We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome rooms & resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Lakeside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cove Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
Cove Lakeside Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4205 Gellatly Road | Westbank, West Kelowna, British Columbia V4T 2K2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in West Kelowna
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome rooms & resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We slept one night (part of a business trip) in this resort. We arrived at 01:00 in the morning after a long flight from Whitehorse in to Kelowna airport. We were greeted by a friendly staff member that checked us in in less than 30 seconds. We entered our huge room which containing everything possible you might need during a comfortable stay. Nothing to complain about.
If you go for an extended holiday stay or romantic getaway, get a lake view. Otherwise for a business trip the ‘other’ side of the hotel is fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    97
    39
    22
    13
See reviews for
120
113
4
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in a suite over the weekend and were happy with our stay. This was just a one night getaway for our anniversary. The suite had one bedroom, full kitchen, beautiful huge deck and lakeview. The bathroom was an ensuite to our bedroom and the two things I would have changed about the room is to put a giant jacuzzi tub (it had a large one person tub), and then have that tub fill with hot water. The water stayed lukewarm at best even after running it for a long time. But all in all, it was a really nice resort for a couples getaway. We had dinner at the Bonfire restaurant and the food and service was really great. My husband ordered his steak 'chicago rare' and it was perfect (which apparently doesn't happen very often). We didn't have breakfast at the restaurant in the morning because it seemed like it was buffet only every Sunday ($26 pp) and we weren't interested in spending that much on breakfast. We would have stayed if they offered the regular menu. I would recommend this resort for a getaway as it was really quiet this time of year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for their "Drift Away" package on the weekend, The idea sounded great, where you could have a beautiful view of the lake and do your own cooking, based on ingredients provided by their chef. The reality was much different. We paid an upgrade for a "panoramic lake view". Our room was set back quite a bit from the lake (nothing like the pictures) and looked over the pool to a dredging machine. The room showed signs of age and wear... pilled carpet, stained couch, etc. And the dinner was precooked in containers that you heat in the oven like leftovers. So we didn't eat the food and had to go out for dinner to salvage the evening. We wouldn't go back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've stayed three times, every time was for a girls spa weekend. I've only stayed in the two bedroom condos. The ground floor near the pool was my favourite so far for convenience but all have been really nice. The pool area is beautiful with lots of families and kids enjoying their time there as well as drink service and lots of lounge chairs for sunbathing.
The spa - nice- but average compared to any other spa I've been to. It's clean, the aestheticians are always really nice and chatty- except when you have a massage of course- no chatting if you don't want it!
The restaurant- the first time I went, I wasn't too impressed with the food but the second time it was better and the third it was even better. Not to mention the service, we had a large group of noisy women and they were so good to us and kept on top of drink orders and food.
One of the other women in the party has done the hot yoga at the Cove and said it was great as well.
The location- it is very close to West Kelowna shopping(lots of big box stores, chain restaurants, fast food, Walmart, movie theatre) if you have a car. It is also close to walk along the beach.
I will definitely return

Room Tip: ground floor near the pool is the best. I've even stayed directly above the parking garage and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went to this resort for a girls spa getaway and birthday celebration. This is a beautiful resort! We were so pleased! Right from check in everything was personalized and the staff are friendly and attentive! I guess I had mentioned when booking that it was a birthday getaway, everywhere we had service in the resort the staff acknowledged the birthday. We were shocked and impressed with such details. The rooms are outstanding!!! Very large, well appointed, fully serviced kitchen with full sized fridge as well as wine fridge. A single suite even had 1 1/2 bathroom. Beds and bedding very comfortable.
The restaurant downstairs was outstanding. We had 2 meals there; brunch and dinner. Everything we had was cooked to perfection and the servers were charming!
The spa had a very nice ambience and well appointed however I could only give the quality of service 3/5. We had hot rock massages, manicures, body polish and reflexology. The technicians seemed very young for the most part and lacked the calming qualities needed in treatment. They seemed to rush through treatments and no care to quality of service except going through the motions. Not an awful experience but not wonderful.
As value goes this was a hit! We got a package which included a suite, fruit/wine/cheese basket, $100 food a beverage voucher for the restaurant and $25 spa voucher for $260.00... Thats Value!!!
I would totally recommend this resort and will go back for a romantic getaway with my husband.

Room Tip: If you plan to utilize this beautiful resort then spend the extra and get Lakeview! Regardless the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We drove to Kelowna, B.C. during the first week of July 2011. It was a 3 day family vacation. I chose this resort because it was in a secluded area compared to the other hotels that are in Kelowna.

The hotel itself is very clean and has updated rooms. The restaurants are okay but a bit expensive. My family and I only ate at the restaurant once because it was costly and the portions are small. We ordered room service a few times, the food was okay but again costly! We stayed in a suite with a kitchen and two rooms. There is a balcony in every room so you get a chance to see the beautiful scenic view of the lake that the resort is situated on. There is also a horse ranch next to the resort which makes for a nice family excursion.

Overall, I found kelowna really boring. The only enjoyment I experienced was watching my kids have fun at the carnival that was in town.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend a room with a kitchen especially if you have young children and would l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Cove for the second time. While the winter rates are great, the rooms are looking worn and not up to the standard we had expected from our previous visit. There were several areas of damage in the suite (couch torn, blinds broken) and the we had to keep calling the front desk for proper sheets and towels. We couldn't wash the dishes because housekeeping advised they were completely out of dish soap and most of the equipement in the gym was not working. I was disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cove_Lakeside_Resort, President at Cove Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Rocco M,
Thank you for your feedback. I am quite shocked to hear the condition issues that you experienced in your room for, as you can imagine, our room product is a point of pride and as such is maintained to the highest of standards. It would be most helpful if you could drop a quick line to info@thecovekelowna.com to let us know the room number as we are not able to locate a room with the conditions that you have listed.
My apologies for the shortfall in quantity of linens and towels, again, this is feedback not common to us as we stock the rooms according a par set with an occupancy matched to the beds in the suite.
I am sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations. I am wondering if you brought your concerns to a manager while you were with us? It does sound like you received an experience quite different from our norm, and as such we would welcome the chance to remedy that should you stay with us again.
The Cove...Indulge...
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cove Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Lakeside Resort

Address: 4205 Gellatly Road | Westbank, West Kelowna, British Columbia V4T 2K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in West Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cove Lakeside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove Lakeside's 95 one, two and three-bedroom suites feature a warm and inviting waterfront traditional luxury design with full designer kitchens, fireplaces and private balconies with marvelous views. A vacation at The Cove Lakeside Resort ensures all the delights of Okanagan Valley within an exclusive setting away from the more crowded resorts. Enjoy a swim in one of our lakefront pools or take a stroll along our private beach. Host an evening barbecue or gather round a firepit for cocktails and s'mores at sunset. Delight in innovative cuisine at The Bonfire or sip a glass of wine on the waterfront patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cove Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Lakeside Hotel West Kelowna
Cove Lakeside Westbank
Cove Lakeside Resort Kelowna/West Kelowna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.