We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kissonerga, Paphos 8574, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kissonerga
Bournemouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Also disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and would like to echo some other comments found below. Although, we would like to put a caveat that we were probably not in the best frame of mind for this holiday given we had a trip to the shopital on our second night- The rep and hospital were brilliant so couldn't fault their service.
We specifically booked here as a result of staying at the Atlantica Imperial in Rhodes a couple of years ago - many people recommended this sister hotel and cyprus as a resort- We were thoroughly disappointed with cyprus in comparison to Rhodes as well as the hotel.
Negative:
Food - Rarely hot, at best luke warm even when eating early
Dinner- we had our drinks taken away from our table when we went to get the next course because they thought we had left! had to ask for another drink
ALa Carte- not exceptional - "hor d'overs" were hard pastry filled with humous, hardly imnspiring..... duck was nuked - far too well done - when we asked for the drinks bill before we'd had pudding their was consternation among the staff!
Lunch - We had the most extorinate wait! There were deifnately enough staff but SO unorganised - We had to wait first to even get a menu and order, and then nearly an hour waiting for a jacket potato and a club sandwich! We have no idea why as the majority of guests were full board so had buffett lunch - it wasn't like to kitchens were flooded with individiual orders! plus the waiters just seemed more attentive for the all inclusive guests-to me that, that was short sited-they would increase there £ by serving those on half board better! after that we did not eat at the hotel for lunch - there was a nice restaurant just on the cove called Vardas- which was cheap, quick and decent food.
Waiters -no happy medium, they were either disinterested and rude, no smiles and obviously saw us guests as being in the way. OR they were over friendly making poor jokes and trying to engage in conversation when it;s obvious you wanted to be left alone. There were obviously alot of guests there who love this approach, but unfortunately not for us. Also, would always seem to interrupt your eating to get you to sign the drinks bill- very annoying, why could they not wait til you had finished?
Sun terraces- slopping - minor announce and there were some flat bits if you got there early enough (and found a sun bed that wasn't broken)
Evening entertainment - the design of the hotel means any rooms with a sea view (or partial sea view) face onto the pool- The entertainment was inside currently as not warm enough in the evenings but we could still here this going until midnight- in the summer this must be unbearable if you do not want to partake and have to listen to it all evening- not very restful when I was ill!
Internet wasn't working for a couple of days-no-one was able to tell us when it would be fixed, plus PayTV service was not very intuitive - we tried to order a film one night and just got porn- might be ok for some people but it wasn't what we ordered!
Gym- good facility to have but my husband wanted to use the runner- it was stuck on an incline! so more of a workout than he was anticipating!
Beds- in the whole comfortable, BUT rubber backed sheets so VERY hot- would be awful in the summer
Maintenance- we were woken at 6.30am by the lawnmower one morning!!!!
Bathroom and room poorly lit - anothr minor thing- but hard to do makeup!
On the positive side - shower was good, fridge in room we did not get charged for but think that was an oversite - Rep fantastic (leanne) when we had to go to hospital and fantastic oranges at breakfasT!
So in summary we won't be going back!
Shower was good

  • Liked — the shampoo!
  • Disliked — See review!!!!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    261
    99
    34
    9
See reviews for
83
986
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel with my husband. After reading so many fantasic reviews on this hotel I was really looking forward to staying there.

However, I have to say that I think that some of the reviews are a bit OTT for what was actually offered at this hotel.

We booked HB basis superior room with seaview. On arrival at our allocated room, we couldn't quite believe it when we went out to the balcony to find that we looked directly into our neighbours - with little to no privacy. On discussing the matter with reception, we were moved to a room which was considerably larger, with the level of privacy on the balcony which I would have expected. Another point to note, as a previous reviwer mentioned was the size of the bathroom - not suited for more than one person being in it at a time. In addition it was very poorly lit. On the plus side the shower had a powerful flow of water which was great.

I booked the Atlantica Golden Beach for a romantic break for my husband and I, who are in our early 30's. To be honest if that is the type of break you are taking I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

We were particularly disappointed with the evening buffet in the retaurant. I was really looking forward to trying out some Cypriot inspired food, but what was actually on offer was more in the way of British fayre. The selection of vegetables was poor, and the only potato option was chips, saute potatoes and mashed potatoes (but not all on the same night). If like us you prefer to eat after 8pm, your selection becomes even more limited. As a result we ate out 4 out of our 7 nights, and thouroughly enjoyed several restaurants in Paphos.

The breakfast buffet was ok - there was plenty choice. The only let - down for me was the fact that some of the previous nights food made a reappearance, and I'm not too sure why, for example peas and carrots for breakfast?!

Although the hotel is slightly off the beaten track, we found the bus service to be excellent, going to either Coral Bay or Paphos. The hotel is considerably older than I was hoping, and the level of refurbishment in some areas is questionnable, with the main guests being 60+ from what we seen.

We were really dissappointed when we went into Paphos on the bus and passed several hotels to which looked of a much higher standard.

