We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great GPS System on Golf Carts!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shannon Lake Golf Club

Shannon Lake Golf Club
2649 Shannon Lake Road, West Kelowna, British Columbia V4T 1V6, Canada
250-768-4653
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 22 Activities in West Kelowna
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Great GPS System on Golf Carts!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wow - what an advantage, this Golf Course has a GPS system on their golf carts which totally heps map out your club selection and completely changes the game!! I played 10 shots better then my usual just because of this feature! AND they can even email you your score if you want!! How great is that?? I can't wait to play here again.

A few tips:
Play in the afternoon because morning time is "soggy time" at this course.
There is lots of water opportunities here, however they need another washroom facility on the back nine (hole 10 would be ideal).
The staff is friendly enough, their golf shop is on the small side, but has the basics.
The restaurant has grab and go items ready for purchase.
We didn't actually eat in the restaurant so I can't provide an opinion.

I would recommend this course. It was fun.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great scenary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We golfed a round here in May. Shannon Lake Golf Club is a really scenic course offering exactly what you would expect in a mountain course. Several of the holes had significant vertical displacement between the tees and pin making for some challenging play. It's fun to drive from a high tee box and difficult to play up to the green when you can't even see the flag because it's so high above you. The course is fairly forgiving with berms that keep shots that are only mildly off target in the general vicinity of the fairway or green. Righties that slice like I do will probably have a few nervous moments driving alongside the roads and lake that always seem to be to the right of the fairway.

When we went most of the hole maps were missing. Pay close attention to map on the scorecard as several of the holes have blind dog legs. I would probably consider booking another round here the next time I'm in Westbank though.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“golfing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

fun and well maintained, Pro shop staff were great and very helpful. Lunch was nice too

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unique golfing course!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed in Peachland at the old castle haymour which is under new management and name is changed and took about 20 minutes to get here. The course is divided and we went thru an underground thru fare in our carts to get from one area to the other, Good food and service in their restaurant.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shannon Lake Golf Club also viewed

West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
 

Been to Shannon Lake Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shannon Lake Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.