We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best family resort on the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Lakeside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cove Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
Cove Lakeside Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4205 Gellatly Road | Westbank, West Kelowna, British Columbia V4T 2K2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Summer is here!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Kelowna
1 review
“best family resort on the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

a family friend recommended that we stay at the cove lakeside resort and it was one of the best family trips I have ever been on.Having a 8 month old child on a trip can be quite hectic but all the activities at the cove made is effortless to keep the little one occupied . the whole weekend was relaxation and unbeatable food at "Bonfire". the rooms were great the staff more then helpful and the overall experience was top shelf. thanks for the great weekend we're defiantly makeing this a yearly trip .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    133
    53
    25
    12
See reviews for
160
172
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada - west coast
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I just got back from a 2 night stay at the Cove Lakeside Resort. This place has all the character and potential of a place that could be awesome. But it was not awesome. It lacked in customer service. When we asked about the service, we were told that a lot of the staff were students that had gone back to school. How is this our problem when we are paying top Dollar for our stay? The rooms appeared clean, but on close inspection, there were splatters of who knows what on the walls, some of the blinds were missing from strategic places, so no privacy, and a few hairs on the floor that certainly weren't ours . . . The carpets had very noticeable stains as well. Asked at the front counter for a reservation in the restaurant - time was 6:30ish pm - were told we could get in at 8:30 pm. Okay, we were hungry, but we could wait. We arrived at close to 8:30 and were told to wait while they cleaned a table. (Only one other table inside the restaurant was full at that time, the rest was empty) They were putting us on the patio, as that was more pleasant, they said. So we waited, and waited, walked around the resort, and came back and waited some more. When they finally took us out, they had us sitting at a table with no lighting - we could not see the menus, or our food when it arrived. And yes, there was one other table available on the patio right at the front by the pool, it was empty, and stayed empty the whole time we were there, but it was not offered to us??? We asked one of the staff why the long wait and the outside placement - again, it was because they were short staffed!!! Really????? come on guys, we had better things to do with our precious time than wait around for hours and then eat in the dark . . .

The price was was out of line for what we got . . . and this was a 2 bedroom suite - it was very noisy, not because of other guests, but mechanical noises in the ceiling area all night long

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This resort is beautifully located on the lake in West Kelowna so it is more peaceful than staying in the city. The one-bedroom suite is more than enough room for 2-4 people, very clean and stocked well with everything you need, huge outdoor decks. The only thing noticed were the stains in the carpets that could have easily been cleaned up. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The resort itself is beautiful and it's nice there is a private beach. The one disappointment was one night we wanted to try the Bonfire Grill and as the terrace was only half full, the manager advised they were not taking reservations or seating anymore people as they were short-staffed due to employees being home sick (there were only two cooks on hand that night). As this place is nice for a splurge, I found it a bit overpriced as there are places just as nice which you can pay for less.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were just at the Cove for labour day weekend 2013. We were there for a wedding the went without a hitch. The amazing day was made even better by this venue. The hotel is lovely, with full kitchens and large balconies. I highly recommend paying the little bit extra for a lakeview. it is amazing if you have a view facing Kelown, at night the view is even more spectacular.
This resort offers a marina with boat and paddle board rentals, two beautiful swimming pools and a lakeside beach. The pools are amazing, they serve food and drinks on the weekend, and you are able to even bring your own beverages to the pool.
The staff was amazing, friendly and keen to help. It is a resort for all people, couples, families, and friends. I felt like I was at a high end resort in Hawaii or Mexico.
We will definatley go back, as long as we can save up... its price is high but well worth it.

Room Tip: oceanview for sure, it costs more to look over the pool but its less private than the outside wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Cove is a busy place and we ended up booking a one bedroom studio as there were no suites available. Sadly this room contained no chairs or any place to sit other than on the bed. The bathroom was of reasonable size but had no counter space so all the items you would normally place on the counter ended up being placed on the floor (facial tissue, hair dryers, etc.).

Food was generally quite good though the Sunday buffet only average, the rubbery shrimp were disappointing.

This might be a fine place if you book a suite (and don't mind kids running around) but avoid the 'one bedroom studio', it will ruin your trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at The Cove for the long weekend. 3 aspects topped my stay as one of my best getaways of all time. 1. A friend locked his keys in his car and the front desk assistant Jason H was incredible and went above and beyond to assist in getting the keys out of the car. 2. at the front desk there was a beautiful old scale and in the bronze bucket was fresh ripe tomatoes, plums or apples, picked fresh from the hotel garden each morning , while other hotels may offer terrible mass produced mints at the front desk, this really added a touch of class, quality and goodness and 3. the breakfast buffet on sunday is out of this world! I would highly reccomend this to any couple family or friends looking for a great time away with extra special service and touches!

Room Tip: any room is wonderful! we had two on two different sides of the hotel and both were equally great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having stayed at The Cove last summer, I knew what I was in for. The pros: the location is great, the condos are a good size and have kitchens and the pool is great for the kid. The cons: it is expensive, the beach is small and rocky, the restaurant slow, and the facility is a bit tired.

I paid a lot more this year than I did last year for the same 4 days only to discover that the restaurant is even slower, the poolside bar was never open and the facilities look like they've aged a decade. The place needs a mini refurbishment. As others have mentioned, the carpets are stained and fraying and the walls are banged up.

Perhaps even more bothersome was the lack of cleanliness in our suite. Our bathroom was covered in all types of hair (yuck!) and the corners look like nobody has ever cleaned them. Our shower curtain had odd splatter stains on the inside (like it was from the Bates Hotel!). I have never seen a bathroom so dirty in a hotel. It was something that you would expect of a cheap motel, not a high end resort.

This place is in a great location and has such potential. There are some really nice staff there however it clearly isn't being managed properly. It is sad to see it going downhill so fast.

If you do decide to go, make sure to take basic kitchen essentials with you (like a good knife, scissors, a frying pan that isn't warped) as what is provided is really poor. I am no chef but even I couldn't get on with what was provided.

There are some really nice staff here and

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cove Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Lakeside Resort

Address: 4205 Gellatly Road | Westbank, West Kelowna, British Columbia V4T 2K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cove Lakeside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove Lakeside's 95 one, two and three-bedroom suites feature a warm and inviting waterfront traditional luxury design with full designer kitchens, fireplaces and private balconies with marvelous views. A vacation at The Cove Lakeside Resort ensures all the delights of Okanagan Valley within an exclusive setting away from the more crowded resorts. Enjoy a swim in one of our lakefront pools or take a stroll along our private beach. Host an evening barbecue or gather round a firepit for cocktails and s'mores at sunset. Delight in innovative cuisine at The Bonfire or sip a glass of wine on the waterfront patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cove Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Lakeside Hotel West Kelowna
Cove Lakeside Westbank
Cove Lakeside Resort Kelowna/West Kelowna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.