfast and were not disappointed. It was our third stay at the hotel in eighteen months but the previous 2 visits were with our professional organisation and we enjoyed the hotel, food etc so much on those visits that we decided to return by ourselves to sample the nearby local Trout fly fishing - this was excellent !!

The room was fine, breakfast choice was good and portions enormous. Bar prices were very reasonable indeed for a hotel and most pubs where we live charge more. The dinner menue changed both nights giving a very good choice including a lot of locally sourced produce and we could not fault presentation and quantity. Never tried the sweets as we were stuffed ! Good wine selection again at very sensible prices. This family run hotel seem to have got the right formula as the hotel was busy and like us it appeared that several guests were on return visits.

Certainly a great place from which to see Northumbria and we noticed that dodgs were made welcome.

We will return !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    147
    46
    15
    11
See reviews for
48
204
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Had our wedding here last year. Just returned for our first anniversary and like the wedding day everything is still fantastic the food the staff and our room overlooking the river No.25. Try the steak worth every penny.
Will be back again its a lovely place.
Thanks again to Nicole and staff.

Carl & Kathryn x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were staying in the area, and ate at the hotel as non-residents. It was a bit stuffy in the bar area, so we chose to eat on the terrace overlooking the river. The service was excellent: the barman was knowledgeable and friendly and the waitresses very efficient. The food was very good. My husband chose a chorizo burger which came with chips and salad and was very tasty and substantial. There was no veggie option on the menu, so I chose the garlic mushroom starter and ordered a side dish of new potatoes and veg, which suited me very well. The pudding menu was varied: we chose to share a raspberry pavlova which consisted of hand-made meringue with large juicy fruit and cream. The ladies toilets were clean but a bit shabby. The food was good value for money - change from £25 for 2 drinks, 2 mains and a pudding. I would also mention that the hotel allows non-resident diners to use the indoor pool for free! There is also free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had a 2-night 'bargain' stay which was very pleasant. Good location for visiting round and about, plus riverside walk from the grounds. Bedroom was large and comfortable, although the bathroom was very dated and in need of refurb. Everything was very clean. The staff were very amicable and helpful, and the food in the restaurant was top class. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the grounds which was fine, but there was no obscuration between the balconies of adjoining rooms which was off-putting for sun bathers. Would stay there again if in that area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had a bit of a hiccup with the room to start with (somebody else was allocated it and looked suprised when we opened the door!) and had a problem after the second night - but all credit to the owners they resolved it with good grace. Food in restaurant good value abt £17 for 2 courses and great food - my partner loved his thai steak then roast pork I had a really nice mackerel fillet. Breakfasts really good.
Be warned and this nothing to do with the hotel - (its the climate in the whole area) there are some evil little midges around at this time of year Take repellant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate Co.Durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Not a classy top notch place but clean, comfortable, with friendly staff and nice location.
Veranda outside bedroom ,sat overlooking river and fells, (with bottle of Shiraz) .
Opted for a bar meal on the night we stayed as wife not a big eater, beer battered fish and chips, with tartare sauce and peas excellent, cooked to perfection. ( Someone in earlier comment said it was frozen stuff).
Bellingham was quiet ,nice river walk, but hotel lovely chill out place.
Would use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were lucky with the weather for our two night stay. The hotel is beautifully located and we enjoyed the walk along the riverside to Bellingham each day. We stayed on an Internet deal in Room 29. These rooms have a really pleasant outlook across grassland to the river and are modern and well fitted. It occurred to us that it would have been good to have been able to open a window during the night, opening the patio doors seemed not ideal. The meals that we enjoyed were excellent- loved the champagne sorbet- and the service was efficient and cheerful. We will hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Bellingham NE48 2JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hall Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.