We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in El Tunco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mopelia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamanique
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mopelia
Save
You added Hotel Mopelia to your Saves list
Caserio Playa El Tunco, Tamanique, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in El Tunco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed at Mopelia for 3 months, Jan-April. I booked for 2 days before I came, and the owner Gill answered quickly. After the first day I decided to stay for longer. They have different types of rooms, I stayed in one with bathroom with fan and one with fan and shared bathroom, both were good and reasonable priced, and you get discount if you stay longer.

The have the best bar in El Tunco, with a great selection of beer and they even have local craft beer on tap. They also serve food which was really nice, every day the have a different special of the day, and pastas and burgers etc. Ate there almost every day for my whole stay.

The place is really nice situated close to the beach and is sort of a big “garden” with the rooms spread out over the area, so the bar/ restaurant was like the common meeting place for the people who stayed there, so it was really easy to meet people and since I was travelling alone that is nice.

Mopelia has been in El Tunco for a long time, so any info I needed they could provide, and its like a 10 second walk from the beach and they have a guard at nights who checks that everything is ok, which felt really safe. El Tunco is a safe area, but it still felt nice to have a guard.

Super relaxed place and the people running the place are super friendly, nice location and reasonable prices on both rooms and food, so if I go back to El Salvador which I probably will, Ill definitely stay at Mopelia.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
16
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a little oasis of relaxation, just moments from the beach. Our room was clean and simple - perfect for what we needed and the (very reasonable) cost - and had a little verandah with a hammock, and we split our time between it, the pool, the beach and the bar.

Mopelia is run by a very lovely family and their kids - adorable - do spend time in the common area, which made the experience even better. I'd thoroughly recommend staying here if you're in El Tunco.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles O, Owner at Hotel Mopelia, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location next to the beach and run by a cool Belgian called Gilles and family. The kind of place where they go the extra mile, lifts into town to buy stuff and booking anything you need locally. You can even borrow his guitar and wile away the afternoon strumming, great value and comes with a pool

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here for one week and have to say the place is one of those places where it's hard to leave from. Rooms are excellent value for the money. Beach is just few seconds away from the hotel and they have a nice pool also where you can jump in for refreshing start for the day. Bar is really good theres a good selection of different types of beers. They serve also really good belgium waffles for breakfast. Owner Gil is really helpful and cool person. Definetly i will come back here before my salvador trip is over..

Room Tip: Theres some rooms with shared bathroom for 10usd and others with own bathroom for 20.. Stayed in bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Run by a lovely Belgian and his family, this place has a homey, friendly feel to it. It's a big sprawling garden - absolutely stunning grounds with a big, lovely pool at one end. There are plenty of places to sit by the pool, shade or sun and you can walk out to the beach in about 30 seconds. I stayed in a private and they're very nice (ensuite bath for $20, you can't beat that). with a patio and a hammock to lounge in to your hearts content. This is not a big time party place, you can do some partying in the bar and go back to your peaceful room. People don't seem to get out of control here, at least when I was here! The restaurant is nice, roomy and not too pricey. The food and coffee is delicious and you can get lots of amazing beers too, some craft brewed. I highly recommend the place. I was there for Christmas and the owner arranged a delicious Christmas Eve meal for everyone. It was truly lovely and I really enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: I had a private by the pool and it was perfect. Quiet at night too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed 3 weeks. Totally safe, secure, chilled and pleasant. The owner runs a great place. Rooms are clean and comfy. There are hammocks on all verandas. Lots of space and a clean pool. I would definitely recommend this place to everybody.
Oh and there's no babies \ children running around in nappies!

Room Tip: 20$ per night is with ensuite bathroom. V good room.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles O, Owner at Hotel Mopelia, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
It was a pleasure having you Dal....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Mopelia is not a bad hotel and Giles is very personable. The staff tend to be friendly and the general atmosphere is familiar. I have never seen babies running around in diapers at Mopelia and I believe that someone exaggerated while writing their review. All of that said, it is nice that Giles has broken ground on another small building to accommodate travelers, they have been asking for such a place for a long time. The person who paid $45 for a room and found that the price wasn't justified, well no one made them take the room. Frankly, I have witnessed a number of people turn away at the price, but that is also often the only room left when the place is all booked up. Nonetheless, there are other accommodations in El Tunco and hotel and hostel owners are in a race to build more rooms to accommodate tourist.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mopelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mopelia

Address: Caserio Playa El Tunco, Tamanique, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > Tamanique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tamanique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpacker's style guesthouse in a big garden. Diferent styles of rooms to suit any needs. Nice bar with craft beers and good food at night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Mopelia El Salvador/Tamanique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mopelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.