We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Unique B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Whyly

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Hoathly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Whyly
Save
You added Old Whyly to your Saves list
London Road, East Hoathly BN8 6EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 East Hoathly B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Unique B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at Old Whyly for two nights in March this year and had a wonderful time. Sarah was a fantastic host, welcoming and warm and so helpful even recommending a great pub to have dinner in on the way down.

We had a choice of rooms and chose the room at the front of the house, because although the bathroom was across the hall, it had a wonderful huge tub overlooking the garden.

Breakfast was fantastic, home made yoghurt, any kind of cooked breakfast you liked, freshly squeezed orange juice etc. We also stayed for dinner cooked by Sarah on the Saturday with the other 6 guests staying in the host. We had pre-dinner drinks and canapés in the drawing room and then a wonderful 3 course home cooked dinner which was fantastic value. Post dinner drinks again in the drawin room rounded everything off.

We really can't recommend this place enough, Sarah is the most wonderful host and the house and garden are just gorgeous.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    7
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Deep in the heart of Sussex is located what is one of the best little places to stay. Little is not designed to be derogatory but rather to indicate the size of the place. It offers superb food, breakfast and optional dinner as well as a quiet position down a small country lane. The rooms are more than sufficient being very comfortable with TVs and coffee/tea making facilities. bathrooms are not necessarily en-suite but are just across a landing in some cases. The gardens are large with a swimming pool and places to hide away. The possibility to walk to the nearest village or just roam is available.

Sarah, the owner is welcoming, offering cake and tea/coffee on arrival. If she is not present then she may be walking her dog, Puzzle, while the cat, Lily, lurks somewhere. Many of the guests are repeat visitors, often lured by Glyndebourne and the conversation over breakfast usually turns to the production since the previous night. Indeed this is a convenient place to stay for the opera. A definite find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It's evident from the approach (long drive, ancient trees) that Old Whyly is a cut above most B&Bs. The house is beautiful, old and characterful. The gardens are equally fine. There's an orchard and a swimming pool. The entrance hall is dominated by a more-than-life-size portrait of the landlady in her youth in her best ballgown. Outwardly formidable, Sarah Burgoyne turns out to have great charm and a sly wit, as well as being a first-class cook. The bedrooms are comfortable, the bathrooms are modern. The place is much frequented by people going to the opera at Glyndebourne, 20 minutes' drive away, and Mrs B provides first-rate picnics. Her breakfasts (taken around a large, circular table -- this is an establishment that positively requires conversation with strangers at breakfast, often about opera) are excellent: the rhubarb and the home-made, vanilla-flavoured little pots of yoghurt are especially recommended. Not cheap and no doubt not to everybody's taste, but we've been three years running and will happily go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stay at Old Whyly with the delightful Sarah Burgoyne whenever we go to Glyndebourne.
Every time the welcome one is given is warm and friendly, and as returning guests there is extra pleasure in the sensation of being back amongst friends.
We usually arrive at teatime and are immediately treated to tea in the garden (weather permitting) with a much looked forward to slice of Sarah's lemon drizzle cake. The house is a real home, prettily decorated, comfortable and relaxing to be in. The relatively formal decor, in keeping with the character of the house itself, is not intimidating, so you feel free to curl up on a sofa or leave a book lying around! Rooms have everything you need and beds are blissful. Everything is clean and fresh, and bathrooms have everything to hand. We always have the feeling of being a welcome guest in a good friend's home.
Breakfasts are wonderful - with warning Sarah would provide almost anything requested, but what is usually on offer is a treat in itself. Delicious fruit salads, compote, cereals, home made yogurts and jams and scrumptious marmalade, and endless toast and coffee etc if you still want it after the enormous English breakfast which sets you up for the whole day. We have on occasion had dinner in, and can vouch for Sarah's excellent cooking. As a keen cook myself I frequently try to wheedle recipes out of her, and she is generous in letting us have her secrets. Try the fresh pineapple and grape salad at breakfast....
The garden is glorious, clever planting and beautifully maintained, and well worth spending time in. There are lots of things to do and see before the evening, and Sarah always provides for us an extremely good picnic in a bento box for each of us for the Glyndebourne dinner interval, which makes it all very civilised, as bringing our own picnic from Wales has its problems.
We noticed the four and a half star rating which Trip Advisor has awarded Sarah and her lovely Old Whyly, and were all astonished at the lack of the last half star!
Five stars, please, for a truly excellent establishment! It has to be one of the best B&Bs anywhere, and we'd rather stay in that charming and friendly atmosphere than any hotel.
Can't wait for next time!

Room Tip: If you prefer a bath rather than a shower, ask! All rooms are equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed for a night at the Old Whyly in July to escape London's hectic routine.
After an easy 1.5h drive, we arrived at this stunning country house to find peace and serenity.
Sarah has from the moment we arrived taken extremely good care of us, welcoming us with a drink and a picnic basket. (we had our picnic near the breathtaking cliffs of Seven Sisters, a bit further down from Glyndebourne)
The gardens of Old Whyly are absolutely stunning, well maintained and offer all one needs to deconnect: a small lake, beautiful flowers, a well hidden swimming pool and a neighbouring stud farm. A true "jardin secret".
We highly recommend to have supper there as well, which we did. Sarah could easily work for a starred restaurant given her incredible skills, at very modest prices.
We stayed in the "French room" which has a view on the garden. Very clean, confortable and quiet.
We used the swimming the next day and were the only guests.
All in all, a great experience and we hope to be back soonest, though Sarah has warned us we had to book well in advance since she is well in demand most of the year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The house and garden are spectacular...but virtually everything else was pretty underwhelming. For a start the welcome was rather cool (we virtually had to beg for a cup of tea on arrival while any offer of a piece of cake was out of the question) and Sarah remained curt for the rest of our visit. The room was large and well furnished, excepting for the TV which was small and very well hidden under the dressing table. The bathroom was tiny, with a handheld shower. It was also not particularly clean, with lots of cobwebs. No shampoo or conditioner.

The website makes much of the host's cooking skills and the first evening's dinner was OK and the wine list good. But the breakfast on our first morning was very mean including half (yes, half) a mushroom and a burnt egg. Breakfast on the 2nd morning was better but hardly what you'd expect from the "heavenly cooking" boasted of on the website. Dinner that evening was a simple affair: cold pea soup, pork fillet in a cream sauce with boiled potatoes and a couple of boiled broccoli florets, followed by a small portion of tasteless mousse and raspberry coulis.

Thankfully the other guests proved good company but Sarah herself made no effort whatsoever to live up to her website which says "guests are made to feel more like friends rather than customers".

This place is not cheap and it's just not worth it either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We stay at this very welcoming and comfortable B and B regularly when we attend Glyndebourne. Sarah is amusing and entertaining and we return because of her and her lovely home. We particularly like to see Puzzle her dog and enjoy meeting her other guests over breakfast. She provides splendid picnics and canopies to enjoy at the opera and her garden is a delight. The rooms are very comfortable with ensuite and scalding hot water.

We always need to book early as soon as we have our tickets and she generally is able to find room for us. Book early to avoid disappointment. Sarah tells you the route via the back roads to and from the opera which in any event is only about 15 minutes away.

She has a small but good wine list and offers a great cup of tea and cake in the afternoon. We had dinner there one evening and she is without doubt a great chef.

I have absolutely no complaints and her prices are right for the experience which she offers.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Whyly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Whyly

Address: London Road, East Hoathly BN8 6EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > East Hoathly
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Hoathly
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Whyly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.