We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High point of our trip to Transylvania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Transylvanian Wolf

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Transylvanian Wolf
Wolf House, Str 1, Zarnesti, Romania
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Zarnesti
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Swindon, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“High point of our trip to Transylvania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our stay with Dan and Luminita was definitely the high point of our trip to Transylvania. We did three days fo trekking with Dan in the beautiful mountains near Zarnesti, and enjoyed Luninta's amazing breakfasts and dinners (the best food we had throughout our entire trip). Dan is a wealth of knowledge on flora, fauna and traditions. Luminitia explains each drink and dish as it is served. They are warm and wonderful hosts. The room was lovely - spacious and comfortable with a beautiful ceramic stove. We had an amazing time and I cannot recommend Transylvanian Wolf House highly enough.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed with our 9 yr old son for two nights. The hospitality of Dan and Luminita is the main thing here - with wonderful food and a wealth of local knowledge and insight. The surrounding mountains are beautiful, and if you were into hiking this would be a wonderful base. We would recommend doing at least one walk with Dan to learn about the wildlife and local traditions - even if in one day you would only scratch the surface of his knowledge: others do a succession of walks with him. The paths in the local national park are signed well enough for you to walk independently if you are used to hiking. Going to the bear hide is very expensive, I think we felt after the fact that 150 euros for us and our small boy to sit and watch a bear munching on some fruit 300 yards away was a bit steep for us. But I'm sure others would think differently. The rooms are lovely, the garden is charming, and the food is EXCEPTIONAL, eaten en famille with other guests, and with some fascinating, and never intrusive commentary from Luminitsa. A lovely place to stay.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect combination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked the day guided walk up into the shepherds villages and down through the limestone walks. We saw no wolves or bears but they were around. Dan has amazing English and we talked about the wildflowers and birds as well as generally about Romania. His wife cooked fantastic traditional food and explained the ingredients and medicinal lore about the herbs and ingredients. The pension was beautifully clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new forest hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Do not miss this opportunity. Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed with Dan and his family for 4 nights and what a wonderful experience we had. The rooms are lovely with en-suite showers, the garden a quiet haven to relax in after a day out. The main house where the dining room is situated is wonderful, full of rural treasures, books etc to look at. The days were spent with such a knowledgeable and interesting guide that it was a pleasure all day. We experienced walks through the woods to alpine meadows, were shown wild animal footprints, bear markings on trees, butterflies (some rare) by the dozen, horse and cart ride, wild bear spotting. What more could you ask for in this magical area of Romania, good food? Well that was provided as well. Dan's wife Luminita, is a fabulous cook and each course in the evening was introduced with what it contained and also a little of the history behind the dish. She makes a lot of the cordials, brandies, jams etc herself and for those of us not too keen on Polenta, she provides you with an alternative.
One day I did not want to do another long uphill walk so Dan arranged for his son to take me to alternative places which were just as enjoyable and he was as knowledgeable as Dan.
All in all our stay was a fabulous experience not to be missed. A big thank you to Dan and all his family for sharing their love of this part of Romania with us.
This should be reviewed under guest houses and not as an attraction.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic. One of the very best places I have ever stayed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Transylvanian Wolf exceeded our expectations on every level but the thing that made it really special was the warmth of our hosts.

Dan is just an amazing guide. He knows everything about the wild and is a mine of information on the history and traditions of Romania. His walks are an educational experience as well as being enjoyable and, of course, the countryside is beautiful - full of wild flowers, butterflies and traces of elusive wildlife. If you get a chance ask him to take you the church in a cave and on an evening visit to the hide. The latter is an added cost but well worth it. The couple of hours we spent in the hide watching bears appear and disappear into the mist will stay with me for ever.

Luminita, Dans wife, is such a friendly and welcoming person, and what she doesn't know about the herbs and plants of the country probably isn't worth knowing. She is a superb cook. Her food leaves you feeling satisfied and nurtured. She'll tell you all about the herbs she uses not just their medicinal benefits but also folk tales. As for the drink - well you haven't drunk brandy until you've tried her plum brandy with pepper and honey!

These people do everything in there power to make your stay a special one. In the evenings you may watch videos about the bears of the region and listen to traditional folk music.

I can't wait to go back (Oh yes, I forgot to mention, the accommodation is very comfy - everything you could want).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Transylvanian Wolf also viewed

 
Rasnov, Brasov County
 

Been to Transylvanian Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Transylvanian Wolf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.