We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View, view, view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quail's Gate Winery, Old Vines Restaurant

Quail's Gate Winery, Old Vines Restaurant
3303 Boucherie Road, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 3Y7, Canada
250-769-2500
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Quail's Gate Winery, Old Vines Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in West Kelowna
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Bistro, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sunnyside
Transit: Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.
Description: Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“View, view, view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The wine is very good but seems that it is more expensive in the restaurant than it is in the liqour store? Don't understand that. The food and the view are excellent and the staff is very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    122
    41
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An Excellent Lunch with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had brunch at the Old Vines Restaurant which is part of the Quail's GAte Estate Winery. While the food is not cheap it definately was gourmet. If you like fine dining your will enjoy this restaurant. The view of the vineyards and the lake beyond keep you interested and so the well paced food service goes unnoticed. The waiters are attentive and the food was excellent and well presented. This place goes well with an unhurried pace and a glass of wine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

we had the winter 3 course special with wines $49 + tax. It w as a good deal. The food was excellent, wine quite good and the portions generous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Expensive lunch but tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I came over for lunch. The restaurant is beautifully designed. Without a reservation we were lucky to have a table since it was the Easter week-end. You can sit outside but it was all reserved. We both had wine, the angus burger with the unique green tomato relish and horseradish aioli and the spinach salad. The burger was delicious, the bun hand made but I wanted a bit more sauce and asked for mustard... It seems that the male waiter was a bit insulted about that? With that type of price one should get whatever one wants?... He seems to be really grumpy and it should not happen in such an high end (pricy) restaurant.
So except for the grumpy waiter and the pricy lunch we did enjoy ourself by just walking around the winery and it was a lovely sunny spring day and Quail Gate is worth the visit. Do reserve in advance if you want to be eating outside or if you want a table with the best view of the winery.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, SK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Juice tasting for the kids ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very friendly staff, and they offered our son some juice while we tasted our wine. Smaller winery, conveniently close to West Kelowna.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quail's Gate Winery, Old Vines Restaurant also viewed

West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Quail's Gate Winery, Old Vines Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quail's Gate Winery, Old Vines Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.