We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cucina

La Cucina
Gosset Rd, West Kelowna, British Columbia v4t1h9, Canada
707-0123
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 83 Restaurants in West Kelowna
Price range: $15 - $20
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our favourite westside haunts were full without a reservation, so we gave this a try.

Walking in, the delicious aromas overcome you. An open kitchen and woodfired oven.

Our dishes were perfectly prepared. Service was attentive and rapid.

Though I am not fond of plastic tablecloths, we will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Generous with the seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been to this restaurant at least a half dozen times or so now. On this occasion we went with out of town friends. We have always found the portion size to be very generous and particularly enjoy the seafood dishes here. No skimping on the shrimp etc in this place! I had the ciopinno and it was delicious. Lots of salmon shrimp mussels etc. The service is always friendly and efficient. Such good value as well. Love coming here and we will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife, my 3 years old son and I had dinner today at La cucina.the hostess was good took us to our table right away. The waitress came and took our order for drinks and same time we ordered plain spaghetti for our son and asked to bring it as soon as it’s ready and no need to wait for our food. The drinks came and my son dumped his juice on the table and she was very kind to cleaned it even hit the glass of beer with her arm on my cloths. I was hoping to have a different chair as it was still wet and was standing for 10 min and finally I asked for a cushion to put it on the chair then i can sit and after 5 more min i got one and she just through it on the chair from far away without coming to us or saying anything. The chairs and table were unstable and all look very old and need some love. We ordered our appetizers and finally after 30 min came the plain spaghetti for my son with no ketchup as requested and after 45 min we got our appetizer(bruschetta and beef cappacio) but with no cutlery or ketchup for my son. My wife went to the nearby service station and grabbed what we needed. We waited about another 45 min for our main course(grilled Salmon and seafood linguini). the bruschetta was bad and never seen like it as never seen it without cheese just some pieces of tomato and onion. It looked almost from the day before. The beef was ok,the seafood pasta was mushy, too much sauce and just not good. The worst was the salmon as it was like piece of rubber or plastic. The plate went untouched back.They gave us a discount but we still paid over $80 for this experience and is not about the money if we enjoyed our food, service and evening but for this service, food and experience this place is really expensive.
And somebody should check the washrooms from time to time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service and delicious food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our whole experience at this lovely Italian restaurant. The service was excellent, the food was delicious and dessert (gelato) was a tasty treat. It was a little loud as it was busy and had the high echoey ceiling but it didn't take away from our lovely dinner out. Thank you for doing such a great job!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love this little italian oasis iin West Kelowna. Very inviting, friendly, warm staff. Homemade itlalian cuisine with great portions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina also viewed

West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to La Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.