We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hot tub is hot & felt very good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn West Kelowna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Holiday Inn West Kelowna to your Saves list
Holiday Inn West Kelowna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2569 Dobbin Road | Hwy 97, West Kelowna, British Columbia V4T 2J6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in West Kelowna
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The hot tub is hot & felt very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My son booked this hotel for a business trip to Kelowna wineries in early May. They had a heat wave while we were there & it was downright hot during the day. This hotel was very nice for us and it was cool. We enjoyed the hot tub, the punch in the lobby and their bar/restaurant. The newspaper was a nice touch too.The Greyhound Bus station is right next door. It was very quiet for our stay. It's clean, especially the bathroom. There is a Starbucks right down the hill. I do not know how much my son paid but he was happy with this place and so was I.

You are not in the main part of Kelowna... it is up the road a piece.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrina S, Manager at Holiday Inn West Kelowna, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you jdalerose1 for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you can return again soon.

Cheers,

Corrina Sheets
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    45
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
37
34
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here while in town for interviews in the downtown area. Getting to said interviews (and back) during rush hour was... annoying. The single bridge connecting West Kelowna and Kelowna gets bogged down and backs up for a solid kilometre. This adds at least half an hour to your commute, if not more. Beware.

If you need to get out of town in the direction of Peachland or Merritt or Kamloops it's incredibly easy to get out of town and on to the highway.

The staff, once we got there, was really nice and helpful. Fresh water steeped with fruit and citrus sits chilled in the lobby as an added touch. Our room was good. I like having a sink outside the main bathroom door. TV was basic. The bed was comfortable.

The in-house restaurant is quite good, and again with nice staff. (Breakfast wasn't great, mind you). We recommend the Nicoise Salad and the stuffed chicken. Oddly, however, the restaurant has very limited hours. This forced us to the Boston Pizza next door, which was a big step down.

Outside the back doors of the hotel is a city park along an impressive, hidden gem of a canyon. It's worth the short walk.

Internet was good. If there are partiers in the hotel, you'll hear 'em. Otherwise, it's rather nice.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one on the end of the halls so prevent proximity to noisy neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrina S, Manager at Holiday Inn West Kelowna, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you Patrick M for your review! I am glad to hear you had an opportunity to explore the area around the hotel, you are right the canyon is a hidden gem! If you pass through West Kelowna again we would be happy to let you know about some other parks and hiking trails that are equally if not more beautiful in the immediate area.
For our restaurant we will be changing the hours in the next few weeks to better serve our guests in the hotel and the community.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Cheers,

Corrina Sheets
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The family and I took a swing through Canada because Priority Club (the Holiday Inn family rewards program) was offering Points Breaks for this hotel. We came into West Kelowna after driving over the mountains from Merritt in a late spring snow storm so entering the Okanagan Valley was a welcome relief and the hotel was right there. However, it wasn't convenient for accessing or viewing what the valley has to offer. When they offer a hotel for Points Breaks it is usually because of some kind of ongoing construction or other inconvenience so I am overly critical of the facilities but it was clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I was a little disappointed that they did not do more for Priority Club members or have some type of promotion tied to the restaurant next door. This hotel met the needs of an overnight stay but I would not recommend it for someone wanting to explore the Kelowna area because of its "on the fringe" location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrina S, Manager at Holiday Inn West Kelowna, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you GuyontheGo55 for letting us know about your visit. I will be sure to let the team know how happy you were with their service! We will also look into what we can do to better serve our valued Priority Club guests moving forward.
I hope you enjoy the rest of your visit to Canada!

Cheers,

Corrina Sheets
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed at your hotel for one week while they worked on our apartment. The staff were all very good including Steven who went beyond the call of duty and helped me bring in a basket to my room. Cora lee made breakfast in the morning a complete joy to be there. The cooks in the morning provided an excellent breakfast. Housekeeping staff were also excellent. Also wanted to point out that I have stayed at several other hotels in the ihg family and the hockey teams that were staying here in the middle of April were an excellent bunch of kids.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrina S, Manager at Holiday Inn West Kelowna, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you Jaws101 for your review! I am always thrilled to hear our about our guest experiences and appreciate that you chose to highlight our services in this venue. I will be sure to let our team know how they impacted your stay and we look forward to you visiting us, or any of our other brands in the IHG family very soon.

Cheers,

Corrina Sheets
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Rita S.
We have stayed at this location a few times and it has gotten exceedingly worse. There was a hockey tournament or something going on this past weekend and kids were literally running out of control in the hallways, up and down stairwells, yelling ,and so on and so on. The pool had
kids jumping in and out dangerously and the noise level was unbearable. There was liquor
prominent even at the entrance way and pool area. I know parents should be accountable however, when not, staff should try to gain control for the benefit of the other patrons staying there. We did not intend to stay at an unsupervised playground atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrina S, Manager at Holiday Inn West Kelowna, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you rita p for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and are using your experience as an example to better train our staff to deal with these situations.
The experience that you had at our property is not up to our standards, and we are putting measures in place to allow us to better monitor our groups in house and ensure a comfortable experience for all of our guests.
I hope that you allow us to serve you in the future and should you choose to do so I encourage you to contact me directly so that I may assist you personally.

Best Regards,

Corrina Sheets
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

although we arrived and were greeted by a lovely young lady at front desk our stay went sadly downhill from there. from coffee still left in the carif from the last visitor/s to pool towels left towering to the drinking fountain -yuck! then to top it off the morning front desk staff -a young man named Steven gave me an attitude when i was telling him of situation/s -did you know that housekeeping staffing hours are confidential.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn West Kelowna, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Ken B,

I appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. I am sorry to hear that the service you received was unacceptable. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our third stay at this Holiday Inn. 3 different suites, each one a pleasure. Our last two stays were 4 nights each. The manager, Peter, certainly knows how to take care of his staff and guests. We were treated to first class, very friendly service. Being quite fussy about cleanliness, we found nothing not up to our high standards. Thank you Peter and staff for another great stay.

Room Tip: Right off the highway, easy to get to, great service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn West Kelowna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn West Kelowna

Address: 2569 Dobbin Road | Hwy 97, West Kelowna, British Columbia V4T 2J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in West Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn West Kelowna 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn West Kelowna Nestled in the heart of the Okanagan Valley in West Kelowna, this Holiday Inn hotel is a short drive from Okanagan attractions and BC's renowned wineries. Business travelers to our West Kelowna hotel enjoy the convenience of our flexible meeting facilities. Our four meeting rooms can be modified for multiple configurations, and our catering and helpful staff make Holiday Inn the perfect place for guests' meetings, seminars and celebrations. Recently renovated and re-opened, our ballroom is perfect for hosting a wedding reception or company event. Guests also benefit from close proximity to local businesses and attractions. While there is plenty to do in West Kelowna, outdoor activities are easily the most popular Okanagan attractions for visitors at our Holiday Inn hotel. For ski enthusiasts, Crystal Mountain is a scenic 30 minute drive away, and Big White Ski Resort has a shuttle that picks up guests at our door. Also within close proximity are several golf courses, Okanagan Lake and many shopping centres. Our suburban West Kelowna hotel's amenities include an indoor/outdoor saltwater swimming pool, outdoor whirlpool, fitness centre, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and an on-site restaurant and lounge. Whether you are in town for the Wine Festival or business, our Holiday Inn West Kelowna hotel's friendly and helpful staff will take great care in ensuring you have a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn West Kelowna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kelowna Sw-Westbank Hotel West Kelowna
Holiday Inn Westbank
Westbank Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn West Kelowna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn West Kelowna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.