We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vibe, good spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunco Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamanique
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tunco Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added Tunco Lodge Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Visitenos en Km. 42, Tamanique, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Tamanique B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good vibe, good spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had a great time here.

It is a good spot for backpackers, right near the beach with a full kitchen for cooking as well.

The pool is good & it is a great spot to laze around during the day with a big property with many accommodation options!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
8
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Salinas, Rivas, Nicaragua
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

You have everything here. Wifi, self service kitchen, pool, television, AC. The location is perfect. The front desk kids are friendly and understanding.

I have stayed here on multiple occasions because they look out for their guests. I can't remember how much we payed but it was cheap considering we had AC and all the amenities i mentioned.

Bottom line, if you dont want to waste money on other palces, go for Tunco lodge. It is a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Tunco Lodge offers more than the typical backpacker hostal at very competitive prices. Free WiFi, air conditioning and a large clean pool make it a great place to relax before and after spending the day on the beach. The rooms were also clean as can be. Only downside: the showers and bathrooms. Only 2 of each and they weren't cleaned too often. Other than that, I'll surely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozalito, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have been an avid beach go-er at El Tunco for three years. I have stayed in numerous hostels in the area, and have now decided upon the best in the area: Tunco Lodge. There's swimming, a bar, food, relaxation areas with flat screens, billiards, and hammocks. Also, Its right in the heart of El Tunco and only a few steps away from all of the local spots and the beach. They have direct shuttle services to the airport, guatemala, etc, if you need it. They'll arrange everything as well. And honesly, the atmosphere and vibe are just as great--and the place is beautiful! You can have your privacy or meet a lot of fun travelers and local salvadorans as well, take your pick really. This place is great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and was pretty happy with the comfortable 7 person, air conditioned $8 dorms.

There is a nice pool with lounge chairs, another social area with ping pong and more tables, another area with hammocks, a table, couches and a tv with movies/cable. And yet another spot with a pool table. There is also a room with computers and a communal kitchen-- top it off with some Wifi and this place has everything a traveller/backpacker needs.

Downsides- not on the beach. Also there are no lockers and I was always slightly paranoid about my stuff.

A good place if you want to party in Playa Tunco

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Tunco Lodge in El Tunco is a perfect place to stay when you want to go surfing. The room was very big and clean. The coast in El Salvador is very hot and the ventilator was very much needed. Our room didn't have airco. There's a fairly big swimming pool. We used it a lot! The guest kitchen could use some extra gear since there are only a few broken pots and pans. But as there are no stores in the entire village to buy food. You have to go with a bus to town to do shopping. We didn't feel as if the staff was very welcoming or friendly. Only the night guard was talkative and nice to us. WIFI is available.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in El Tunco, El Salvador for two and a half weeks for surfing. The first three stayed at another hostel, but was unhappy with the atmosphere so I decided to move to Tunco Lodge on a whim, and boy am I glad I did. At Tunco I got a huge A/C dorm (on the left as you first walk through the gate. Numbers 3 thru 11 I believe), with a double bed, for only $8. The pool was much bigger, although it tasted of chemicals...but at least I knew it was cleaned. There is a decent size hammock/couch/dining/TV area. Two people who were staying at the lodge had daily Spanish lessons in the quiet upstairs dorms. There is a good size kitchen by the pool with: BBQ, 2 refrigerators, stove, microwave, sink, free clean water, and a decent amount of equipment. Two free computers with Internet, as well as Wifi. The lodge was also the perfect combination of party and relaxing. While I was there there was a party almost every night either at Tunco or in town, but it is also family friendly, and on the weekends lots of local families bring their kids to Tunco to enjoy the pool and the weekend festivities. My only complaint would be that in the two weeks I was at Tunco neither my sheets nor my dorm room were cleaned. The bathrooms, showers, and pool were cleaned daily, but never the sheets and that went for everyone else as well. That being said, it was still worth the experience. I wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunco Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunco Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Visitenos en Km. 42, Tamanique, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > Tamanique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tamanique
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tunco Lodge Hotel & Restaurant El Salvador/Tamanique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunco Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.