We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A class act” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kissonerga, Paphos 8574, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kissonerga
Yorkshire England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A class act”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This is a Thomson Gold hotel, and thoroughly deserves the excellent reviews already on this site. The management have clearly got their act together.
We asked for a quiet room and were allocated one with a side sea view, where you could not hear the evening entertainment at all. Corridors to rooms are carpeted, which greatly reduces sounds from other guests leaving or returning to their rooms. Rooms have been refurbished, and we could not find a single thing wrong with ours. Our bed appeared to be new, with comfortable memory foam mattresses.
Staff were the friendliest and most efficient we have come across in many years of European travel.
Food was excellent, with local dishes available every evening as well as the normal international cuisine. Wine waiters did not seem as rushed as in many hotels we have stayed at - they had time for pleasantries or a joke!
As for location, the hotel is beautifully situated in terms of being right by the sea - you can walk straight from the grounds to the small beach. But it is 5 miles out of Paphos and there is not much to walk to in the immediate area. However, there are regular buses into Paphos or Coral Bay for only 1 Euro regardless of how far you travel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    253
    97
    34
    9
See reviews for
78
939
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed for a week at this hotel and were very impressed with whole week. The hotel is a Thomson Gold and meets all the criteria and standards they set.The staff are very friendly and helpful and seemed to look forward to helping you enjoy your stay.
The entertainment was varied and mixed but we were very impressed by a singer called Nick Felgate who has talent in abundance and really put on a great show and look forward to seeing him again.
If you are considering this hotel for a stay we say go for it you wont regret it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

brilliant hotel and fantastic staff..can,t fault them in any way. food also excellent, something for everyone whether in the hotel restaurant or taverna, where you can get snacks such as toasted sandwiches, beefburgers etc.. the down side to this hotel firstly is its location, if you like to get out and have a walk DON,Tgo here! its by the side of a road that the traffic travel along at manic speeds. and they,re no real paths along side, so you take your life in your hands every time you walk it! And there is literally no where to walk to!!! so if your happy to sunbathe all the time or pay lots of money for trips out you,ll like it here. the evening entertainment was diabolical, resident group(break in the middle) are boring boring boring ...the professional shows are very out of date, corny, tacky and in desperate need of being bought into this century!! we are in our forties and were honeymooning , if you want poolside sun beds be prepared to be up at six in the morning and sit on them till 8am otherwise you,ve got no chance!!!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Just returned from 2 week holiday at this hotel.
The hotel is lovely, service excellent. Food was high standard and plently of choice.
All staff were very friendly. Becky, Shelly and Chris Thompson rep/entertainment team do a great job. George resturant manager was good fun.
"Lomax Brothers" a UK act were extremely professional and very entertaining,
We has a premier room which was a large room with a sea view and a jaczzui in the bath!

On a slightly negitivenot: there is a charge for a safety depoisit box (35 euro) which I think should be included in the room especailly in a premier room.
The entertainment could have been better, the resident duo were very repetitive.

However if you want a relaxing hoilday (without children) in a great hotel then this is the place for you . We would return to this hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Just got back after 2 really relaxing weeks at Atlantica Golden Beach,a really welcoming hotel. We upgraded to a superior room & also took advantage of the All Inclusive package which we were offered on arrival - excellent value @ 19.90 euro. The rooms are well furnished & very comfortable - lovely comfy bed. This hotel is spotlessly clean.
Breakfast & Dinner are served in the restaurant with friendly efficient staff, the food is plentiful, tasty, hot & well presented .Lunch was served in the open taverna, bit hot there some days, the poor waiters were melting but still very willing & helpful.. No complaints whatsoever.
The Cocktail Bar in the evenings is popular with good variety of drinks,
Plenty of sunbeds to relax on in the day - the waitresess always around fetching your drinks. A lovely touch also was the ice cold towels & melon brought round mid afternoon. Another nice touch is the send off from the staff on departure & a bottle of water for your journey to the airport. So all in all a lovely relaxing fortnight - already planning another visit next April.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kings lynn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

After returning from a weeks stay at the Atlantica golden beach hotel we were pleasently suprised. After reading the reviews we were expecting a great holiday but we got even more out of it than we had thought. We had champagne upon arrival at the hotel which was a very good start.

