We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbeywood Gardens

Abbeywood Gardens
Chester Road, Delamere CW8 2HW, England
01606 889477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 things to do in Delamere
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Rowlinson family have lived at Abbeywood since 1987, during which time they have made many improvements and additions to the gardens. The year starts in February with many varieties of Galanthus in Jane's Garden, followed by other Spring favourites, Erythroniums and Trilliums, to name but a few of her rare plants. The Main Garden is divided into separate areas. The formal layout gives way to naturalistic planting within. Early May starts with Tulips followed by Alliums and Camassia. Seasonal interest continues until around mid September - weather depending. The Christopher Lloyd inspired Exotic Garden, designed around the remnants of the old vegetable garden, is filled with Dahlias, Cannas, Banana and other tender perennials. These continue until the first frosts. The Young Arboretum is planted with rare evergreen and deciduous trees for year round interest. A 2km, wildlife walk incorporates the existing and new woodland on the 45 acre grounds.
Sale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Yes it is expensive, yes the food can take some time to arrive but the cakes are too die for, the staff attentive, the coffee excellent and overall a lovely venue. Best in good weather and then you can combine with a garden visit. Save for special occasions because of the price!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    3
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tarporley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Nice enough but far too expensive. Places like this are a bit of a rip-off. Ideal for people with too much time on their hands.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the best meal we have ever had in a tea room.
Excellent home cooked food served by very pleasant staff.
We will return when it is warmer to look around the gardens.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Such a stunning little find, the lady who has established this business (Lauren, I think) has worked hard to create a beautiful place with a super atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terribly rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Abbeywood is somewhere we had been intending to visit for several years, as it has a great reputation - friends have told us how lovely their children's Easter Egg hunt is, others had said how lovely it was. And so it is, though February is not generally a great time to visit gardens, they have made a big effort with lots of snowdrops. The children's play equipment is an unusually good mixture suitable for a wide range of ages. So silly us for not realising that actually children are very much Not Welcome. We were frozen so came into the cafe, had cakes and drinks, then my friend and I continued to sit at our table by the window so we could watch the children running about outside. We thought this was a good idea as people were trying to have coffee and chat and they would have been very noisy kept inside! The waitress came and told us the BY LAW we had to supervise our children - we explained that we were watching them very carefully and all seemed fine. The next thing we knew, the proprietor came and told us in no uncertain terms that this was not good enough and, basically, that we were not welcome. He was extremely rude and unpleasant and walked off mid-sentence after telling us off. We will not be returning and I hope that nobody with small children will consider visiting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbeywood Gardens also viewed

 
Frodsham, Cheshire
Bunbury, Cheshire
 

Been to Abbeywood Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbeywood Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.