We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spring break.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kissonerga, Paphos 8574, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kissonerga
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect spring break.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned after staying at this hotel from 10/03/2013 - 17/03/13. We had previously had a week here in November last year and returned for a week of rest and relaxation.
LOCATION. The hotel is set on the main road to the front and the sea to the back. Although the hotel is quite isolated the bus service is fantastic and the stops are right outside the hotel so it is easy to hop on and go into Paphos or Coral Bay in the opposite direction.
HOTEL. Check in was quick and efficient. As returning guests it was lovely to be welcomed back by several members of staff before we had even got to our rooms. Due to a flight delay we arrived too late for dinner but were provided with a delicious cold buffet. The food is excellent with a huge choice at every meal and snacks in between. There really is something for all tastes so no-one could possibly go hungry. The bar service is fabulous and it is great to be able to sit and enjoy a coffee with a liqueur after dinner. Of course I have to mention Nicoletta,the waitress who looks after the bar service. What a lovely person, always smiling and
friendly.
THOMSON. Having stayed at other Thomson Gold hotels I am not sure that Thomson have got it quite right here. The daytime activities are on a par with others but with a couple of exceptions the evening entertainment does not come anywhere near others.
For us it was a perfect week away, the hotel was fairly quiet, the weather was great for the time of year and hotel was as good if not better than we remembered.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior seaview room and for the little bit extra we found it perfect. Sun from mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    248
    96
    34
    8
See reviews for
77
915
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whitefield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a ten night half board holiday at the Atlantica Golden Beach in Paphos, Cyprus.

I must say at this point that I am honestly surprised at the huge contrast between negative and positive comments with regards this hotel and I must point out also, that my findings are specific to holidaying at "low" season (early March) and that I have no experience of this hotel at any other time of the year. Please bear in mind also, that the TTTT + rating is Thomson's own evaluation of this hotel and their own "pat on the back."

The positives and the negatives.
As I understand, this hotel went through a major re-fit three years ago, all communal areas are contemporary and well appointed. In the main, the waiting staff are friendly and efficient. In particular I would like to particularly mention the two Romanian girls, Nicoletta and Sonia and Alin on reception who, during our stay, were all a total "breath of fresh air."....Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Bedrooms also benefited from the refit and whilst they are the smallest of all we have experienced in 18 years of Cyprus holidays, (comparing them to other Paphos hotels), they are, nevertheless, fitted out to a good standard. (Sadly, in the 10 nights we were there, the same pile of fluff and dust remained, seemingly never swept or mopped once). Room features included, " very comfortable memory foam" twin beds , fridge, flat screen TV with 4/5 UK channels, etc etc. Bathroom is also well fitted, with a decent shower, hair dryer etc., but also, rather on the small side with really no room for a small stool and no convenient clothes hooks to hang any clothes or robe. Bedroom lighting was inadequate - no main centre light, so all a bit dark.

Now the food, but please keep in mind, this hotel caters for 90% Brits.'
Breakfast was pretty much the same every day with a good variety of everything you can think of - really this was the best meal of the day. You couldn't criticise this hotel for not providing a huge choice.

However, when it came to the evening meal, it was a completely different story and I have to say at this point that the hotel provided an amazing salad bar and was the best that we have encountered in Cyprus. Sadly the "hot" buffet (which at best was only warm) was really awful. If there was fish, you could not identify it and it usually sat there that long that it became totally overcooked. Much of the food looked like it had been recycled from the previous day. Some of the meat dishes sat in a thick gloopy sauce and you couldn't really tell what you were scooping up. Once or twice all I scooped up on my plate transpired to be gristle and fat, YUCK !!. Oh and the Minestroni Soup on "Italian Night" (I use the term loosley) was fine if you like the catering version of Cup-a-Soup, made from powder - give it a miss !!!..... I could go on and on. The bottom line was, this "hot" buffet was of a poor quality. THe hotel had few guests and it really looked like corners were being cut to save money at a non-profitable time of the year. None of the "hot" buffet food looked or tasted appetising and really didn't come across as hotel standard (whatever the rating). It certainly didn't come close to the food quality of previous Paphos hotels that we'd experienced over the years, eg., Queens Bay, Cynthiana Beach and the wonderful St.George. To define the cuisine, you could have been anywhere in the world, except in Cyprus, which always boasts an amazing variety of typically Mediterranean dishes.