The staff were always really helpful and always seemed to put 100% into our holiday, making it a enjoyable, stress free 7 days. The Thomson gold team are fantastic and we would like to take this time to thank Becky, Shelley and Chris for a brillient time and giving us all the information needed for our stay with them.

The entertainment was first class and we thoroughly enjoyed sitting in the audience to admire the best holiday entertainement we have had. There is something for everyone and it really is very good.

We cannot forget resident duo Julia and Gary, the fabulous "break in the middle" who always came out with a smile, a daily domestic or 2 and top quality entertainment. Thank you very much.

The food is brilliant and there really is something that everybody would enjoy. We certainly never struggled to find something we would like. Sometimes we had to give it all a go, just to see if it was o.k.

The hotel tries to make your stay as comfortable as possible, along with the reps. You will thourghly enjoy yourselves if you want some lovely (hot) weather, time to relax and top holiday entertainment.

Emma & Steve

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Before setting off my partner and i did the natural thing of googling reviews of Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel and noticed with some reservations that most seemed to indicate that the hotel is not suitable for young couples for reasons of location and atmosphere and so forth... well luckily i knew exactly what i wanted out of my holiday and went ahead and ignored these because we ended up having the most amazing holiday at this hotel despite being in our early twenties!!

The rooms are absolutely lovely and met our expectations in every way from general everyday cleaning and maintenance to the sweet gestures of romantic poems and towels folded as swans to make our trip perfect.

The staff are all so friendly and welcoming, willing to help on absolutely and whacky demand you have (big thanks!) even making special events like my partners birthday even more special!

Having just gotten over recovering from an illness before setting off on holidays our first few days were very quiet which was pretty much perfect for me. Looking back it's a shame i missed out on so many of the games and events organised by the two lovely reps Becky and Shelley as the last couple of days that i was able to enjoy these activities we had a great laugh... even if Becky's competitive side did have me suffering from nightmares later! :-P The great thing is that either way your not pushed into taking part in the fun and games if thats not the sort of thing your into but you welcomed with big smiles and great attitudes when you do.

The food couldnt be faulted in the slightest for the whole ten days we were there. There is absolutely an option to sort everyone (although it has to be said that the running out of the mint ice-cream on the last few days of our stay did ruin my partners holiday completely... sort it out guys!!)
With the all inclusive option that we went for it was impossible to complain, food was such a high standard and plentiful i dont think i have ever eaten so much... and still gone back for more!

But it was the evenings entertainment that really made my holiday... again Becky and Shelly did some fantastic hosting skills keeping the atmosphere light and fun and of course the many 'main' talents that crossed our stage from evening to evening including comedians, singers, magicians, muscians the list is endless - were all amazing bar maybe one... not mentioning any names of course... (cough, Elton, cough)!
Not forgetting the unforgettable Julia and Gary aka Break in the Middle - resident duo of vocals and saxaphone/scream.... oops i meant keyboard. With the mixture of genres to keep everyone happy and their bubbly, down to earth personalities constantly getting the audience involved in a dance, a singalong or just a good banter and joke (although it has to be said Gary some jokes really are absolutely terrible!) -it'd be impossible for anyone not to have enjoyed themselves and had a good laugh by the time they head off to bed... our nights just havent been the same without them... waiting for the album to come out guys!!

Also the spa within the hotel despite being very small a little basic, served us well with one of the best massages i've ever experienced from the lovely Dina... really good value for money there!
The only downside for us was probably the location for us which although was lovely and qu5et/relaxing came at the cost of having little to no ammenities close by... although the little private beach was very enjoyable it can get very crowded on particularly hot days - i do advise if you wish to do alot of excursions you book them before heading out as it works out a lot cheaper!!

So all in all an absolutely fantastic holiday but it really is one you have to experience for yourselves so grab a friend/partner or even the randomer your met the day before and head off into the sunshine to enjoy! Despite the fact my partner still jokes about not returning for another thirty years when we'll better fit in i'm already planing next years trip with Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel

Address: Kissonerga, Paphos 8574, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos > Kissonerga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kissonerga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Golden Beach Paphos
Hotel Atlantica Golden Beach
Atlantica Golden Beach Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.