We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it before...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Five Guys

Five Guys
3604 Carrington Rd, West Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 83 Restaurants in West Kelowna
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Keowna, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Liked it before...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I still like the idea of being able to add whatever the condoments I want in my burger.
I think the price isn't bad...
But I noticed, the quantity of french fries has gone down SOOO MUCH!
Since Five Guys don't have combos, we have to buy each items separately. We buy one french fries and share it with two others....

Now, it's not even enough! I was so sad about it!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality AND Quantity!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Five Guys isnt' in the same league as the fast food joints.. this place is all about quality - the quality is top knotch, cooked after you order it - super fresh ingredients! no microwaves!! For those people that can't stand the crap at the fast food places, this will be a nice surprise to try!

The quantity is HUGE!! Be warned!! The regular burger is HUGE - the double and triple patty is a monster, and doubt anyone could actually finish it... same with the fries! I suggest taking the extra fries home - they are great warmed up in the oven.

Pricing is a bit high, BUT considering how much food you get, along with the quality - it's a bargain!

The shelled peanuts is a great touch - help yourself to unlimited peanuts, it's a great way to wait for the food to be cooked - very nicely done!

Warning - this is NOT a fast food joint, no microwaves, no pre-cooked crap... so if you are looking for something fast food drive thru - then just be happy with the McCrap stuff... else if you like good food with LOTS of it.. then this IS the place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Valley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“FIVE GUYS and their home-style burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Five Guys is all over North America and they've been very successful with their "back to basics" style burger stand. The Five Guys burger offerings are about as close to home-style as anywhere I can remember and their fries are great fresh cuts with the skin on.
If you go to Five Guys, take an appetite. Even their 'little' burgers are regular sized elsewhere and a 'regular' fries is monster-sized anywhere else.
Don't be shy, ask for the works or everything on it. You might as well, you're paying for it. The result is a big, juicy and pretty messy burger. It's something you can't eat pretty so those on a first date should consider themselves warned. Do not, repeat, do not try to eat this burger while driving.
Sure it's messy, but in a good way. My burger was cooked perfectly. I dislike overcooked beef and this was avoided nicely. I liked the way the processed sliced 'guilty pleasure' cheese was just melted enough and I appreciated the mix of sauteed mushrooms and onions. I also loved the big chunk of Iceberg lettuce. Burger places: stop shredding lettuce, you cheap thugs. Leave it whole and leafy like Five Guys.
Food - excellent.
The ambiance is stripped down diner with plenty of urinal white and Psycho shower scene red. The free fresh roasted peanuts are a nice perk. The music is jangly pop from several other eras and the lighting is harsh. Daytime makes it a bit more mellow but at night it's all a bit jarring. It's not a place you want to spend a long time in. But maybe that's the point. While I was there, at least half the orders placed after I sat down were takeouts. While not the most inexpensive place on the block, Five Guys burgers stomp the big chains' efforts and shame some of the 'gourmet' and gastropub attempts.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

40 minute wait for burgers and fries no clran tables and too little staff These people should study In and Out burger chain

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Squishy Burgers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I visited 5 guys when it first opened. I waited a long time and thought it was great that I could order a burger with all the goodies. The fries where amazing. Hot and fresh, but the burger was a huge disappointment. They squished it so bad that it was just a lump of gooey bun, toppings, and meat. We haven’t been back since. Maybe one day, I’ll give em another try, but for now, there are too many other places to eat in town.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Guys also viewed

West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Five Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Guys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.