For the first time, in all these years travelling to this beautiful island, my wife and I struggled with the food and in finding anything to eat that was remotely Cypriot. Surely one visits foreign countries to embrace and enjoy the local cuisine, yet in contrast, we so embraced the food when we ate out for lunch, at the harbour or at the market. I can only assume that many guests would have no concept as to the level of food quality at other hotels, it may have been their first experience of Cyprus, or perhaps it was easier to "play safe" with food that looked familiar.

Fortunately, for this Thomson's Gold hotel it has a guest list which is 90% British. I would say, overall, a comparatively easy audience - there are no kids (who can be often be fussy eaters) and everyone knows we "Brits," whilst we will moan privately, don't really like to complain publicly. Although we broke the rules and did speak up.

The hotel, overall, was a little too quiet for us. At its quietest, it's optimum capacity is around 400 guests, there were actually only 60 - 80 guests whilst we were there, so it doesn't make for a great atmosphere. Also "low season" meant that the pool bar wasn't open, with no option but to carry your own hot drinks down a huge marble flight of steps, as there was no waiter service provided, (is this really a four star plus hotel ?) Not too bad if you're able bodied, like we were, but a lot of the guests were quite shaky, in their seventies and eighties.

Over the 10 nights, the entertainment was pretty good and in fairness, the animation team did their best to work with what they had, which was a very small audience - sometimes as little as 20 in a huge ballroom.

The drinks are very expensive, so if you are a drinker, go for the drinks package otherwise you'll go through Euros faster than you can get them out of your wallet...

As a final note, if you get a chance to catch Steve Welsh's act, he's a combination of a great singer, comedian, dancer, overall a very funny guy, we loved him.........

Would we visit again though ? Sorry I don't think so..................

Room Tip: Choose a pool view or sea view - sadly, the side sea view overlooks waste land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnstaple
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Its the only hotel we have visited more than once. Staff all polite, friendly and helpful. Food cannot be faulted, lots of variety and well cooked. Reps work really hard and do a sterling job. Rooms comfy, spacious and always kept clean. Special thanks to the hard working bar staff. Adriana was a star. Alex a really character who works really hard and lastly Nicholeta who always has a smile.
Thank you all for yet another lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great hotel great staff nothing to much trouble the selection and quality of the food was spot on. They turned down your bed and left sweets on the pillow. We were all iclusive all of the drinks were included as soon as your glass was empty they were there to get you a refill they remembered what you were drinking from one day to the next. All the staff greeted you with a smile and made you feel special When we arrived the plug in the wash basin did not work we reported it to reception the next time we went to the room it had been fixed.

Room Tip: We had room 503 on the first floor witha view of the pool and sea We borrowed a cheaper room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Returned on 4th march 2013 had an excellent week with 3 friends.
The hotel was lovely and we have excellent weather throughout the week.
Nicoleta in the bar is famous on trip advisor and she lives up to her reputation,always smiling and very friendly. Sarah and Jamie were friendly reps and worked very hard.
The food was good but felt there was not a lot of choice at lunch time as a lot of people appeared to be half board( we were all inc) but snacks were available from 3 till 5 so were able to have toasted sandwiches etc which were really nice.
I feel the entertainment needs some variety as the acts were all singers and sounded all the same, the resident duo were very good and both had good voices.
All the staff work extremely hard and always had a smile ( except for one girl in upstairs bar)
There were 200 cyprians descended on the hotel from sat till sun and the place was noisy and feel the holiday makers were treated a bit second class for this period of time but we didn't let this ruin it for us.
Keep up the good work and look after the cute little kittens we named darling and puss

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Spent last 2 weeks of January at this quiet hotel. Staff food and hotel were great with excellent bus service. Great location to chill out. Would certainly go again and English spoken by everyone. Late easy check in. Exceeded expectations. Evening entertainment would be better an hour earlier in winter

Room Tip: Side balcony overlooking pool does not get too hot in the morning and still has great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a 14 day holiday at the Atlantica Golden Beach hotel. From arrival to departure was perfect. The rooms and the views out to sea were perfect, the food the staff the whole experience was beyond expectations. We were on an all inclusive deal which was faultless Nicoleta and Alex waitress and waiter were the life and soul of the bar and lobby area. The Thomson crew Jamie,Sarah and Alex were brilliant..The weather was mixed but was still enjoyable.We will definately return within the not to distant future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel

Address: Kissonerga, Paphos 8574, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos > Kissonerga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kissonerga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Golden Beach Paphos
Hotel Atlantica Golden Beach
Atlantica Golden Beach Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.