We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel has had its day” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kissonerga, Paphos 8574, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kissonerga
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel has had its day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Well what can we say
Stayed here in 2012 - up graded to supiour room - great loved the holiday and booked again
Booked 2013 - As the saying goes dont look back -
Stayed in main hotel this time room 210
First night the music went on untill 2400hr - so we thought Ok - may-be party
No we were wrong every night the music BLASTED out, we shut the double glased doors to our room to no effect, we put the TV on, then the Air conditioning - only then could we not hear the - Music Room
The Hotel has fitted speakers outside the 'Music' room that we can only say are set on LOUD
i asked about this and it is for smokers to sit out side (so ok idont smoke and want to sleep)
These are also on during the day, we chatted to a number of other guests that had the same problem - sorry speak up
We tried to sit around the pool (as we did the year previous) but there was no shade, so we went to reception and asked for more shade, The answear
There is shade if you sit under one of those high-high Bar seats (ment for 15 year olds)
We are Retired - Answer i dont think we can do that
Result -- No Shade - but plenty of Noise
If this had been our first visit - we would no way ever gone back

Room Tip: If you want a quite holiday with sea views - do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    255
    97
    34
    9
See reviews for
78
941
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

What a fantastic hotel, the organisation, staff and catering are top draw. From the moment we arrived at reception we were well looked after and treated as important people. The bedroom was lovey with a fantastic sea view. The food was excellent with loads of choice, the staff were lovely and helped make our stay memorable.

The entertainment was not up to the same standard as the rest of the hotel but was entertaining all the same. We were on an all inclusive deal and basically wanted for nothing.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Being between the main town Paphos and Coral bay it a little out on its own, that said the bus service is great and cheap so getting around is not a problem.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room with a sea view, we weren't disappointed, it was quiet being a separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

well this was a return to this great hotel,met people from last year so had good chats my the pool.The staff were excellent as always on arrival Nicoletta bar waitress remembered us from last visit and welcomed us back.Had prechecked in online so cut out waiting and more or less right to room.The room 217 had side view of the sea which was good, other rooms have sun all afternoon and very hot. We did not go on any trips just chilled round hotel and enjoyed ourselves in peace and quiet.Night entertianment not as good as last year with only 2 acts in a week and 1 on twice with same songs, but Thomson reps did well.Would highly recomend this hotel will return again soon.

Room Tip: rooms south side quieter and cooler in afternoon example 217
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a great base adult only hotel: buses run outside every 15 mins through the day to Coral Bay and the Harbour. The food is very good, the hotel staff are excellent and come with a very appreciated sense of humour. There is a shop that can get you that day's newspapers early. It has an indoor pool, outdoor pool and a gym, hairdressers, and beauty parlour. We had the most enornmous bed. Air con a bit loud. English news tv and Only fools and horses.

Overall: treated very well. Choice to just relax or go on lots of trips to cultural sites. Oh and you can get a full english breakfast

Room Tip: Room ask for a double - huge bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Lovely hotel with excellent service. Very clean and smart. Would recommend you go all inclusive, we went half board and had to upgrade as Cyprus can be quite pricey. My only gripe is that if you are half board you do not get tea and coffee facilities in the room unless of course you pay extra. Staff were exceptionally good and very helpful, with the famous nicoletta who was as everyone says great and very very friendly making you feel very special. Well done Nicoletta. Overall would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Cyprus 20th April 2013 - airport much improved so only 40 mins onto the transfer bus, but disappointed as a 'Thomson Gold' it took about another 50+ mins with 4 drops in between to do about 12 miles, so arriving at about 11pm. Atlantica reception made up for this with a drink and positive 'briefing' to all 5 couples near the front desk, followed by a choice of cold food and hot drinks in the restaurant, kept open specially just for 'late' arrivals. By the way, when lots arrive briefings upstairs so avoiding breaking the peace in the lounge. We did a lot of research before booking here; the websites of Atlantica, Thomson and Trip Adv all proving to be pretty accurate on everything claimed/described.

We were impressed by our room, the 'half sea view' to the side suited us, (only a very small number of rooms overlook the 'main road only'). Room quality was sturdy fitted furniture and cleanliness was first rate, beds comfortable if slightly firm. If you like TV, it's 22-26", not 'full' satellite, but certainly a wide range of English stuff (Sport, World News and patches of BBC1 news hour, Gold, TCM films etc). Bathroom cleaned well, and sheets changed every 2-3 days. They even seemed to want to come in some evenings just to turn the beds down!

