We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort on Lake Okanagan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort to your Saves list
Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2777 Casa Loma Road, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 1T6 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Kelowna
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort on Lake Okanagan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in this resort for a weekend getaway. The resort is gorgeous. The unit we stayed in was well equipped and the kitchen had everything required to cook full meals (although there were too many great restaurants in the area to eat in). We found the staff very friendly and helpful, providing us with great information on which vineyards were must sees. We arrived just before the pool was closing and the staff allowed us to use the pool for an additional 30 minutes which was a great start to our stay. I highly recommend this resort if you are in the Kelowna area. We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: The two bedroom unit 204 was very well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, General Manager at Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
It was great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away. Even locals will stay a couple of days to celebrate an anniversary or other special occasion. Guests tell us one night is never enough! We ideally recommend a weekly stay, which allows sufficient time to fit in a variety of enjoyable activities such as wine touring, golfing or boating (in season), dining out and sight-seeing, in addition to lots of restful breaks, with the added benefit of reduced weekly rates. Early Spring and late Fall rates are also very attractive. If guests are really ambitious all elements but groceries are provided for preparation of creative meals, including high-powered central natural gas barbeques. We look forward to hosting your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    17
    1
    6
    1
See reviews for
33
28
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

We arrived outside office hours in the dark but check-in was easy with a phone number to call and we found the key and parking space then the apartment - absolutely fantastic one-bed and warm and comfortable on our arrival after a long journey. The following morning we then saw the amazing views across the lake. The front desk staff were keen to do anything to help our stay from offering advice on the area to making sure we had enough supplies. The kitchen was well-equipped and it was easy to use all the appliances. The bed was super comfortable and the apartment also comes equipped with outdoor furniture and access to the lake out of the sliding doors. You also have direct access to the lake front walk with a passcode- and we wanted to be able to walk to Quail's Gate Winery which I believe is actually possible if you have a good map download - it would take a while but it'd mean you could have more than a glass of the delicious wine! It was incredibly peaceful during our stay but I can imagine it being full of families in the summer holidays and so previous reviewers who mention the noise are probably right! As a more mature couple with grown-up children I'd opt to stay somewhere else in high season, or in an apartment as far away as possible from the pool! (the resort IS a resort after all and very child-friendly so what would one expect?) but out of those times you can't find a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor apartment for direct access to the lake front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, General Manager at Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Your positive review was encouraging as our staff are dedicated to ensuring guest satisfaction. Our low season office hours are limited, as reflected in our greatly reduced off-season rates, so we are pleased that you found our after-hour key retrieval system to be convenient. Year-round, there is much to do and see in the area, and we offer some material at the desk to help launch your search. Wine tours and tastings are a popular activity, with the closest wineries a hop, skip & jump away, and self-guided or chauffeured tours can be arranged through our Front Desk. This season is popular with couples like yourselves and singles seeking some quiet time, which is quite the contrast with our lively Summer family visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

My family stayed at the resort for one month. We never felt welcome particularly from housekeeping. We received many many highlighted notes about what they 'don't' do and to tell us not to burn candles. We had to burn candles on the night of our arrival due to the power outage that lasted all night. I had to call front desk to remind them about the power outage and front desk said that they would pass it on to housekeeping. On the night of arrival, we were abandoned by front desk staff when I felt that they should have stayed during an emergency of that nature for such a big resort. Staff wanted to go home at 5pm. Cleaning was not thorough. The cleaning equipment they provide including vacuum was poor quality and had no suction. I can't imagine the unit would be kept very clean with such a poor vacuum. They came to clean once a week but were limited to what they could do and left their cleaning supplies in our unit laying out a couple times. I understand not remembering to grab their cleaning supplies but combined with the sloppy work It just showed little care. Two days after checking out, I received an email from front desk wrongfully accusing us of using candles AFTER the power outage charging $75 on my credit card. Not happy! I now live in Kelowna and Would not recommend this resort.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, General Manager at Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
We understand your reaction to a housekeeping surcharge. We did feel it warranted due to the excessive cleaning required during and at the conclusion of your stay, including wax and crayon removal from many surfaces in the unit. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your scheduled weekly housekeeping, as our Resort prides itself on the positive feedback we get from other guests. We have always encouraged our guests to contact us with any dissatisfaction during their stay so that we could take steps to resolve the situation. Our Maintenance staff continues to ensure all unit’s equipment and appliances are kept in good working order. Cleaning supplies and paper products were provided to assist you in the upkeep, which is not a typical practice for long-term guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Unit 102 for four days. It was perfect and because it was low season (mid October) the complex was very quiet. This unit looks right out on the pool and hot tub so it would be rather noisy during the summer season but in October it wasn't a problem.
The condo had a living room dining area, full service kitchen, bathroom, large bedroom, two storage rooms and a walk in closet with lots of shelving and drawers. Both the living room and the bedroom opened onto the patio (ground level) which was equipped with enough beautiful patio furniture to seat eight. The floors are all ceramic tile for easy cleaning. Kitchen is well stocked with everything anyone needs.
The staff in the office are very helpful and friendly. They took the time to explain to us on check in what the routines are for recycling and garbage pickup as well as how maid service works. Each condo is apparently privately owned so each one is decorated differently. The one we had was decorated in restful calming colours with a dark feature wall in the living room. My wife who was skeptical about not going to a hotel loved Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort right from the time she walked in. She would like to return for a month mid March to mid April 2015 but feels the price is too high for off season.
There are a few things that we found to be inconvenient but not major problems.
1) The bathroom mirror is too low. I am 6'4" tall and I have to shave by bending over or I don't see anything from the neck up.
2) The lighting in the bathroom over the sink is too dim. My wife couldn't put her make up on there as it's too dim and I found it very dark at the sink.
3) There isn't a full length mirror in the condo. My wife says every woman needs one but none is available. For men these issues aren't as important other than a mirror at the correct height in the bathroom would be an asset.
This resort is phenomenal! To be able to wake up to the sunrise in the morning, walk along the beach, hike up the trail behind the resort, sit by the water and read or sit at the patio table and write on the computer is a pleasure. This place is a hidden gem in Kelowna and we would recommend this resort to anyone coming to visit Kelowna. When we return to Kelowna to visit again this will be our first choice. Our four days were excellent at this resort.

