We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for sunset dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Grill Akrogiali

Taverna Grill Akrogiali
Agia Anna Naxos, Agia Anna 843 00, Greece
+30 2285 042726
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Agia Anna
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Perfect for sunset dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location for sunset with tasty meats on the spit roast. Make sure you book for the best tables as they are always busy. Great Naxos salad and local wine. We always look forward to coming back to Akrogiali when we visit Naxos.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    22
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fuerteventura
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Fabulous location - very good food and very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We ate in Akrogiali twice and had beers there or two other afternoons on our way back from Plaka beach. Unlike most other tavernas in Maragas and Agios Prokopios. Akrogiali is one of a small number of tavernas that are not on a road but are directly onto a delightful stretch of beach. Akrogiali is 30 metres from the water's edge and there are great views across the sea to Paros. There was a fabulous sunset both nights when we ate there.

The food was very good and incredibly reasonably priced for such a great location. Of particular value was a Greek salad for 4.50 Euros, and a pork chop with fried potatoes for 6 Euros. A half litre of wine was 3 Euros and a large beer was 2.50 Euros and during the day it came with a big bowl of chips.

The service was efficient and friendly. It seems that the sunbeds on the beach are free to customers and there did seem to be a number of regulars, some of who reserved tables, always a good sign. When we left the taverna was almost full and this was into the second half of September.

We will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simple yet simply delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My new favorite taverna in Agia Anna. Mid-September and most of the summer crowds have left, yet this taverna was packed early on a Wednesday evening. A tell-tale sign that something good was to be found here. Friendly and efficient service. Succulent, juicy lamb off the spit for dinner followed by a creamy ice cream sundae for dessert. Very affordable (let's say "cheap") prices. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Greece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Right on the beach with a nice sunset view from the terrace on simple plastic chairs. They offer no frills, pure taste meals. We asked the fresh fried fish as a starter to share and it was no problem. We matched it with a classic tasty Greek salad. My wife and I opted for the spitroasted lamb and weren't disappointed (on some nights chicken, pork,... we wanted to go a second time to try one of these, two days later but unluckily for us, luckily for the guests it was lamb again). Our children went for a chicken fillet (juicy and tasty) and pizza (not the best option in Greece but still more than ok).
Service feels very warm and the staff works together as a family.
A sip op local liquor with your bill and a small ice-cream on a stick for our children.
Heartwarming evening out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good family taverna in agia anna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We went here twice during our stay in agia Anna. The location is perfect, right by the beach, and service very friendly and efficient! The first time the food was perfect - the grilled fish was very fresh, well seasoned and cooked just right. The second time we had spit roast pork and moussaka. The pork was very tender, but could have benefited from some sauce and the moussaka was average. Overall however it was miles better than any of the other restaurants in agia Anna.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Grill Akrogiali also viewed

 
Agia Anna, Naxos
 

Been to Taverna Grill Akrogiali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Grill Akrogiali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.