The temperature suddenly when high twenties from about 22nd April, so the bedroom Air Con came on - and the open air restaurant started to use its terrace - common sense prevailed. ALL staff work hard to please, many fluent English with smiles, but even the quieter or younger ones were fine - a credit to them all. Good spans of time for food availability virtually all day, but they do prefer to meet and greet you for the evening meal and seat you and take your drink order rather than you just sitting down unnoticed. Consider All-Inc when you buy the holiday - their counter shows it as a 25 to 40 euro per day upgrade when you get there (according to the meals and/or drinks extra to your booking). Other than that it's buffet for the food, and here's were some people will be disappointed. We found daily changes and a good choice of meat, poultry, carvery, fish or vegetarian/pastas etc over the 11 days, but some would say it's possible to get bored, certainly the veg choice and salad courses were limited in range but not in quantity. It's biased to the English taste, only limited authentic local dishes (That said, finance is tight in Cyprus/Greece, in years gone by far too much was wasted in extravagant 'food shows').

This is where I have a minor niggle having booked A/I and wearing the wristband all the time, we were still asked for our room numbers for every drink, and often had to sign their chit. That said we weren't asked for a penny when we left, having had many bottles of house wine or large cocktails with most evening meals, countless soft drinks at the pool and beers and so on at lunchtimes (and bubbly for brekkers if you wish). Do be careful if not sure, and please ask, but only the most expensive branded imported is chargeable, or if you take it as room service. There was no attempt to catch us, so if it's purely an internal admin check why you have to sign I do not know?

Now in our 60s this was our first 'adults only hotel', but it was sometimes a bit weird. At one time it was so quiet I really thought four or five of the residents were going to sit round the piano and start singing some opera; or worse yet read someone's will! Fortunately a new intake brought in a little more life, but always 50% + are UK 50yrs plus, with only about 10% under 30s. Overall the potential for adverse eastern Europeans was avoided, those few that were there, middle-aged Russians in the main, and a few German's were absolutely fine.

The grounds are always clean and just about spacious enough with some flights of steps or ramps, Access to the 'Med' is via a path but then only a course-grit area the size of a tennis court, albeit with another grassed sunbed/shaded area near that. Some of the grounds get patrolled by waiters taking your drinks orders, but if not the pool bar is handy. There's some outdoor music, never too loud, nor is it on all day. The cheerful Thomson girls offer you a range of activities on the hour from about 11am but not in your face. We're not ones for evening sessions, but it looked as if the cabaret room bar/stage was good and advertised a range of singing or comedian or 'trivia' evenings. Elsewhere, the evening small bar or lounge patrol is great, Nicoleta is so cheerful and fetches drinks for everyone. (Which makes up for the pretty dismal background taped music there - although there's a bit of low key live music sometimes)

Overall, throughout the site, the place is well set up and managed and there is a clear attention to your enjoyment, wellbeing, cleanliness and safety

Out and about - There's only limited shops or tavernas in walking distance; town is 6 miles away but the 615 bus is clean and modern and marked up in English (harbour or Coral Bay), and stops outside the hotel (on both sides of the road) about every 20-30 mins until well late at night - on well-lit safe route for a Euro per trip, or E3 unlimited 'Paphos' use per day. The hotel gives their bikes free, once per visit (but not sure how much it is after the free-be)

Thomson rep quoted E90 for a three day car hire through their source, or if ordered on the website before you go it was from £160 a week (min) and that was from the airport only. Walk just over the road from the hotel, Kyriacos well understands English and cash or credit cards! Do not be put off by his small portacabin or fleet of 2 - 3 year old cars - Being ex-fire and rescue service, I am always super critical of hire vehicles' safety condition and insurance. All of his are tidy and properly tyred, our super quiet Mazda did 350 miles with perfect brakes, about 45 mpg, starting first time every-time, with air con - all at about 3/4 the rates quoted above (His damage excess is E200 which we always pre-insure against at £1.99 per day on-line) but main roads in Cyprus are now better than UK, and speed limits are low and well marked, with nutty drivers very few and far between.

We had a really enjoyable break, the excellent weather helped, as did the quality of the Atlantica brand, which we had seen from a distance on other package tours. Now we've actually used them, we would use them again on many of their 25 other sites, and perhaps even here, although it looked as if their Limasol sites are back from the foreshore in a built-up area. This all but meets the Trip advisor 5-star rating. I can add no photos other than those already on TrAdv or You tube, which are all pretty accurate

T

Room Tip: Send them an email in advance and ask for what you want, you'll more than likely be offered it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Returned after 2 years and its still one of the best Holiday Hotels we have been to. Good Staff, Good Food and great weather. If you find a better one let me know. You'll never go hunger. can't wait to go again. The only thing I would say is look around if you want to hire a car.

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel

Address: Kissonerga, Paphos 8574, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos > Kissonerga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kissonerga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Golden Beach Paphos
Hotel Atlantica Golden Beach
Atlantica Golden Beach Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.