We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor reception” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Live and Let Live

Live and Let Live
Clyde Road, Frampton Cotterell BS36 2EF, England
01454 772254
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor reception”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

On getting a table pouncer deal we made our way to the pub we had never been to before the live and let live on arrival we were abruptly told they don't do deals on a bank holiday this was very disappointing it was not out fault but a problem between table pouncer and the pub
It left us very embarrassed and hungry , the member of staff was not very accommodating so we left

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    10
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great sharing platter, great value, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Went today for a Groupon offer of a Sharing Platter of cold meats, cheeses, olives, breads etc.
Very simple booking process and a very warm welcome on arrival. Had a reserved table in the restaurant area and service was very quick.
The Sharing Platter was extremely varied: seasoned chips, samosas, chicken croquettes, vegetable crquettes, warmed breads, large sausage rolls, scotch eggs, chicken legs, salami, chorizo, ham, cheese, serrano ham, salad, various olives, red onion, tomato churney mayonaisse etc. It was beautifully prepared and presented. We were expecting a light lunch, but could hardly walk afterwards!!
All this and 2 glasses of cider cost just £15!!
I would recommend, the "Live and Let Live" unreservedly! We will defintely be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Menu not quite accurate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Called in at lunch time recently, checked the jacket potatoes/sandwiches on the menu and chose a sandwich that came with a salad and crisps, what actually came was a filled ciabatta roll with a small garnish, to me a sandwich is 2 slices of bread, I think a roll/baguette needs to be another option on the menu and a salad needs to be more than a couple of small lettuce leaves. I then asked for a coffee to be told that the machine had broken down and they hadn't got any instant coffee so no coffee. Think I'll stick to going to the garden centre for lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South glos
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Staff could be more aware of new customers rather than the regular customers .lgreat selection of cider

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I had a LivingSocial voucher for an Indian Thali meal, and booked for a Monday evening (12th May).

We'd never been to the Live and Let Live before, so didnt know what to expect.

Upon arriving, it seemed to be more of a locals pub than an eaterie, but it was only 6pm, so perhaps early.
My first impression was influenced by the fact that all the real ales were off (sold out over the weekend I presume?) although the Spanish barmaid did apologise, and offered a bottled ale instead.

After a drink in the lounge/bar area, we went through to the restaurant side of the building, and the Spanish barmaid was very attentive, and said we could order now, or take more time.

The Indian food was very tasty, with a nice wee kick, not too spicy, and came in good sized portions.

The resaurant became quite busy as the evening progressed, and this improved the atmosphere of the room.

Were it not for the initial lack of real ales, I would have rated the venue 5 stars, but the food was very good, authentic, and the Spanish barmaid/waitress was excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Live and Let Live also viewed

Frampton Cotterell, Gloucestershire
Frampton Cotterell, Gloucestershire
 
Frampton Cotterell, Gloucestershire
Nibley, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Live and Let Live? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Live and Let Live, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.