Room Tip: In high seasons when the pool is open and if you don't have any kids then it would be wise to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, General Manager at Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
We enjoyed reading your review and will take your helpful suggestions into consideration, as we always appreciate constructive input from our guests. Like yourselves, many couples choose to stay in our Fall or Spring shoulder season when the atmosphere is more laid back. For an extra dose of undisturbed peace, we welcome off-season extended stays when our non-taxable rates are at their lowest. In many cases guests have family or friends in the area but wish to maintain their independent space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Two couples really enjoyed an early fall break at Casa Loma Resort. Very quiet at this time of year but was warm enough to enjoy the large sun deck. Two bedrooms and 1 1/2 baths worked just fine for two nights. We had room to cook dinner for eight. The view is absolutely beautiful. (lake, city, mountains). Very convenient to get into downtown Kelowna. Friendly staff. We would defintely return and we have stayed at several condos and hotels in Kelowna.

Room Tip: Depends on how much space you need. We had two bedrooms and 1 1/2 baths. All rooms face water, I b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, General Manager at Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
You made our day with your complimentary review! Our two bedroom units are very popular for a ‘friendly’ getaway this time of year and a savings if sharing the cost. One advantage to an upper floor unit is the enhanced lakeview with no distractions. Many a dinner is prepared in our fully-equipped kitchens, although we are surrounded by restaurants with amazing cuisine to give the ladies a well-earned break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Just had two nights in the Casa Loma but could easily have stayed for 2 weeks! The first thing you have to realize is it's not a hotel. There's no restaurant on site. The units are really self catering condos but luxurious, quiet and with a view to die for. Our one bedroom unit on the lower floor opened onto the patio and grass area by the pool. Breakfast in the sunshine was just perfect. A fully equipped kitchen - it was great to be able to cook after 2 weeks of restaurant food. It also gave the chance to try the wine that the area is famous for (although the Merlot I had was "watery" and lacked body. The Pinot Grigio was much more acceptable. 10 mins drive to downtown Kelowna but it was a world away. The MOST relaxing time breaking a journey from Vancouver towards Calgary. Immaculately clean, quiet and very comfortable. Staff delightful. Hot tub and heated outdoor pool excellent. My wife and I would go back again...and again..!

Room Tip: They all have the same stunning views. Resort on three levels - level 2 best for those with access d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, General Manager at Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for describing the reason many of our guests request an additional night to their stay once here. It is a pleasant retreat from the daily workaday world, especially after September’s Labour Day, and tempting to extend the peace and quiet a little longer. We encourage our guests to consider rebooking a year ahead to revisit the total experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bissett
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We stayed at Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort (Sept. 9 - 15) after searching for accommodations in Kelowna and then reviewing them on Trip Advisor. This resort will NOT disappoint and was above and beyond any expectations we may have had!! Very nicely situated on the west side and within steps to Lake Okanagan with all accommodations having a tremendous view of the lake. The reception staff is amazing and in particular (for us) Lori who went above and beyond for us. Always friendly, most attentive and gave us great advice - we cannot thank her enough. People we met were great to talk to and good to get pointers from re: places to see or alternate routes to take due to construction. Our one bedroom condo was amazing. With a modern open concept it was very comfortable and clean. For those who opt to cook in the unit the kitchen has all that you need including a dish washer. The patios off both the living room and bedroom were a bonus. Within steps of the outdoor pool that we took advantage of each day with the absolutely great weather we had during our stay. The views to the east side of Kelowna were great. The resort is very close to Kelowna itself and to Westbank. Day trips to Peachland, Summerland and Naramata - by Penticton - well worth the trip if not just for the amazing beauty. Scenery is breath taking. Wineries a must with so many to choose - Mission Hill is absolutely gorgeous. (Book wine tours early they fill up fast). A trip to Kelowna Mountain and the suspension bridges was worth the trip. The views are magnificent! Stopped at Hardy Falls (in around Peachland) where the Kokane(sp?) salmon were spawning - little falls at the end of the path was nice. Outdoor markets were still open providing the fruits and vegetables of the season. There is absolutely nothing we would change about our stay at Casa Loma and would definitely not only recommend it but given the opportunity would stay there again!

Room Tip: #105 - modern and good view of the lake. Some one bedroom units would have view of the outdoor pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, General Manager at Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review of your stay and the surrounding attractions, not that we can take credit for what Nature has to offer. Regardless, we are proud that there are so many varied sights and activities to partake of right on our doorstep from wine tasting, sampling exquisite cuisine, to golfing at championship courses, adventure touring and cruising the Lake, mentioning just a few. It is fair to say that there are resources to accommodate every taste and season in the Okanagan. It is great to exchange tips with locals and other tourists to maximize your overall experience.

Our roomy one bedroom Condos with ground access to the lakefront and pool areas are favourites with couples like yourselves and small families. It sounds like we can count on seeing you again for a future holiday! A Springtime visit would likely generate an equally exciting perspective on the Okanagan Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort

Address: 2777 Casa Loma Road, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 1T6 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off Hwy 97S. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Loma Lakeshore Hotel West Kelowna
Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort Kelowna/West Kelowna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Loma Lakeshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.