We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful winery to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quail's Gate Winery, Old Vines Restaurant

Quail's Gate Winery, Old Vines Restaurant
3303 Boucherie Road, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 3Y7, Canada
250-769-2500
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Quail's Gate Winery, Old Vines Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in West Kelowna
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Bistro, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sunnyside
Transit: Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.
Description: Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful winery to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This winery is a Must visit! One of our favorites. Wine was incredible and the view from the restaurant during lunch was indeed special. Put this one on your visit list for sure!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    122
    41
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of my top 5 favourite restaurants in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Perhaps because I grew up in BC I'm a bit biased, but I honestly think Old Vines is one of my absolute favourite places to dine in the world. We booked a table for 6 of us, 3 couples in which the husbands all ran either the half or full marathon earlier in the day, and the wives all came to cheer us on. Since we all live in different cities we wanted to have a special dining experience, so we figured where else, but Quails Gate. We first tasted some wine in the tasting room as the sun set, and was treated to the usual (but breath taking) views. I opted for the fall tasting menu with a glass of the reserve pinot noir instead of the pairings, and the duck breast was no doubt the best duck breast dish I've ever had. We just had one of those perfect long meals where the conversation flowed as easily as the wine, and we all enjoyed our meals. I know it isn't cheap to dine here, but I think you have to go there with a mindset that you're splurging and treating yourselves, so relax, order some wine, and enjoy the view and food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Out of this World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was the best meal along with 3 types of wines per each serving. The wines were perfect with each serving.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radium Hot Springs, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We always end our Okanagan Fall Wine Festival tour with lunch at Quail's Gate. This year it was no exception, and our lunch, in their fabulous location, was exceptional! The four of us had deliciously prepared food, finely presented, in a setting that is the best. Well done.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great quality food, wonderful service and fantastic view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Maybe it helps to have a sunny day and the great views from this winery Old Vines Restaurant. The food was well prepared and the service was second rate. Our server knew his wines well and we went with his recommendations for our courses. I would strongly suggest you do not miss this place when in the Kelowna/Okanagan area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quail's Gate Winery, Old Vines Restaurant also viewed

West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Quail's Gate Winery, Old Vines Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quail's Gate Winery, Old Vines Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.