However, the staff in the hotel, and in the rest of Cyprus are very friendly, and nothing is a problem. We will definately return to Paphos, but not to the Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel.

  • Liked — Views from the balcony
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 1 week and we had a really good time. Lovely hotel and a great relaxing holiday.

ROOM: The room was nice and well decorated and also kept very clean. No complaints whatsoever.

FOOD/DRINK: The food was really nice and we never got tired of it, there was a lot of variety to choose from and I can’t imagine fussy eaters being fussy here. We were all inclusive too and you didn’t even have to get up from your sun bed to get a drink during the day, a waiter would take your order and bring it to you. Great!

ENTERTAINMENT: The entertainment was excellent, the Thomson reps did a really good job during the day, playing games etc and at night we especially enjoyed the comedians and because the hotel doesn’t accept under 16’s, you were spared the usual awful kiddies entertainment and the entertainment could take on a more adult theme.

POOL: The pool was lovely, as was the grounds. It was kept VERY clean.

STAFF: Staff were great and the waiters were very attentive in the evenings. In the past I’ve found some hotels encourage their staff not to be too attentive (to save money on the all inclusive drinks) but not here. Your drink never got to the end before being asked if you wanted another.

LOCATION: It’s in a quiet location, there is a supermarket a couple of minutes walk away and there’s a bus stop outside the hotel to take you to Paphos or Coral Bay.

TWO COMPLAINTS: (1) We had a late flight coming home and decided to take up the hotels offer on a free room for 30 minutes to “freshen up”. We went to reception 2 and a half hours before our coach was due and they said all the rooms were being used. One and a half hours later we were still being told the same thing and it was not until we asked to see the Manager that a room magically became available! I think that is the one thing they need to improve on. If you want to tkae this offer up, let your voice heard!!!!! (2) On more than one occasion, when at the bar during the day to get drinks, the bar staff have told me -not asked- that they were going to put someone else’s drinks on my bill so they didn’t have to pay (the guests were half board). I found this EXTREMELY rude and said there was no way and made them take it off my bill so the guests had to pay. If a hotel guest had come up to me and asked themselves in a polite manner I probably would have said yes as a one off, but getting the bar staff to –tell me- that I was having their drinks on my bill was out of order.

MINOR GRIPE: Journey to/from airport seemed quite lengthy.

LASTLY: It definitely deserves its Gold award from Thomson. Great hotel, I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Food, pool, entertainment...
  • Disliked — Location not brilliant...
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

Just returned from one of the best holidays ever. The hotel looks dated and drab from the exterior but the facilities and layout are quite the opposite. The pool and exterior areas are clean and inviting and the sunbed areas are great for catching the beautiful weather that we encountered. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food was out of this world. Definitely not for anyone on a diet. We booked the all-inclusive option which was a bargain as the amount of food and drinks available was out of this world. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help. I would definitely return to this hotel in the near future

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2007

We stayed at the Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel for one week from 31st March 2007 with family.
It is one of the best Thomson Gold Hotels we have been to, and we have been to many.
I can only repeat what has already been written about this Hotel.
- The staff are very friendly, from the maid service to the restaurant staff.
- The rooms are very clean and comfortable.
- The food, well, as some have already said - you will probably go home a few pounds heavier than when you left. It is wonderful! Plenty to choose from both for breakfast and dinner. You are greeted for your evening meal and taken to a table. It's all very well organized
- We didnt get to go in the swimming pool as it was a tad too cold. But it did look inviting. As usual though, the early morning towel brigade were out, sometimes by 7am!!! I dont know why as there were plenty of sunbeds to go round, with parasols.
- The entertainment was the usual Thomson Gold entertainment.
They all worked extremely hard. The duo were really good. (They seem to have got better over the years) I cant remember the name of the duo but the lady of the duo played the Saxophone brilliantly.
Its easy to get out and about by local bus. There is a nice taverna/sports bar a across the road for a nice fresh orange juice and a bite to eat a lunch time. Very friendly.
If you are thinking of going to the Atlantica Golden Beach I wouldnt hesitate in saying 'go and enjoy'

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

Booked a superior room (March 24 - 31) and paid extra for all inclusive on recommendation of at trip advisor posters. The hotel is far out of town, you need a car or take the (crowded) buses.

Check in receptionist polite & friendly - handed envelope with ‘A/I’ instructions and wristbands - another receptionist was forcing people
to put bands on at the desk even though they didn’t want to wear them
24/7 (Makes you a target for all the timeshare/holiday club touts in Paphos - and there seemed to be more of them than tourists!)

Room 444. Ocean facing, not very large but looked like the brochure picture.

King bed very hard (woke up with stiff back.) Duvet/pillows fine but under-sheet was towelling backed with plastic, made us overheated. Room originally made up with one double duvet -not big enough for two. We swapped it for two singles. TV, music player, kettle with tea & coffee, replenished daily, patio furniture better than other rooms - with cushions! We paid extra in resort for use of fridge and safe (should’ve been included, IMO.) Bathroom tiny but water pressure
of shower was excellent. Condition of room slightly worn. Veneers on doors peeling, sink unit damaged.

