We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute zoo!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Hill Family Estate Winery

Mission Hill Family Estate Winery
1730 Mission Hill Road | Westbank, West Kelowna, British Columbia V4T 2E4, Canada
+1 250-768-7611
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Wine tasting, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Mission Hill Family Estate, situated in the heart of British Columbia's breathtaking Okanagan Valley wine country, one of the Pacific Northwest's undiscovered gems. Making great wines and providing a special place where people can enjoy them has been my dream and my life's work. Now, it's a reality, one that my family and I want to share with everyone who visits us high atop Mission Hill. We hope you'll think of our winery as a refuge from the hurried pace of daily life. We invite you to experience the nature and art of winemaking by walking our lush on-site vineyards and visiting our underground cellars. Sample fine wines by the glass, marvel at the vista and reflect on a process that's almost as old as time itself. We look forward to welcoming you at Mission Hill Family Estate. Anthony von Mandl Proprietor
Alberta
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“An absolute zoo!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We previously visited this winery about five years ago and were very impressed the the grounds, the tour and the wine tasting experience. This time around, we were arrived on a Monday in the early afternoon. The grounds are still beautiful, but the experience was terrible. The restaurant only takes reservations, so we couldn't get in. The wine tasting was $8 - seriously? And there were literally hundreds of people milling about. The overall experience was very poor. There is nothing "family" about this family estate winery anymore. The staff were aloof, distracted, and not at all interested in my personal experience at the winery. What a disappointment. I will continue to buy the wine, because I think Mission Hill makes some of the best wine in Canada. However, I can buy it at the liquor store and save myself the time and energy it took to go to the winery.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    77
    16
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Gorgeous Location, with Awe-Inspiring Architecture!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were staying at a beautiful B&B in West Kelowna, and decided to go for a wine tasting tour at Mission Hills Winery (MHW).

As a professed Oenophile (an aficiando of fine wines) some of the best Chardonnays have come from MHW's cellars in the past.

I couldn't wait to get there.

It was a beautiful summer afternoon, and the grounds of MHW were in pristine condition. At the start of every vineyard row, there was a blooming tea rose, in all its glory.

The architecture is stunning and the wine tasting centre is impressive, both in its size and decor.

As for the wine tasting, we tried 5 varietals of white wines, including an ice wine. We bought two bottles of the chardonnay as gifts.

The Sommelier was friendly and helpful.

A great way to spend your time, and sample some of the best wines available anywhere.

As an aside, we did not have time to eat at the Terrace Restaurant, but it looked fabulous, with an incredible view of Lake Okanagan, and presided over by executive chef, Chris Stewart.

Chris' many varied experiences, including his term as Chef de Partie at Heston Blumnethal's 3-Michelin Star restaurant, located in the quaint hamlet of Bray, Berkshire, U.K., ensures that your culinary experience at MHW would be exceptionally wonderful. On my next trip to MHW, I'll be sure to set time aside to experience Chris' fare.

In the interim, I can always enjoy one of MHW's fine wines.

May God Bless.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mission Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Beautiful, peaceful, family friendly. Grounds were spectacular. We took our three kids and even they enjoyed it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
164 attraction reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Mission bells are ringing...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My parents lived in the Okanagan for decades and it seemed when ever we had visitors (especially from oversees) we would always end up taking them here. The gardens, view and outside atmosphere are delightful. For me the visit could stop there - outside- as I find the tasting room is more just a huge gift shop packed with people, many off of tour buses. We didn't even taste last time here as it was a bit chaotic inside and not the pleasant wine tasting experience we appreciate. The bells from the Mission tower ring morning, noon and evening - quite pleasant actually but not sure how they got that one past noise control... So, come here for the views but in my opinion go elsewhere for atmosphere and charm.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous art, wine, and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This winery is showy, opulent, and well worth a visit. The views of the lake are worth the visit, even if you don't care for wine. The Finnish artist whose work is featured there until fall of 2014 has created statues that look as if they were created specifically for this place. Mission Hill is anything but quaint - it's large and bustling and breathtakingly lovely.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Hill Family Estate Winery also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Mission Hill Family Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Hill Family Estate Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.