We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highlight of our trip to Germany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel to your Saves list
Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel
Hauptstrasse 19, 79219 Staufen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Staufen B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Highlight of our trip to Germany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Hotel Hirschen and town of Staufen were definitely one of the highlights of our two week trip to Germany. We stayed two nights along with Rebecca C and her family who had the upstairs apartment. Our room was quaint and comfortable with two large windows and sleeping for three. The bathroom, though small, was immaculate as was the rest of the room. They were closed when we arrived but the lockbox worked perfectly and the key to one room led to the key for the apartment (2 bedrooms, 1.5 bathrooms). The next morning, breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the owner was very friendly and helpful as we tried to decided what sights to see. We took the gondola up Baldchen mountain and hiked fairly easily to the top, then traveled through gorgeous Black Forest mountain drives to Schweinwassen Amusement/Animal park. Great time for the kids to get out see some fabulous animals, run around and play on a great playground. After returning that evening walked around the town of Staufen - although it is small, their was a nice crowd at the wine co-op and we stopped for a drink at a restaurant on the marktplatz. The hotel is in an ideal location - quiet yet central with free parking in the back. Spent the next morning shopping and walking the town again (next time we will eat at the Cafe Decker on the river!) and left for Triberg and Wiesbaden feeling we had had a true taste of small town local culture. Loved it!

Room Tip: If you are there in summer and used to a/c, ask for a fan. There was one in the apartment, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The staff is friendly and very helpful, providing us with directions and maps for our Black Forest visit. We stayed with our two children in the apartment on the top floor. It was more than enough space and clean. Breakfast was good with meats, cheese, brotchen, fresh fruit and yogurt, fried eggs, boiled eggs, etc... The city of Staufen was beautiful and we are already planning our trip back. This hotel was a great value, we give it two thumbs up! Also, parking is available behind the hotel in labeled parking spaces...spacious enough for our American SUV. You have to drive one block through the pedestrian zone to get there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was a nice clean hotel and we enjoyed our stay. We had a balcony and we ate once in their restaurant and enjoyed that also. Breakfast was very good. We did have to ask for the Konus card which covered our travel on the train in the area. We also used the Konus card to get to Basal the morning we left which helped. We enjoyed Staufen and would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

In the U.S., I avoid restaurants inside of hotels. That is definitely not the case in Germany. We had one of the best meals - no, experiences - here. The interior is traditional Bavarian...and, we were surrounded by Germans eating and drinking with smiles on their faces. The menu is full of choices for a classic German meal. I don't know how they did it, but they even made liver taste good. Good wine, good food, and old fashioned service.

I love places where the chef (who in this case was also the owner) comes to the table to talk. When he found me (shamefully) drinking white wine with Sprite, he became determined to improve my palate. He ran back to the bar and quickly returned with a true weissweinschorle...white wine with UNsweetened sparkling water. OK...I'm improved. And, I no longer have to be embarrassed for adding something to my wine in the interest of greater enjoyment!

Be sure and top off your meal with some Schladerer schnapps. It's Germany's best schnapps and the brewery is right around the corner. But be warned...this is not your American mama's schnapps. Be prepared to be warmed from head to toe...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Upon arrival our key was left in a lock box (by prior arrangement) so we were left to our own devices to get the lay of the land. We found a wonderful terrace near our room with lounge chairs and patio tables where we relaxed before dinner. Location perfect near sites and good restaurants (zum Hirschen closed the night we were there).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was an unexpected surprise finding this great hotel. The town is very pretty with interesting shops! The hotel rooms are well sized and equipped and the food is exceptional. Service was very good and not slow! I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stopped here witnout advance reservations, got a very nice room with balcony looking out over city tile rooftops. Parking is on the street and a delightful German breakfast is included. This is a truly charming town, well preserved and easy to walk around. The restaurant is one of the best in town, reasonable and charming. I don't agree with another reviewer who complained about slow service. The European style is to take 1 or 2 hours for an evening meal, and Hirschen does not push anyone out. You have to ask for the check. That's the custom. We had a great time, stayed 2 nights. It was one of the highlights of our vacation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel

Address: Hauptstrasse 19, 79219 Staufen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Staufen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Staufen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Hirschen Gasthaus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.