Room security not great. No ‘peep hole’ and no door chain. The door had a gap at the bottom which let the corridor light in at night.

Dining room too small - brochure shows tables laid up outside but it was too cold. Some tables set at angles which was nicer (more private) others lined up less than a foot apart.

Breakfast (7-10am) Cold - cereal, fruit, yoghurt, cold meats, cheese,
croissants, pastries, bread. Boiled eggs, toast machine. Hot - eggs, bacon, sausage, etc in hot trays under warming lamps. We ate after 9am - by then the fried eggs were curling up at the edges. Not very appetising. Omelette or crepes made to order. Juices. Good selection of teas, coffees, chocolate. Waiters did not make much effort to lay up tables toward the end of breakfast - often had to fetch our own cutlery, napkins etc.

Dinner. (6-9pm) Disappointed -we would have liked to see more local dishes - there were a few dishes like hummous, taramasalata, local halloumi cheese. There was a Cypriot themed night (with an excellent selection of baklava-type pastries - so good I had seconds!)

Mostly English dishes - roasts, chops, chicken, etc. Roasts were carved for you. Other food was in the warming trays and set out at 6pm. If you’re not used to eating this early be prepared for food to be a little dried out. Veggies were uninspiring - carrots, broccoli, sprouts, chips. Sometimes roast potatoes or rice or couscous..Some nights a friendly English chef would prepare a fresh pasta dish while
you waited and these were good. Desserts were usually good, with cakes, ice cream and cheese.

We didn’t eat lunch in the hotel but opted for the picnic. At first it was good but way too much food (4 packs sandwiches for 2 people!).
Lunch was packed in a cool box but had no ice packs - it didn’t stay cool on the warmer days so it wouldn’t really work in Summer. (Box wasn’t clean either.) It included sandwiches, salad, fruit, cake, crisps, juice, water and a flask or water for tea or coffee. As the week went on the quality declined - sandwiches made with stale bread and less fillings. We ended up having to pay for a couple of lunches as we found the sandwiches inedible.

A/I drinks - I didn’t think were worth the money. The house wine was not good, we ended up paying for better. This was disappointing as Cyprus wines were very good - visited several wineries and were impressed. The bar was tiny and full of smoke. Drinks served in lobby
but often not enough room for all. Outside terraces were not warm enough, there were no lights or patio heaters. There was no separate smoke free drinking area, only a small section of the lobby (but the smoke drifted all over!). The drinks menu was divided into local (free to all inclusive - you had to be wearing your wristband) and branded. A couple of nights we couldn’t get a drink as there were no seats free.

Some receptionists better than others, one served male guests first no matter who was next. Another grumbled that we ordered our picnic too late - she was wrong, not us! Staff generally friendly, though.

Every night around 10 to midnight some machinery above our room started up (maybe a fan?) and you could feel a slight vibration down the wall and the bed.

Didn’t use the pool or sun beds. All the best ones were reserved before we got up! We sat outside one afternoon - not too relaxing. The Thomson rep was doing a quiz and using a microphone. We were on the upstairs terrace but still had to listen.

We wished we had booked a hotel that offered B&B so we could eat locally. This hotel could have been in Greece or Spain or anywhere, a
typical package tour hotel. We hired a car and got out every day to see the island, the weather was great and we enjoyed ourselves, but we would look for somewhere with more of a local flavour next time.

  • Liked — Opening the curtains every morning and looking straight out at the sea, no small children
  • Disliked — Uninspiring food, nothing much in local area, room could have been better
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruges
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

- an excellent hotel for adults, ideal for a quiet and peaceful holiday
- the food is superb, seems to be out of this world. The chef has won several (international) prices, a lot of variety, everything is prepared with fresh ingredients, nothing is too much for them e.g. they make you a pasta while you wait for it.
- all-inclusive is well-worth its money. I've been constantly asked if I wanted a drink. Great cocktails as well.
- personal touch: e.g. a reception with the staff, they come to say goodbye when you leave, they made us dinner when we arrived at 1 am. In short: you're not a number and they know your name
- large outside (unheated) pool and a mini inside pool as well
- sunbathing at the pool, at one of the numerous teraces or at the private beach
- room is rather basic but offers everything and is spotlessly clean. Isolation could have been better.
- superior room is worth the extra: splendid views of the sea
- reliable bus service just in front of the hotel. 10 minutes to Paphos, bus every 15 minutes
- animation provided by Thomson (but we weren(t interested in this, so not much to say about this, although it seemed basic)

Just go and relax! You'll be pampered and be full of energy when coming home!

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel

Address: Kissonerga, Paphos 8574, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos > Kissonerga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kissonerga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Golden Beach Paphos
Hotel Atlantica Golden Beach
Atlantica Golden Beach Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.